People will be appalled to learn that for all the tough rhetoric, the government has never asked the Barclays chief executive to reduce his bonus. The cosy conversations taking place behind closed doors are the opposite of what voters are being told. Ministers have run up the white flag and unconditionally surrendered to the banks. Never again can any minister say that we are all in this together.
Brenden Barber TUC responding to revelation that Bob Diamond has never been asked by ministers to cut his bonus.
I'm more & more coming to the conclusion, that far from us 'risking' people (mainly bankers/financial gurus) jumping ship, and thereby putting the UK economy into freefall - we MIGHT just do ourselves a FAVOUR, if we force these greedy baskets to realise which side THEIR bread is buttered!
I honestly believe other countries continue to outstrip us in performance, mainly due to the fact they are not employing/pandering to dodgy dealers.
Member No.: 54
I honestly believe other countries continue to outstrip us in performance, ...says Davy and DO NOT have the business mentality of yesteryear/Empire days!
Och well it's comforting to know that the private sector are sucking up the public sector jobs just as predicted.The (what's laughingly known as ) government are doing away with employment rights to assist private business. This helps to make it much easier to sack people when they no longer require their services. Isn't that just dandy?
Member No.: 8,842
I was down at my caravan at Sandylands in June/July 2009. We were in a restaurant in Ayr one day and i spotted a notice next to the till. I read it and thought it was some kind of joke. The notice was asking for public donations to our trops in Afghanastan who were in need of Shaving equipment, toiletries, toothpaste and toothbrushes and many other unbelievable things. For years the military were begging the government for some new Apache helicopters that if they had would have saved a large number of our forces lives. God if they couldn't get a toothbrush what chance did they have in getting military equipment that would cost 0ver 9 million quid a piece. We are embarrassingly world rekown for our endless cutbacks but if we can't even give our troops the bsic toiletries why do we send them abroad. I remember in 1978 the British Army where training fresh rcruits using airguns to save money on ammunition. This practice stopped as soon as the Daily Record was onto it.
Member No.: 8,842
QUOTE (jamcat @ 12th Jan 2011, 09:08am)
I was down at my caravan at Sandylands in June/July 2009. We were in a restaurant in Ayr one day and i spotted a notice next to the till. I read it and thought it was some kind of joke. The notice was asking for public donations to our trops in Afghanastan who were in need of Shaving equipment, toiletries, toothpaste and toothbrushes and many other unbelievable things. For years the military were begging the government for some new Apache helicopters that if they had would have saved a large number of our forces lives. God if they couldn't get a toothbrush what chance did they have in getting military equipment that would cost 0ver 9 million quid a piece. We are embarrassingly world rekown for our endless cutbacks but if we can't even give our troops the bsic toiletries why do we send them abroad. I remember in 1978 the British Army where training fresh rcruits using airguns to save money on ammunition. This practice stopped as soon as the Daily Record was onto it.
Sorry about the typing errors here (Just noticed them) It's just that i have lost a good bit of feeling from my hands due to a condition known as Diabetic Neuropathy and try to ignore it and continue to try and type at my normal speed which unfortunately often results in errors.
Don't worry about your spellin' ... we've got language experts and teachers on GG who can't spell and they've nothin' wrong with their fingers. Keep pluggin' away Jamcat. Your in good company
Speak for yersel, THEE! Theres nuthin rang wi MY Engrish skills! I have a GCSE you know! lol
jamcat - you may be surprised to learn the post war British Forces have NEVER had any issued equipment, toiletries, toothpaste and toothbrushes and the like, (and many other unbelievable things) or free rents, free electric, free gas etc (or free anything come to that)
QUOTE (jamcat @ 12th Jan 2011, 11:02am)
Sorry about the typing errors here (Just noticed them) It's just that i have lost a good bit of feeling from my hands due to a condition known as Diabetic Neuropathy and try to ignore it and continue to try and type at my normal speed which unfortunately often results in errors.
Aye, it's a bugger, Jamcat, intit? Ah've got it in hands and feet. Ah used tae be known as Tam Of The Flying Fingers but noo it's Tam Of The Dyslexic Digits.
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.