14 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
> 500,000 Allowed into UK Without Checks, Government immigration incompetence
post 21st Feb 2012, 10:25pm

From the Herald yesterday:
Security lapses that allowed around half-a-million people into the UK without proper checks went far further than ministers realised, a hard-hitting new report has revealed.

The UK Border Agency (UKBA) is to be split in two after Theresa May, the Home Secretary, announced that full security was suspended on hundreds of occasions over the last four years.

Glasgow and Edinburgh were named among 10 airports and ports which allowed thousands of people into the country last year after officials turned off a facility that reads the biometric chips in passports. ...

Full story here:
http://www.heraldscotland.com/mobile/news/...-without-checks

post 21st Feb 2012, 10:43pm

So any criminal can walk into this Country as there are no proper checks made on anyone coming in.

It's a disgrace and no wonder our own people cannot get work as Employers will give the jobs to immigrants as they will work for low rates to stay here.

post 21st Feb 2012, 11:19pm

I found the figure of 500,000 people had entered the country without any real check.Last year the head of the Border Agency resigned when in fact he had been implementing govt policy.A civil servant whose long career hit the buffers when he came up against a Home Secretary who in my opinion is the one who should have gone.I go abroad at least twice a year and every time without fail I get checked at immigration when I arrive home.I am Scottish talk with a broad west of Scotland accent but never once have I been waved through.So who exactly are the people who swan into UK with no checks made?
It is in my view criminal neglect of duty.I have no confidence in the system or the woman who oversees it.

post 21st Feb 2012, 11:27pm

Likewise Jup, I have never walked through Passport Control without showing my Passport.

I remember going to America the year after 9/11 and I was eyescanned and fingerprinted at Passport Control in Newark. It only took a minute or two and was not done the next time I went there, so I guess my details are held on computer.

post 21st Feb 2012, 11:29pm

Always had to outwardly chuckle when clearing UK customs that on the odd occasion I come across wee chappies sporting turbans asking if I am British.

That's fine, but asking after checking my passport? Makes ye wonder...

Dryly, I often respond, with a wry smile. "Aye pal, wit aboot you. Sure your aon the right side of the coonter?!" ohmy.gif

Nee Naw Nee Naw.... mind yer fingers.

post 22nd Feb 2012, 09:01am

And on the same day that the news of the half million failed checks was announced came a story from the same Tory government that Scots in an independent Scotland may need a passport when crossing the border at Gretna. As reported in the Daily Mail:

Holidaymakers travelling between England and Scotland could well need to take their passports with them if Scotland becomes independent.

Britain’s Europe Minister has revealed that Scotland may have to establish passport controls at the English border if it decides to split from the rest of the UK. ...

post 22nd Feb 2012, 09:35am

Needn't worry !

No right-minded Scot would be seen dead in Sassenach Land.

Tombro laugh.gif laugh.gif

post 22nd Feb 2012, 11:16am

The only thing worse than been seen deid in Engerland land is been seen alive.

It is a misconception that Hadrian's Wa' was build to keep us "Unruly Scots" at bay. It was really built to keep the southern heathens oot. Unfortunately, it wasnea built high enough.

red rooster
post 22nd Feb 2012, 12:36pm

Member No.: 8,804
The other figure came out the other week that over 300000 immigrants are on benefit, at an average of 200 quid a week thats over 3billion!

No wonder the last government didn't want to count them!

post 22nd Feb 2012, 12:40pm

Member No.: 4,353
QUOTE (Heather @ 21st Feb 2012, 09:40pm) *
So any criminal can walk into this Country as there are no proper checks made on anyone coming in.

It's a disgrace and no wonder our own people cannot get work as Employers will give the jobs to immigrants as they will work for low rates to stay here.

Could not agree more with what you wrote Heather - it is a bloody disgrace that our children cannot get a job because there are hundreds of thousands of foreigners in the country who will take the job for less money and no rights.... and the greedy employers just lap it up without caring.

At the same time the police have been issuing warnings about the rising threat from foreign organised criminal gangs who are now operating in the country and the police can do nothing about it because they have no intelligence on them because they do not even know who they are or where they came from.

post 22nd Feb 2012, 12:44pm

Member No.: 4,353
QUOTE (red rooster @ 22nd Feb 2012, 11:33am) *
The other figure came out the other week that over 300000 immigrants are on benefit, at an average of 200 quid a week thats over 3billion!

No wonder the last government didn't want to count them!

Couldnae agree more also RR!! These politicians are the lowest of the low who let anything happen to our country just as long as they were able to sit in there comfy jobs and claim expenses.... and then pass on the job to there family just like loads have done in Glasgow. The last shower and this shower are just the same selfish clowns with no scruples.

post 22nd Feb 2012, 02:07pm

It would make anyone throw up to hear that so many Immigrants/Asylum Seekers are costing this Country £3 Billion a year.
The Government have a cheek to try to cut Benefits for those on DLA and Long Term sick.
Capping the Benefits is one thing, but to target the sick is a disgrace.
For all the Government shout about Benefits they never shout about the true cost of the open door policy into Britain.

Just yesterday I read that the Social Market Foundation said Pensioners should be stripped of the free Bus Pass as it would save £1 billion.
They also proposed taking away the Winter Heating Allowance and Free TV Licences for the better off Pensioners.
I wonder who all those better off Pensioners are as I have never met any, they are probably among the elite / upper class.

weeglesgakeelie
post 22nd Feb 2012, 02:15pm

Member No.: 12,390
Rabbie, thank you, tears in my eyes wi laffin

QUOTE (Rabbie @ 22nd Feb 2012, 10:13am) *
"The only thing worse than been seen deid in Engerland land is been seen alive"

Brilliant, Love it, I will be using this in future laugh.gif

post 22nd Feb 2012, 05:04pm

I wonder,on looking back, if all those natives in far off places such as India, Africa,Australia,New Zealand,The Americas et al felt the same way as many here now feel about strangers on the shore?

post 22nd Feb 2012, 05:18pm

Member No.: 9,809
GG, when you fly to an English airport from Scotland you usually need to take you passport as ID anyway
Heather, the more well off pensioners are the ones who are lucky enough or unlucky enough to have a works pension which as you probably know entitles you to absolutely nothing.
Mary mad.gif

14 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.