X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

8 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
> Scottish Food
Brenda
post 5th May 2004, 05:52am

Member No.: 1,031
I've found a shop here in Adelaide that sells sweeties from Scotland...I bought some Murray Mints and tablet. It made me think of the sweeties / foods we used tae get as weans. Here's a few I can remember:
Spangles..pineapple chunks..walnut whirls..swizzles..penny caramels..banana toffee..double nougats..caramel cake in the dinner school.. snowballs...liquorice wi a wee poke o' sherbet...hot peas and vinegar from the Italian 's ice cream shop...ice cream wi' rasberry oan top...the ootside of a plain loaf [toasted!]..clootie dumplin...bridies..and the best of all, black puddin' suppers. Wish you could get them here!.

david lowson
post 5th May 2004, 08:52am

Member No.: 470
You can Brenda will try to get the info later.

Scotlass
post 6th May 2004, 05:15am

Member No.: 1,014
OMG!! I am craving some good old Scottish food - who says we don't know how to eat???? biggrin.gif

Since I've lived in the US, I have only found one place that served a REAL fish supper (no Black Pudding unfortunately - guess you can't get that here!!). It's a place down the Jersey Shore in Bradley Beach called "Barclays" - WOW. They were a taste of home for me for about 3 years!!! Branston Pickles!!

Lately I've been finding Walkers Shortbread all over the place here but I miss my flavored crisps and my bridies!! When I was pregnant I had cravings for Prince's Salmon spread - try finding anything remotely similar over here...

If anyone knows of a good Scottish food store in the Denver area of Colorado LET ME KNOW......

I'm off to have a crisp sandwich!!!

david lowson
post 6th May 2004, 06:27am

Hey Scotslass what a small world, one of my nieces is a nurse working in one o the hospitals in Denver. Before that she was in Savannah Georgia. I will try to get hold of my sister in Glasgow about where she is, and she might be able to help you in you quest for the the good foods?
Cheers David.

Brenda
post 6th May 2004, 07:54am

Member No.: 1,031
I've located a baker's shop here in Adelaide .."The Scotch Oven" that sells some favourite Scottish foods like potato scones, round pies, fern cakes, empire biscuits, coffee buns, even big steak pies, remember them ? All I have to do now is find a chip shop that sells black pudding suppers.

wife_of_sjmac
post 6th May 2004, 08:18am

Member No.: 438
Brenda, like you, I would kill for a black pudding supper. Could you send me over a fearn cake. you probably don't know Tusker, but he is likely to own the franchise as he is the coffee bun king.
who is Tusker you may ask, he used to get the kids in the orphanage to work in his bakery. ha ha. rolleyes.gif

Jean. Melbourne. Australia.

david lowson
post 6th May 2004, 08:31am

Jean there are loads of places doon your way for them, how aboot going out and gettin some. Send them up here as we dont have that much to offer, in regards to Scottish food.
There is one but its miles away, quicker flying tae Glasgow.

wife_of_sjmac
post 6th May 2004, 10:33am

Member No.: 438
David if I could send it up to you I would, but by the time it got there it would be a bit on the bugle, you hang in there and I will send you a wee something to share with Marlene. Don't like doing this to you David, Saturday lunch time we had a scottish pie and beans, and Sunday morning we had sliced sausage bacon & eggs fried tottie scone's. I can't find a black pudding I like. Oh I forgot, I had a coffee and eccles cake for eleven o' clock break. I have to go for another cholesterol check, so you can see why I keep putting it off. wub.gif

Jean. Melbourne. Australia.

a menzies
post 6th May 2004, 02:14pm

Member No.: 112
hi ausies;i think your black pudding would be called (blood sausage )over here in the states but i am not sure.i know i would just about kill for half a dozen morning roll's.is there a special recipe for them?heck make it a dozen archie.

leeninaus
post 6th May 2004, 02:46pm

Member No.: 191
a menzies, in Aus black pudding is called just that !! until recently it could be bought in most supermarkets.. I always bought mine from a butcher that used Scottish & Irish recipes!! I used to think he made it himself until just the week before last when I asked why he hadn't had it for a couple of weeks ! he explained to me that his supplier had stopped making it because of the now stringent food laws... he now has to declare ( even if it is not vacuum packaged and sitting on display on a butcher's tray) ALL of the ingredients!! and if customers saw that the higher percentage of ingredient was basically dried pigs blood they would not buy it !! I have been searching Coles, Woolworths, Action & Dewsons supermarkets this last week for the best accompniment to Sunday bacon & egg brekkies to no avail... sad.gif SO, if any of you Aussies find any please let me know where !!!!! mind you, I can still get the best (Irish) white pudding in Aus !!!!

post 6th May 2004, 04:07pm

Great to see you on Leen, why can't you get all the Scottish things? Mind you they probably don't allow such additives in sensible countries! laugh.gif

leeninaus
post 6th May 2004, 06:07pm

Member No.: 191
Hello Melody !! sensible countries ? Maybe !! The Governing bodies are probably thinking ahead of the small minded people who would be agahst at eating dried pigs blood! or maybe it is because we have become SO multicultural it will offend our Islamic migrants, though I don't see how !! most shopping centres now must have a butcher that sells Hal Al prepared meat products !!!

a menzies
post 6th May 2004, 06:14pm

Member No.: 112
wub.gif we have a very high polish following here in michigan and i am very sure the older folks know exactly what goes into their (black pudding)i always thought it was ducks blood.anyway i am no closer to my morning roll;s.whats the big secret?i am an old batchelor but i think i could mix some flour and water.archie.

Marion Dougan
post 6th May 2004, 06:17pm

Member No.: 206
Archie a don't know where you are in Mi I lived in Troy many yrs ago. There was a Scotttish bakers in Detroit, bread yes plain bread an mornin rolls an aw the cakes ye kin think o rolleyes.gif

Lang may yer Lum reek!!!

Teeny
post 6th May 2004, 07:32pm

Member No.: 37
Guid topic Brenda ... see you've got all the taste buds gaun LOL

That "Scotch Oven" shop sounds brilliant. We have a shop in the city centre which sells mostly the confectionery range and irn bru, but they're prices are sky high and ah'll not be visiting there often.

Jean, stoap tryin' tae make us awe jealous wi yer Sunday moarnin' fry up LOL. Wherever did that Tusker disappear tae, he wis loads fun 'n much missed !!

Leen, my hubby loves black pudding and I've tried a few places for him, but the best I ever found was in David Jones, it was the small one which would have been equivalent to the horseshoe size diameter one (only this one was straight haha). Hope you have a DJs store there that sells them. Good luck.

Scotlass, ah stull huv ma wee crisp roll/sandwich - love it !!

Cheers all - Teeny tongue.gif

8 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th Sep 2017

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.