Hi Guest
10 Pages V  « < 8 9 10  
> Glasgow Accent Sounds Most Stupid, Researchers claim untainted snobbery
Barry
post 1st Sep 2011, 06:20pm
Post #136

Member No.: 11,226
I hate hearing the glaswegian accent on tv...it sounds soo deprived. Id rather much meet a nice polite english speaking lady with the attractive english accent, than a "burd". ha rolleyes.gif

post 1st Sep 2011, 11:48pm
Post #137

Whit "nice" English accent wid that be? Brummie, Geordie, Scouse, or the yokel yodelllers of Zoider country? Mebbe the melllifluous tones of true Cockney, or is it the insipid drawl of Oxbridge?

By the way, bein polite has nothin tae dae wi yer accent. Ye can be rude in BBC English an polite in a Glesga accent.

post 2nd Sep 2011, 05:12am
Post #138

I think Barry's extracting the urine here lol.

post 2nd Sep 2011, 12:03pm
Post #139

QUOTE (Barry @ 1st Sep 2011, 06:58pm) *
... than a "burd". ha rolleyes.gif

Watch it pal ... A'm sharin' a nest wi' a big burd ... an' two cats tae. laugh.gif tongue.gif

post 20th May 2012, 05:51pm
Post #140

Member No.: 12,899
I dont think there is a Glasgow accent per se. It depends on what part of the city you come from. If you come from the posh areas like Bearsden or Giffnock its unlikely you will call your head your "Heid" or your kids your "weans." I was born and raised in Govan and even there the accents were all different in fact I went to the same school at the same time as Sir Alex Ferguson but I dont sound anything like him

Although I'm now retired I work in a hotel bar in Inverness and meet a lot of English folk and many times I've been told I obviously sound Scottish but very rarely has anyone ever said I sound Glaswegian. Awe well Och Aye the Noo.

ave got my opinion as well

post 21st May 2012, 10:20pm
Post #141

On my travels,if they don't understand you,you're from Glasgow...lol

post 21st May 2012, 11:48pm
Post #142

evryone thinks Iam Irish

post 22nd May 2012, 02:06am
Post #143

Me to Mags.

droschke7
post 22nd May 2012, 09:27am
Post #144

Member No.: 128
QUOTE (wee mags @ 22nd May 2012, 12:38am) *
evryone thinks Iam Irish

I have the same problem and I've never even been there nor do I have any form of relatives from there.

post 23rd May 2012, 12:57am
Post #145

I'm mostly asked, "Do I detect a Scottish accent?' but once I was accused of being Welsh!! tongue.gif rolleyes.gif

----- Go CANUCKS Go -----

post 23rd May 2012, 05:42pm
Post #146

QUOTE (Barry @ 1st Sep 2011, 06:10pm) *
I hate hearing the glaswegian accent on tv...it sounds soo deprived. Id rather much meet a nice polite english speaking lady with the attractive english accent, than a "burd". ha rolleyes.gif

Ouch Barry.....RP (received pronunciation) is very kind to the ears and pleasant to listen to and I would fully endorse that view but believe me there are many polite speakers in Glasgow. As I have said already in this forum there are many different accents in Glasgow and some of them are rather extreme but I have also met many very clear and concise speakers.

Ahm aff noo to see if ma burd has made me dinner lol

post 15th Jun 2012, 04:05pm
Post #147

Ah blame Jeremy Kyle for giving our glasgow / scottish accents such a bad name. Every time i've seen scottish guests on his show he gets them all wound up and they start ranting and raving like a bunch of loonies and I (as a govanite) cant dam well make out a word they say shock3.gif

10 Pages V  « < 8 9 10

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.