Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> An End To Bullfighting?, Catalonia leads the way ... at last.
post 29th Jul 2010, 09:38am

I agree Bilbos, I can't for the life of me understand why some people drool over animals and yet would seem to care little for other human beings. I've sadly just read how some folk would promote the use of some barbaric modes of punishment of young offenders and would like to abolish human rights and equal opportunities I wondered if they keep animals at home.

post 29th Jul 2010, 09:40am

Nice to know we don´t just share a love of music. See you later at the geriatric disco! smile.gif

post 29th Jul 2010, 09:53am

laugh.gif Oh Bilbos ah'm far too young for that......yet. Hasta luego.

post 29th Jul 2010, 12:29pm

See you, Bill, it's me 'n you in a ring to settle this. Nane o' that punchy stuff tho'. just sweaty cuddly stuff and holdin' each other onto the floor tongue.gif
You'll remember when Bob Geldorf did his thing between London and Philli and every one was chippin' in to help. Punters like us wanted to help because finally someone was really tryin' to do something to feed the world's poor and starving; starting in Africa. This was the first time that many had ever heard the name Nelson Mandella. Geldorf was shaming political and executive heads into doing something to help with his Live Aid concert.
It brought a great deal of publicity and response but today not a lot has changed because there are still despots, tyrants, and kings ruling many African lands and the needs of their people are lower on any list than their own greed or egos.
Paedophilia can be punished, as with other forms of child abuse, but it can never, sadly, be stopped.
We know that.
Bullfighting can be stopped.
Less than 2000 years ago the citizens of Rome enjoyed a good day out watching Christians being fed to the lions in the name of entertainment ... warm up to the main event.
Blood lust.
Once in a blue moon a sportsman appears who is the definition of The Noble Art of Self Defence Mohammed Ali had guys chasin' him all around the ring tryin' to lay a glove on him and could throw one in so quickly that his opponent didn't know where it came from. In this last of the gladiatorial arena sports, there are always two officials in attendance who can stop the fight from continuing; regardless of protest, when one of the combatants is unable or less able to defend himself - a referee within and a doctor without the ring.
The Stronger of the two combatants is never handicapped to the benefit of the weaker.
I too am a meat eater who shares his home with animals. I have worked with and been severely injured by animals. I have never been in a slaughterhouse, Bill, but as part of a military contingent I took part in the mass slaughter of herds in Norfolk during a foot and mouth disaster. Not a pretty sight; although some of my marksmen commarades enjoyed their sporting day out.
We know cows cry when their calves are taken from them. So too do dogs and whales and many other species. I've read that plants feel pain; which might or might not be of interest to vegetarians.
But Bullfighting is something we can stop - one further small step for mankind. (on a one-small-step-at-a-time basis).
Right. I'm about ready for ma bacon buttie now. biggrin.gif

post 29th Jul 2010, 12:53pm

I'm about ready for ma bacon buttie now. Quote teeheehee

Well we ken ye´re no a muslim or a jew, onyweys. tongue.gif

My point about boxing is that I believe the audience is there for blood, to see someone get a battering. I consider it more barbaric than bullfighting. Just my ever so humble opinion.

I still maintain that a lot of people have a strange set of values. When they hear about starving thousands, mass genocide, stonings of innocent women etc, they go " Tut. Tut. Is that no awfa!" and get tore intae their bacon butties.

P.S. Have you seen Muhammad Ali recently?

post 29th Jul 2010, 02:15pm

QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 29th Jul 2010, 01:01pm) *
I'm about ready for ma bacon buttie now. Quote teeheehee

Well we ken ye´re no a muslim or a jew, onyweys.

P.S. Have you seen Muhammad Ali recently?

Aye, he wis roon last night. tongue.gif
Oh how the mighty fall, Bill. Him, Benny Lynch and poor old Hurricane Higgins; to name just three sportsmen recently mentioned on these very boards. The roar of the crowd is always reserved for the next great waiting to step up to the mark; the next gladiator to enter the arena. We love to see the blood flow ... so long as it's someone else's; and we'll pay them well to shed it. Ali went into the ring with karate fighters and kick boxers as his ring career drew to it's sad end and I suppose he'd have boxed kangaroos for a purse at one time. Was he that skint or did he need the roar of the crowd that much?
One of the reasons I enjoy Formula 1 so much is that I know that the charioteers are not riskin' their lives any more. In the days of Lauda and Senna I had no interest in watching to see who would get killed next.
If they brought back Christians v Lions I still don't think I'd go; well ... naw, I wouldn't tongue.gif

post 29th Jul 2010, 02:25pm

I take it you´d be rootin fur the lions then. laugh.gif

post 29th Jul 2010, 03:22pm

Well, I've always had a soft spot for cats; and a shortened finger as proof rolleyes.gif

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th Sep 2010

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.

Glasgow Hotels: book cheap hotels in Glasgow online now