6 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
> Fiddlers ' Under ' The Roof, Rt. Honourable thieves
post 29th May 2010, 02:21pm

Member No.: 54
The greatest obscenity of these thieves is showing contempt for benefit fiddlers:

MPs' Expenses:
David Laws should stand aside, says Standards Commissioner

The former Commissioner for Standards in Public Life has suggested David Laws should stand aside from his post as Chief Secretary to the Treasury following revelations that he used taxpayers money to pay more than £40,000 in rent to his long-term partner.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/newstopics...mmissioner.html

post 30th May 2010, 06:53am

Tommy don't be silly the former banker thought that the rules never applied to him. We've all to feel sorry for him I mean the Prime Minister says that he's an honorable man. laugh.gif Poor soul he just never realised that he was a public servant. Shame he never got away with it eh? No tae worry he'll be back in the blink of an eye. I mean he's a very clever rich man he'll make cuts like you've never seen and we won't even notice the pain of it all. Don't ye just love them all. laugh.gif

post 30th May 2010, 08:41am

I see he has now resigned, with praise being heaped on him from all his political allies. The Great Train Robbers got 30 years apiece, these bums get a pat oan the back. Ain't democracy grand?

post 30th May 2010, 09:33am

Talk about a two tier society Benny. They could never let the ordinary man or woman get away with theft Benny, never. Ye see they are honourable men and are due more consideration for any problems that they might have in their social life which cause them to do these silly things. laugh.gif
If ye didnae laugh ye'd greet at their audacity in coming out with such blatant lies and even worse expecting the general pubic to be taken in by it.

post 30th May 2010, 09:41am

Aye, Melody, as you say he's a millionaire former banker - there was a guy last week who was a carer for his invalid Father and rightly claiming benifits for him. Social found out he'd just won £117,00 on the lottery - he was jailed for 2 years. He gets a criminal record and contempt - what does the Cabinet minister get, praise for being a man of integrity- says dodgy Dave. I the houses of parliament/house of lords is 'The big society'
'And Ceaser is an hounrable man' - said Mark Anthony

Hey, I wonder if I could claim benifits for all the dolly birds I house tongue.gif

post 30th May 2010, 09:45am

From ITN:

[Tory leader] Cameron described Laws as a “good and honorable man” in a letter accepting Laws’ resignation and said he hopes Laws will serve in government again. “It is absolutely clear that you have a huge amount to offer our country,” Cameron wrote in a letter released by his office.

post 30th May 2010, 09:47am

Aye, but he's still an M.P and as dodgy dave hints....will be back in cabinet

post 30th May 2010, 09:54am

Should we be wondering about the ethics and morals of Cameron and Clegg when they appear to support the likes of this man? I know they always do this rubbish in politics but is it right in this case? What is there to support? He has had to resign due to wrongdoing it's as simple as that, or are we talking shades of wrongdoing here? Probably, as I say it makes ye laugh that they believe us to be so gullible. They loved him, he'll be back.

post 30th May 2010, 10:01am

Now I wonder if the new law - that if an M.P. is guilty of wrong doing can be ousted by his supporters - naw, it's not in force yet; anyway they'll all find a way round it

post 30th May 2010, 10:08am

laugh.gif Nothing surer Tommy. Don't worry though I'll support you when ye get done for claiming benefits for all your dolly birds. laugh.gif

post 30th May 2010, 10:53am

In reading the Telegraph report I was struck by the use, by him and
of one of his friends, of the word integrity.

Anyone who knows David knows he is someone of great integrity

... he wants to be very clear ... his integrity is obviously very important

He's been shackin' up with his lobbyist lover at a cost of almost 1000 nicker a month, claiming between 50 and 150 for utilities and 200 a month for repairs (what ever were the doing tongue.gif ) and the utilities claims suddenly drop to 37 pounds a month when receipts became required for claims over 25 quid ...

At no point did I consider myself to be in breach of the rules which define partner as " One of a couple who although not married to each other or civil partners are living together and treat each other as spouses" ... Although we were living together we did not treat each other as a spouse; for example we did not share a bank account ...

So Mary and I aint partners either; we have separate accounts ... and I only share hers biggrin.gif

... However I now accept that as being open to interpretation ...

Aaaah, the old integrity, any one who knows David knows he is a man of great integrity.

post 30th May 2010, 11:01am

The normal meaning of Integrity or at least when I went to school:

in·teg·ri·ty [ in téggrətee ]

noun
Definition:

1. possession of firm principles: the quality of possessing and steadfastly adhering to high moral principles or professional standards

I wonder what theirs is.

post 30th May 2010, 12:42pm

Although we were living together we did not treat each other as a spouse; for example we did not share a bank account ... Only a bed!!!
He gives the exuse - and gets sympathy for it - that he didn't want to disclose his sexuality.
Well that was simple - he didn't have to claim 40 thousand quid. That much to a multi millionaire is like a few hundred quid to the average person.

post 30th May 2010, 12:50pm

Aaaah, the old integrity, any one who knows David knows he is a man of great integrity.
Aye....THee -Dodgy Dave has Royal blood in his veins rolleyes.gif

post 30th May 2010, 01:18pm

Ah'm sure you could claim benefits fur aw yer dolly birds, Tommy. Wan an wampence fur Zara the Zimmer an two an a tick fur Incontinent Ina. smile.gif

6 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th Jun 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.