19 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
> Do You - Did You - Have A Pet?, Tell us about the wee character here
post 6th Jan 2009, 09:20am

I would quite like to get a dog but never have... the closest I got was a giant goldfish!

Do you have a pet who brightens up your life?

Or, did you have one who has since passed away?

post 6th Jan 2009, 09:41am

Hope youve got the hankies ready Martin for when the wee sad stories start smile.gif

post 6th Jan 2009, 09:56am

We have had several dogs over the years [57 variety type part lab part?] all called Dusty but our Last Dusty was the most endearing and smart and we were all heartbroken when she had to go to sleep, the Cat next door used to come and sit on our window ledge till Dusty went out then they both used to feed out of the one bowl from the other wee cat down the roads dish
Its amazing how a wee animal can brighten up your life we have had numerous budgies goldfish, tortoises but have decided not to have any more now as we move around a bit and wouldnt be fair to leave pet with family when we did

post 6th Jan 2009, 10:56am

Member No.: 4,097
Hi Martin

Over the years, my family had many pets - dogs, cats, lambs, bantam hens, bobby calves, rabbits, tropical fish. However, there is one dog who stands out - Barney, a chocolate labrador. We lived in a small township of 300, surrounded by farm land. Barney was born just before my two children and they all grew up together. He had a habit of wandering down to the main highway and sitting outside the butcher's shop. It started with the butcher giving him a bone, which he would bring home, then go back to the shop for a repeat. Everyone got so used to seeing Barney sitting outside, it was commonly thought that he belonged to the shop owners!

As with other pet dogs, after Barney had gone to doggie heaven, I felt that he had given us much more than we gave him. How's that for soppiness?

Kia mau ki to Maoritanga
.............. Hold fast to your culture

post 6th Jan 2009, 01:03pm

My grannie had a wee dog called Trixie and when we lived in town I used to go up to Hamiltonhill and take Trixie out for walks.
Trixie was a right pet and part Corgi and I don't know what else as she had the Corgie face and body but longer legs. When mum did grannie's shopping she was told to get mince for Trixie and not the cheap stuff because Trixie didn't like cheap meat.

When grannie took ill she went to stay with one of her daughters who lived in Balornock. Grannie died shortly afterwards. By then we were living in Barlanark and mum was told the aunt was getting Trixie put down. I was 15yrs old by this time and was really upset so I got the bus fares from mum and went to Balornock and rescued Trixie.

He was a right family pet and used to sit on mum's knee and get petted like a baby. He was kept downstairs during the night but first thing in the morning as soon as the living room door was opened, he ran upstairs and sat outside our parents bedroom door waiting for it to open then he went in and sat by the bed near to mum.

I remember one time when our parents were on holiday and due home, myself and others in the family who were married by this time, went to Barlanark to wait for mum & dad coming home. Suddenly Trixie started barking his head off and running to the front door, we hadn't a clue what was wrong but we opened the door just as a taxi came round the corner and before the taxi stopped at the house, Trixie ran down the three stairs at the door, leapt over the gate right into mums arms as she came out the taxi.
We never could figure out how Trixie knew mum was in that taxi before it even stopped.

When Trixie took ill the Vet told dad there was nothing could be done as Trixie was about 80 yrs old in human terms, even his whiskers were pure white.
Dad was never much of a drinker but he said when he left Trixie with the Vet he had to go to the pub for a couple of drinks as he was so upset, we were all in tears.

I'm not really an animal lover as I was bitting by a dog when I was only about 10/11 yrs old, but I loved Trixie she was a wee darling.

Some of the family had dogs and when I get used to them I'm OK, but even to this day if a strangers dog runs at me in the street, I freeze and get worried in case it is going to attack me.

I have hated cats since one jumped into my 6 months old sons pram and lay right across his face nearly smothering him. I had left him out while taking the shopping upstairs and was glad I had come down right away to get the baby or God only knows what could have happened.

post 6th Jan 2009, 06:05pm

Member No.: 15
We never went out of our way to have a dog or cat. They all seemed to find our home. Stymie was a Black Lab mix who became our pet when my family was growing up. He was one smart, intuitive dog. If I had worries, he would come and lay his head on my lap and when I was out he would take my slippers and climb on to our bed. Sadly, he got out of the yard one day, made his way to I-95 and was killed. His death about broke my heart. Cats became our pets and I loved all of them. They lived long lives and I knew when to let them go. Att our pets are buried in the garden of my former home in Fairfield.

Now here in Georgia I rescued a stray in 2007. The temperature was in he 100's and the wee soul was crying outside my door. I took water to him then decided he would be cooler in the house. That was it. At first I thought the cat was a female, pregnant with kittens, and planned on taking the cat to the shelter. Before I did that I took the cat to the vet and she said that I had a male, neutered cat, who had been fully declawed. I decided to keep him and he now has a beautiful smokey grey coat.

The story doesn't end there. Last September Suzy was outside and she heard a cat crying in the bushes. She thought it was a kitten and brought out some food. Suzy is a nurse and works nights. When she came home next morning the cat was still in the bushes so she brough it in. She already has five male cats who get along with each other. Well, the "kitten" is actually a young female American shorthair. She wanted no part of having five brothers so Suzy suggested that maybe my cat, Sweetie, would like a companion. I didn't think so but was willing to give it a try as long as Suzy took the cat to the vet. She had been neutered but has claws although she uses scratching posts. I dont think Sweetie wanted a companion. When she comes near he growls and she always seems to want to know where he is. I cant be housebound so I always hope that nothing happens. If I want her attention I open the computer and she jumps up and wants to sit on my lap. Suzy had placed a note on the entrance to our subdivision but no one claimed her. So, here's hoping there is a truce.

Anyone with ideas what will make these two friends?

post 6th Jan 2009, 07:24pm

Member No.: 4,923
I had a hamster called Tinker years ago . When i got married i had a cat called Fluffy , he was a beautiful animal , half persian . When i was ill he would lie in front of the settee and not move till William got in from work .Used to lie round my neck like a fur collar . When our wee flat was broken into our first thought was for Fluffy , in case they had injured him , or he had got out through the broken door , fortunately he was fine , although they took just about everything we had worked hard for over that first three years . Found out two weeks after that i was expecting our first daughter , so putting having a family on hold to build our home up again was no longer an option.

No. 10 Girl
post 6th Jan 2009, 08:11pm

Member No.: 4,950
I have three dogs a Heinz 57, llasa apso and a cross Pomeranian/ Shitzu when we took the wee Pom cross to the vet for her first check up "Ok says the vet what is she?" when I told him he replied " So she's Sh---ypom then! Actually she was very much so at the time smile.gif

Wisnae me!

Marion Niven Dou...
post 6th Jan 2009, 08:27pm

Member No.: 4,715
I had Fluffy in 1984 for 1999 a wee mutt, bit the best wee mutt ye ever met. Then we got Fergie a Bullmastiff, friends of ours were killed in an auto accident so we aquired Fergie. Did not have her long she had Cancer. Then I bought My Aonghas Bullmastiff, gave him to the kids when we went back to Scotland in 2006 CAME BACK TO USA IN 2007 ADOPTED HEATHER French Mastiff, sshe is a gentle giant, my baby, well trained 140 pounds worth of joy, she's my girl

post 6th Jan 2009, 08:38pm

My friend had a gold fish, she had it for about eight yrs, said tae me one day hey Lass am going to europe for six weeks can you look after mah wee fish huh.gif Aye well I'll do mah best by it aha said, away she went so happy her wee fish was in good hands, That night , aye the very furst night that she was away aha fed it, changed it and thought oh this is eazy peezy nothing tae this. Before aha went to sleep I had a wee look in on Moris the fish, there he was floating on his side so aha thought he might be asleep, well he ate all of his food so he's fine, looked in soon after and realised he wiz deed. Aha broke into a cold sweat of fear and panic.

post 7th Jan 2009, 04:39am

laugh.gif @ Glasgow Lass.....I get that terrafyed feeling every time my wee friend leaves her Gorgeous Japanese fighting fish with us to look after when she is away visiting her family in Victoria.

I adore Dogs & have had several over the years that held my heart in their hands ,you see Dogs are just so communicative & such wonderful companions one just cannot help but submitt to them & remember each one as being individualy wonderful as the last one was. We Had our German Sheperd Temba for 11 yrs & we were all saddened by his natural causes death in our home but we at the time were helped over our grief with Ashy,a wee dog we had been asked to take in a year prior by my sons friend.

Ashy was a rescue dog John saved from horrible abuses,he is a wondeful dog to this day,he is a wee blueheeler crossed with something else not sure what since the heeler attributes are so high in him, Ashy is now 6 yrs young & if it weren't for Ashy I think my grief for Temba wouldve hurt a lot longer,ashy was so nurturing to Temba[all of us actualy] in his last days I shan't ever forget the things I wittnessed ashy do for Temba,he washed him grooming him tenderly each day he lay down into the curled up body of Temba that was obviously sore,somehow Temba just seemed so pacifyed by Ashys pressing lttle body into his hurting body.

Ashy brought toys to Temba every day & they would try a very sad & gentle tuggawar with their rope[a very special thing they both enjoyed may I add]Temba went peacefully in my arms through the night with Ashy settled nearby to him also, when he went Ashy came up to lick my face filled with tears & as though to tell me it was going to get better for us he daily stuck to us like glue, he was grieving tembas loss too,he even tried to dig him up from his grave in the yard where we planted a Frangipani tree on top of him,each day ashy sat by that tree for a few minutes as though remaniscing he even took his wee toys to place under the tree which grew like wildfire may I say.

The antics of Ashy still to this day reflect both Tembas personlity as well as his own & when he comes to play tuggawar I hate to refuse him since he misses our Temba & I do to ,so together we tuggawar with the toys & my heart is warmed with peace & joyus memories of Temba & seeing Ashy grow in nature & personality before us this past year has been ever so sweet he is still nurturing & playful & very very sweet & gentle with us all, he has come a long way from the damaged dog who bit me my husband daughter & friend all in the 1st few days of meeting him,he was afraid thats all he was in his 3rd home in a year he trusted no one yet nowadays he trusts loves & plays so freely I love him to bits & hopefully we will get a long prosperous life out of Ashy whos start in life was hard yet he gave out so much despite his own pained start.We want to give Ashy the best contiuing life ever & we do spoil him & he is so cheeky & funny at times I just never want to stop laughing & playing with him,Dogs are so communicative & are wonderful companions that do more for us than we realise at times. wub.gif

post 7th Jan 2009, 01:03pm

laugh.gif Aye linda aha tried to replace the fish so a few days before she came back I went into every pet shop that I could find to see if there was another fish that looked like her's. wacko.gif.
I found one, thought that it might do the trick, bought it and gave it back to her as Moris. The funny thing was that she knew right away this was not Moris LoL.

post 7th Jan 2009, 01:22pm

I grew up always having dogs in my life.

When I got married we bought a wee Yorkshire Terrier and named her Brandy, this was in 1970 and she died about six months after moving to my present house in 1986 - she was a wee charmer and spoiled, and loved rotten.

Later we got Ted and Benji - two Yorkies, because after Brandy we fell in love with that breed. It would break my heart even now, if I told you about their subsequent deaths, because they are always part of the family and no two dogs are ever alike - just like people. They're in my heart always.

I often think about wee Brandy, and often think about wee Ted and Benji.

Almost eleven years ago we bought Bobby and Bubbles. Bobby is a quiet wee man, and often lies at the opposite end of the couch when I'm watching tv, occasionally pushing his rear end into my leg, just to let me know he's there, he's very loving but not soppy. Bubbles, on the other hand, will want always to lie and sleep on my knees, every now and then, coming up to give me a wee lick on the side of my face or neck.

I have loved all of them to bits, and miss the departed ones every single day. But my heart is filled with wonderful memories of them, and the funny or mischievous things they used to do.

See now you've got me with the wee tears running down my cheeks, because I've just had an awful cute vision of some of them in my mind.

Help ma boab, paper hankies to the fore again.

Martin believe me, until you've had a pet, you will never know what you are missing, and the total, complete dedication they have towards you.

It is possible to fail in many ways...while to succeed is possible only in one way.
- Aristotle

post 7th Jan 2009, 02:02pm

Member No.: 1,137
i had my cat floyd for 15 years, took a rescue one when floyd was 13 and we named him skippy, then floyd died quite suddenly and we were all broken hearted but took another rescue kitten for skippy cos he was used to the company we named this one charlie, and he went missing 10 weeks ago and im broken hearted again, i live in hope that he will return but the longer it goes on the more unlikely it is that we'll get him back. i am not going through this again its terrible.

Slàinte mhor a h-uile là a chi 's nach fhaic

championi26
post 7th Jan 2009, 02:19pm

Member No.: 3,968
I always wanted a dog when iI was younger but it never happened for various reasons...

Now that I'm slightly older....We got Wee Molloy a lovely West Highland Terrier...who breaks everybodys heart that meets her.....shes a great wee thing and loves to do loads of tricks...

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDQAyQDx7Dc&...re=channel_page

19 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th Dec 2019

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.