Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
> Polls Open - Glasgow North East, Voting starts on by-election day (Video)
post 12th Nov 2009, 09:17am

Polls have opened in Glasgow North East as voters seek to select a new MP for the constituency of former Commons Speaker Michael Martin, who stood down as the local MP in June. There are 40 polling stations across the constituency open for voters to elect one of 13 candidates.

Doors opened at 0700 GMT and will close at 2200 GMT. The result is expected in the early hours of Friday. A total of 62,475 eligible voters can vote in the constituency, however, the turnout is not expected to be above 40%.

Below is a short video made of the photographs taken in Glasgow North East over the last ten years.

post 12th Nov 2009, 09:35am

Brilliant collage of images together with the simple but powerful words of William Mcilvanney. Pity he is not a politician - or would he be corrupted too?

post 12th Nov 2009, 10:12am

Brilliant video Martin, although it would break your heart. I was brought up in this area and it's so sad to watch it's decline and almost demise. I hate so say it but I would expect the turn out to be low. I hope the people do find the will to go out and use their vote today. Please God the BNP don't achieve any more credence than they already have the place is ripe for such extreme reactions.
It made me think of myself as a wee lassie canvassing for Dick Buchanan and that wisnae yesterday. smile.gif It was a very different place in those days, a bustling community as you know.

post 12th Nov 2009, 10:56am

Member No.: 5,333
Great video - I wish I was as clever to do stuff like that.

Anyway my bets are on:-

Paddy Power

£10 win labour at 1/5 - win would be £12

(freebet) £20 win SNP at 5/2 - win would be £50 (less the freebet stake)

Ladbrokes

£25 win labour at 1/5 - win should be £30

(freebet) £25 Smeaton to get more than 2000 votes 6/1 - result would £150 (less the freebet stake)

For what it is worth I am forecasting turnout at 24,000 but did not bet this.

Best regards

http://www.pumpfundamentals.com/

Old Sailor
post 12th Nov 2009, 11:38am

Member No.: 4,642
Thank you for a great video and a haunting song. As I have stated before I have a very strong attachment to Glasgow, albeit having lived here in Canada for over fifty years and being in Vancouver this video has shortened the six thousand miles. Thanks again and I wish the people of Glasgow NE the best of all things good.

post 12th Nov 2009, 12:39pm

It's amazing to see the contrasts in this video, and what has happened in just ten years.

This could be the story of other cities, here as well as in other western parts of the world, there's little doubt about that.

Wise men learn more from fools than fools from wise men.
Marcus Cato (234BC - 149BC) Roman "statesman, historian"
"In ""The Speaker's Electronic Reference Collection,"" AApex Software, 1994."

Ken
post 12th Nov 2009, 12:59pm

Member No.: 6,466
Very interesting video, although as I dont live in Glasgow, I didnt recognize much. Had friends who lived in Springburn and would like to see some old photos of Adamswell? Road.

Election results should be interesting.!!!

Ken.

*Katherine Goetz*
post 12th Nov 2009, 01:45pm

Great photos, but I cant get any sound.

Pls. help
Katherine

*Sleekit Liar*
post 12th Nov 2009, 02:13pm

Decent video Glasgow Guide, but I'm afraid the harsh reality in this deprived area is even worse:

http://www.youtube.com/StopBangingYourHead

SBYH.

*john fegan*
post 12th Nov 2009, 02:34pm

Awful. Depressing pictures and depressing music. Anyone from outside the area would think it was all like that, slums ,dereliction and demolition. Just the thing to cheer up us inhabitants. I can appreciate the artistic merits of the film but the message it gives out is one of no hope. There are parts of the East that have been criminally neglected by the outgoing MP so maybe todays election will see a change of direction. We live in a part of the city with beautiful as well as deprived areas, vibrant as well as depressed areas so why not enjoy the positive while working on the negative.
John Fae Dennistoun.

ktv
post 12th Nov 2009, 03:50pm

Member No.: 6,730
QUOTE (Sleekit Liar @ 12th Nov 2009, 01:09pm) *
Decent video Glasgow Guide, but I'm afraid the harsh reality in this deprived area is even worse:

http://www.youtube.com/StopBangingYourHead

SBYH.

great vid that mate...cool site too

post 12th Nov 2009, 03:54pm

Member No.: 5,333
Looks like rain is closing in on Glasgow.

http://www.raintoday.co.uk/

Yesterday you could get 6/4 at Ladbrokes for a turnout of above 40%. Rain goes against these quite attractive odds.

I am also hearing of stories of 'double glazing' canvassing techniques regarding postal votes. 'Are you working?', 'No,I am not I'm on disability benefit" or "I'm off sick". "Sign here please". On good authority I have heard of scrummage's around people with zimmers/scooters/buggies and wheelchairs in the consitituency targeted for postal voting.

http://www.pumpfundamentals.com/

posso-punter
post 12th Nov 2009, 05:00pm

Member No.: 6,659
That was very well put together......in 10 years it's easy not to pay attention to the changes happening before your eyes.

Thoroughly enjoyed that wee look back in time.....very well done.

Biancax3
post 12th Nov 2009, 05:14pm

Member No.: 5,837
Living in the west end i can honestly say i don't give a monkeys.

**8ball345**
post 12th Nov 2009, 05:22pm

Nosalgic video right enough, but it just tends to confirm my belief (of many years) that none of the "fat cats" in government or council are interested in people's welfare or running the country properly but only in the (large) wage packets going with the job.

8ball.

6 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 3rd Sep 2010

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.

Glasgow Hotels: book cheap hotels in Glasgow online now