Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

20 Pages V  « < 18 19 20  
> Letter From America
weeyin
post 22nd Aug 2010, 05:07pm
Post #286

Member No.: 8,795
What I question about the building of this Islamic Center/Mosque, is, if it is being built to bring peace and healing, why do they still insist on building it in Ground Zero when they have saw just how many people find it insulting and hurtful. They have not brought peace they have just opened up old wounds.

They have been offered an out, by the Gov. yet have dug their feet in and said 'no' it will be built here.

I would like to ask Imam Feisel "you state your object is Improving Muslim-West Relationships, do you think insisting your Islamic Center be on this spot has done this?"

Could this whole thing have been planned just to raise money for this building.

Meanwhile.... yup he is on holiday, again, do you think he took his fiddle with him? His polls may soon be as low as his Handicap.

“In all matters of opinion, our adversaries are insane.”

post 22nd Aug 2010, 05:53pm
Post #287

QUOTE (wee davy @ 19th Aug 2010, 11:21pm) *
I agree with GG, folks - don't get too carried away - we know passions run pretty high with this one.

When the same person who posts this also repeats and posts a link to an unsourced inflammatory 'report', there's doesn't seem much point in me postin' anythin' else so I'll bow out but continue to read. Disny sound like the Alistair Cooke ah remember.

post 23rd Aug 2010, 12:42am
Post #288

QUOTE (Java @ 22nd Aug 2010, 05:53pm) *
When the same person who posts this also repeats and posts a link to an unsourced inflammatory 'report', there's doesn't seem much point in me postin' anythin' else so I'll bow out but continue to read. Disny sound like the Alistair Cooke ah remember.

I appreciate neither of those links actually provide an opportunity to substantiate their claim. As the BBC would say 'we are not responsible for the content of other sites'. However a well known and respected jounalist was responsible for the first one. don't know what your problem is Java. The second I was quite clear about - I only posted to emphasise the depth of feeling, which there seems to be.
My saving grace, was - one was bang up to date, and fairly trustworthy - the other was perhaps a little TOO up to date for some people's sensibilities - but I think weve all passed the age of 21 and can use our discretion.

My short post you quote was specifically aimed at one persons apparent slip. Whoever posted it obviously got a bit too passionate about something.
Take a chill pill, Java. smile.gif

weeyin
post 23rd Aug 2010, 03:25am
Post #289

Member No.: 8,795
Mosque Developer won't rule out taking funds from Saudi Arabia or Iran -news report-

“In all matters of opinion, our adversaries are insane.”

post 23rd Aug 2010, 09:07am
Post #290

Please remember that these are 'discussion boards', i.e. a forum for allowing members to state their opinions on a topic and then consider, comment, debate, and reflect on their own opinion in light of the views expressed by other members. The only way this works is if we do the above in a mutually respectful manner, acknowledging that others have the right to their own (reasonable) opinion in the same way that we have the right to ours.

Also, please try not to take things personally ... or make personal comments. Remember that discussing online – where we do not have familiarity or visual/audio cues – is sometimes difficult and it is easy to misinterpret what someone else is trying to say or, for that matter, how they are trying to say it. In order to make up for this 'deficiency of the medium' I strongly advocate that we adhere to James M Barrie's philosophy that we should "Always be a little kinder than necessary." Actually, I insist on it.

post 23rd Aug 2010, 02:44pm
Post #291

You know I always TRY and practice JM Barrie's philosophy, Martin. It just gets really too difficult, sometimes, when people not only misquote you, out of context, and accuse you of duplicity, but they haven't even got the grace to admit they MIGHT have got something wrong, themselves!

I for my part, will apologise for sometimes taking things personally - which I occasionally am guilty of. I only hope others practice what they preach' in regards to checking the authenticity and credibility of their links/reports.

With the best will in the world, none of us a perfect.
regards, too all
davy

post 23rd Aug 2010, 03:03pm
Post #292

Aye, ye´re right there, wee man! See you got a job lot of commas at Gina´s liquidation sale. :

post 23rd Aug 2010, 06:32pm
Post #293

QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 23rd Aug 2010, 04:03pm) *

Aye, ye&acute;re right there, wee man! See you got a job lot of commas at Gina&acute;s liquidation sale. :

Huh, speak fur yirsel laugh.gif Dae yi' no think Gina still need's them, no even the occasional wee yin unsure.gif

Light travels faster than sound which is why some people appear bright until they speak

post 23rd Aug 2010, 06:39pm
Post #294

QUOTE (ashfield @ 23rd Aug 2010, 08:32pm) *
Dae yi' no think Gina still need's them, no even the occasional wee yin

Aw, haw, here - that's pure dead clever that, so it is ! laugh.gif

Ye mean a wee yin wi her martini ?

post 23rd Aug 2010, 06:51pm
Post #295

Ah you sure are a Ginaious, Bilbo, mercy me rolleyes.gif

Light travels faster than sound which is why some people appear bright until they speak

post 23rd Aug 2010, 07:22pm
Post #296

QUOTE (ashfield @ 23rd Aug 2010, 08:51pm) *
Ah you sure are a Ginaious, Bilbo, mercy me rolleyes.gif

A murny sure aboot at cool.gif

post 23rd Aug 2010, 11:53pm
Post #297

Member No.: 54
You guys are wiseing up wink.gif

20 Pages V  « < 18 19 20

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th Sep 2010

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.

Glasgow Hotels: book cheap hotels in Glasgow online now