21 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
> Grandparents, Great Grandparents, Parents Share Yer Tales Here!, Is it true that it's better being a Grandparent
post 12th Jul 2009, 01:55am

Member No.: 6,716
Lindamac, Attached Image to all of you. I have 13 grandchildren and was lucky enough to see three of them being born and it is an amazing experience! I didn't see my first being born but OMG the feeling when she was placed in my arms!! It is indescribable. I wish you every happiness and am pleased that Heather and Derek are happy again with each other and especially that you are pleased for them to be so. All the best, look forward to updates.

Slainte Mhor

post 12th Jul 2009, 11:16am

There is no greater gift you will ever recieve than that of a Grandchild. My wee Lucy is well documented on here as she is probably the only one I will have but when she runs up the path and hugs me and says, 'I love you so much Grandad', you can imagine how tall I feel! As an old man now, to roll around the carpet with a 9 yr old, playing with her 'collectibles', keeps me young(er) and sane(ish)!

post 12th Jul 2009, 12:53pm

QUOTE (27stowst @ 12th Jul 2009, 01:36am) *
I didn't see my first being born but OMG the feeling when she was placed in my arms!! It is indescribable.

It has been almost 7 years since that happened to me , I can still feel the rush when I think about it and it still brings tears to my eyes I can clearly remember my knees going from under me. It was something that I had never felt before Amazing does not even come close. Like Rab I have a few stories about her on here . enjoy every minit of it .

post 12th Jul 2009, 01:27pm

Lovely news Lindamac , so happy for you and Neil. also the proud parents to be.

What a Blessed Christmas you have to look forward too.

Being a g/parent is the most joyful feeling ever.

Am thrilled for you. x

post 12th Jul 2009, 02:06pm

QUOTE (the brauns @ 12th Jul 2009, 01:32am) *
It's nice to hear from a Grand dad. Nice big family you have there, no doubt they do enjoy spoiling you.

have you been eating onions always repeating on you ha ha ha joke laugh.gif

post 12th Jul 2009, 02:26pm

hi linda and neil and parents to be I was given a wee message grandchildren art the gift for being a parent and it is so true I love my Lydia as you know and what gtrat happiness the child will bring to you all huggles
Attached Image Attached Image

post 12th Jul 2009, 07:36pm

I just remembered something.
My son once said to me when I was buying something for his lad, " No dad, not that, it's too dear. We , as parents, don't spoil our children."
" Dead right son, you shouldn't. That's the prerogative of Grandparents!"

post 13th Jul 2009, 05:13am

QUOTE (Rab @ 12th Jul 2009, 09:02pm) *
There is no greater gift you will ever recieve than that of a Grandchild. My wee Lucy is well documented on here as she is probably the only one I will have but when she runs up the path and hugs me and says, 'I love you so much Grandad', you can imagine how tall I feel! As an old man now, to roll around the carpet with a 9 yr old, playing with her 'collectibles', keeps me young(er) and sane(ish)!

Rab thakyou so much for sharing your joys regarding your beloved Grandaughter she is a beuteful young lady by the looks of her here in the photograph aye yer a lucky Granddad.

I always recall when I made my parents Grandparents & how excited they were I couldn't quite comprehend why they were so ecstatic untill now,you see Ive realised that wilst raising Heather & her big brother that I missed what was often under my very nose in since in the everyday living we are kept far too busy & before you know it the kids are all grown up. So now Iam expecting to be a Grandma I now know what I want to do for that wee baby & why mum & dad were so ecstatic & excitable with my babies,like them,I want to take more time to enjoy & play with my grandbaby & appreciate the sheer brilliance & majesty of their beuteful youth & innocence.

I recal the raptures of laughter as we arrived home one day [ my mum & dad were being grandparents looking after baby until we came home from a much needed time out] Well all I could see around my son was chocolate all over his toys his face & clothes the lot were coverd in chocolate,it seems according to Grandad that my son Steven [a toddler at the time] toddles up onto Granddads chair & made a fast move when he discovered the giant sized mars bar Grandad had set aside for a rainy day ,they giggled watching my son investigate with great determination & the absolout delight in stevens ayes when he tore the paper off to taste the delicious filling laugh.gif

Theres no way that picture shall fade from my mind as we joined in the laughter with my parents at the sight of this wee wean covered in chocolate & his eyes popping as he gleefully waved his discovery in the air saying look!!!!! [he hadn't ever tasted real chocolate before only a wee bitty milkybar]Grandparents are wonderful & Iam so looking forward to some of the antics Grandparents get up to with their grandkids,My daughter has already bought this little baby top that says on it & I quote "What Happens at Grandmas stays at Grandmas " That is soooo funny .

My mother so right , a wee bitty dirt or mess willnever dae any herm it can wash off ,I love that memory & adore even moreso the memory of another day when my parents were left with the 2 kids & our wee heather used to take great interest in Grandads newspapers well now there was this day he decided to let Heather have her way & he put her & the news papers in the playpen OMG she was filthy black with newsprint all over her & the paper torn to ribbons strewn everywhere ,what a hilarious sight,yes Iam sure going to treasure every second I can with my Grandbaby & recapture some of the delights of parenthood revisited accept I can hand them back at the end of a day hehehe Iam excited about watching my Grandbaby grow up before my eyes wilst I remain watchful & drink in their youthful impartations of Love unconditional & innocence in abundance. I may even get some choclate buttons when they get a bitty bigger & let them have it when mummys oot tae play laugh.gif

post 13th Jul 2009, 05:23am

QUOTE (stuarty @ 13th Jul 2009, 12:12am) *
hi linda and neil and parents to be I was given a wee message grandchildren art the gift for being a parent and it is so true I love my Lydia as you know and what gtrat happiness the child will bring to you all huggles

wub.gif Thankyou soooo much Stuarty dolls I just love this little prayer & shall treasure your sharing it with me pal ,I know what your wee Lydia means to you she is your sunshine on a cloudy day pal thats just beuteful stuarty doll may you enjoy every minute you have with her always my friend she keeps ye going for sure.

Heather will be delighted to read all these lovely accolades regarding Grandbabys & Grandparents It shall encourage her to keep on looking forward to being a Mum she is very very delighted about her pregnancy & loves her fella very very much.They will be staying at Heathers older brothers home to get them started ,so alls set for them as my son is leaving it fully furnished for them,they will just repaint the place for him as Steven wants the happy couple to have a trouble free start,he is looking forward to becoming an uncle too ,so come on all you uncle & Auntys oot there theres space for ye tae share yer ain wee stories of fun times with yer nieces & nephews,please jine in with us you are all welcome. wub.gif

post 13th Jul 2009, 05:24am

QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 13th Jul 2009, 05:22am) *
I just remembered something.
My son once said to me when I was buying something for his lad, " No dad, not that, it's too dear. We , as parents, don't spoil our children."
" Dead right son, you shouldn't. That's the prerogative of Grandparents!"

Oh yes Teehee I agree explicitly on that one,spoiling is for Grandparents fun! laugh.gif

elso
post 13th Jul 2009, 08:45am

Member No.: 6,459
Congratulations to you both , and health and happiness to the new parents to be, We became a g/parents for the first time 11 yrs ago and believe me it the most unbelievable felling in the world,the only thing that had a shadow over it was my son and his partner had split many months before so we thought we would never see him,but the xpartner said "hes part of your life as well",and since he"s been born we have him every w/end and its great,then my other son and his wife blessed us with another g/son 4yrs ago another little miracle guess what another little mouth AGAIN,this time a precious,most beautiful g/daughter Yessssss at last ! OMG your life will change BIG time and believe me its for the better. Must go going to get the g/kids we!re all going swimming Once again "CONGRATULATIONS"

CAT
post 13th Jul 2009, 01:38pm

Member No.: 5,390
Linda this is wonderfull news. As you know my daughter had her wee boy at the age of 17. After the shock I can now tell you the love I feel for my Stephen is so imense. I was there when he was born at it was amazing. I now have two Grandsons and it's great to spoil them. My other daughter and her partner Brian are due thier baby in October and have just found out it's a GIRL hurragh. I can't wait to spoil her. I just can't stop thinking pink. John and I did the same as you and Neil yesterday and went baby shopping we can't buy the pram though as Brians mum and dad have done that. This is there first as Brian is an only child.
I'm glad Heather and Derek have sorted things out and your right it really does bring you much closer.

Enjoy wub.gif

post 17th Jul 2009, 06:35am

Attached Image wub.gif Thanks Everyone for all the kind wishes you have all expressed to Neil & I & Heather & Derek.Today we went to Heathers midwife appointment so she could meet up with her & also she had her blood pressure etc done but the piste de ressistance was we all got to hear our babys heartbeat, My Grandbabys heart is fiesty & strong the midwife says that the babys a busy little Bee always tumbling around & moving ,she had to chase the babys heart all over the place laugh.gif Mummy & Daddy aRE 2 HAPPY PARENTS TO BE ,i THINK TODAYS VISIT MADE IT ALL FAR MORE REALISTIC FOR THEM & ME TOO i CRIED LIKE A BABY MYSELF HEHEHHE[oops sorry for caps] I hope some of you will hang around & continue to share with me all the nice wee stories that are uniquely a Grandparents special moments with their Grandkids ,I feel sure theres lots of nice wee incidents or things said that made you laugh or cry for that matter through the eyes ears & mouths of your babes eh? camoan noo share with us your wee bits n pieces that brought you joy please.

post 17th Jul 2009, 09:59pm

today Lydia told me that she has been given a place at a private school because the school she was in applied saying that she was a gifted and talented child IM over the moon she starts in september yeehaaa wub.gif wub.gif

post 17th Jul 2009, 10:52pm

You've picked the right time to be over the moon Stuarty.
Congratulations all round.
Understand your pride.

21 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th Jun 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.