Hi Guest
16 Pages V  « < 10 11 12 13 14 > »   
> No Butts... We're Not Coming Back!, Canadian tourists shun Glasgow
droschke7
post 2nd Dec 2011, 06:51am
Post #166

Member No.: 128
And the Aussies call us whinging pomms? LOL

post 2nd Dec 2011, 08:27pm
Post #167

tongue.gif droshke7 that monikers reserved fer the english laugh.gif

droschke7
post 3rd Dec 2011, 09:15am
Post #168

I stand corrected I always thought that the whinging Pomms and the £10 Pomms included us Scots, my mistake

post 3rd Dec 2011, 08:16pm
Post #169

eg POME = Prisoner Of Mother England smile.gif

norrie123
post 3rd Dec 2011, 10:20pm
Post #170

Member No.: 2,552
Hi Wombat, I always thought that Pome was, product of Mother England biggrin.gif

Bye for now, norrie

post 3rd Dec 2011, 10:31pm
Post #171

scossie
post 5th Dec 2011, 06:36am
Post #172

Member No.: 3,223
Aye Right...I was a Ten Quid tourist fur 38 years afore we got Citizenship...They asked why the wait.......You can guess my answer ..lol biggrin.gif

Ps...Nae shackle marks oan ma ankles....Ha''Ha''....Cheers fur chivers...Scossie

Jockstrap

Agnes & Robert
post 14th Dec 2011, 09:55am
Post #173

Member No.: 6,256
QUOTE (Isobel @ 27th Jul 2011, 11:30pm) *
I think a warning would have been fine in this case,however I have visited Glasgow many times and been blown away by the garbage. So it would be nice to see it cleaned up.If this ever happened the locals would have respect for their city and keep it clean.I love the idea I bet most Glaswegians want this also.

I have to laugh at canadians criticising GLASGOW, they want to walk down east pender st. east hasting st and main st., they use the CARNEGIE building to hand out drugs to the hop heads, I'm talking about vancouver, sure GLASGOW could be cleaner and my Wife and I would like to see it cleaner, tell me a city that is spotless, I would say HONOLULU ON OAHU is one of the cleanest cities that my Wife and I have ever seen, GLASGOW FOREVER

post 14th Mar 2012, 11:40pm
Post #174

Starting this week East Dunbartonshire Council will be following Glasgow and looking to cash in on smokers who discard their cigarette butts in public places ... so beware of wardens hiding in doorways in Milngavie!

No Butts About It

Every day hundreds of cigarette butts are left on the streets of East Dunbartonshire and as of 12 March 2012, anyone caught dropping a cigarette butt in the street, or throwing them out their car window, will be fined £50.

To coincide with National No Smoking Day on 14 March, East Dunbartonshire Council’s Zero Tolerance campaign ‘No Butts About It’ is aimed at irresponsible smokers who drop cigarette butts in town centres. From 12 March 2012, Environmental Wardens will be issuing on the spot £50 fines to anyone caught dropping cigarette butts or smoking related litter.

Vice Convener of East Dunbartonshire Council’s Development & Infrastructure Committee, Councillor John Dempsey said, “We are committed to working with the public to advise and inform smokers as many are unaware that smoking related items such as cigarette ends, matches, plastic wrappers etc are considered litter.”

Smoking related litter affects 72% of streets in towns across East Dunbartonshire, butts become trapped between paving stones and are washed into drains causing blockages and flooding; they leak toxins that contaminate water, harm marine life and the damage the environment. Many smokers think butts are biodegradable, however due to their plastic content, experts believe they could take 500 years to disappear.

Councillor Dempsey added, “Smokers need to take responsibility and consider other members of their community, as well as their local environment. If a smoker is unable to dispose of their cigarette litter in the ashtray bins provided, they must take their litter home and dispose of it in the appropriate manner.”

East Dunbartonshire Council is launching a two week education and awareness campaign starting on 27 February and is setting up kiosks in Kirkintilloch, Milngavie, Bearsden and Bishopbriggs offering information, advice and free portable ashtrays. During this time smokers will have the opportunity to properly dispose of their litter if stopped by an Environmental Warden, however they will receive a £50 fine if they do not pick up their cigarette litter.

It is hoped by introducing £50 fines, the same as dropping a can, the streets of East Dunbartonshire will remain litter free and continue to inspire civic pride within the local community.

post 15th Mar 2012, 09:11am
Post #175

Anyone caught ... throwing (cigarette butts) out their car window, will be fined £50.

Honestly, if they're no' gettin' us at the pumps ... rolleyes.gif tongue.gif

droschke7
post 16th Mar 2012, 02:07am
Post #176

I seem to remember reading something (possibly on here) that if you get caught throwing a cigarette butt out of your car, that you can get points on, or lose your license in Canada. I know that in Singapore (or maybe Malaysia) that you need a doctors prescription to be able to chew chewing gum in Public (Nicotenelle only), and god help you if you spit it out on the Pavement. These Moslem countries don't muck about.......

A Mackinnon
post 16th Mar 2012, 02:37pm
Post #177

Member No.: 12,012
QUOTE (scossie @ 5th Dec 2011, 05:33am) *
Aye Right...I was a Ten Quid tourist fur 38 years afore we got Citizenship...They asked why the wait.......You can guess my answer ..lol biggrin.gif

Ps...Nae shackle marks oan ma ankles....Ha''Ha''....Cheers fur chivers...Scossie

Reminded me of the wee joke about the tourist to Australia who was asked by the customs officer " Do you have a criminal record"? & the tourist replied "Didn't know you still needed one"! laugh.gif

*Exenon*
post 19th Mar 2012, 10:40am
Post #178

QUOTE (Agnes & Robert @ 14th Dec 2011, 08:52am) *
I have to laugh at canadians criticising GLASGOW, they want to walk down east pender st. east hasting st and main st., they use the CARNEGIE building to hand out drugs to the hop heads, I'm talking about vancouver, sure GLASGOW could be cleaner and my Wife and I would like to see it cleaner, tell me a city that is spotless, I would say HONOLULU ON OAHU is one of the cleanest cities that my Wife and I have ever seen, GLASGOW FOREVER

I would be among the first to admit that East Hastings street is a disgrace to Vancouver and the mayor of that town denying there was a homeless problem and blasting Melbourne as having the most homeless people she had ever seen calls for a severe reality check. There are no no go areas in Melbourne, but if you are familiar with the streets you mentioned then you would know that there would be little purchase in hanging around there after dark. That does not mean that the fair city of Vancouver is not a more that desirable place to spend ones life than most other large cities. Glasgow, I left and would, after one visit back, never set foot there again. The racial vilification, the religious intolerance, the violence are endemic to that city and have not changed much in my lifetime.

post 6th Apr 2012, 09:39pm
Post #179

An East Dunbartonshire poster warning smokers about dropping cigarette ends – note how they stole our headline!

A Mackinnon
post 7th Apr 2012, 01:37pm
Post #180

Member No.: 12,012
QUOTE (GG @ 6th Apr 2012, 09:36pm) *
An East Dunbartonshire poster warning smokers about dropping cigarette ends – note how they steal our headlline!

Note in the "small print" they are handing out free "pocket" ashtrays!! No excuse now!

16 Pages V  « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.