Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Glasgow's Paddy's Market To Close, Glasgow site to become ethnic showcase
post 14th Mar 2008, 04:26pm

[See also: The Final Day Of Paddy's Market (14th May 2009)]

-----------

The 200 year-old Glasgow market known affectionately as Paddy's Market, is set to close after Glasgow City Council announced plans that it intends to buy over the market site from the present owners and turn it into a showcase for aspiring artists of different ethnic backgrounds.

The city council intends take over the lease from site owners Network Rail and then clear the second-hand traders from the site in Shipbank Lane. Thereafter the site will be made available to arts and business organisations, to create a multi-cultural showcase of talent of people from different ethnic backgrounds.

Councillor George Ryan, the council's regeneration convener, announced:
"We are ready to conclude a deal with Network Rail to take over all the leases. We will be able to lift the whole area. What we want is to create a mini-Camden Market in Glasgow city centre."

Paddy's Market 1950s (Photo © Andrew MacDonald)

Paddy's Market 2007

[Pevious Paddy's Market story here...]

post 14th Mar 2008, 10:55pm

Many a good saturday my dear sister and I spent in the Briggait and many a good bargain we bought.Mind you the last time I was there it was not the same atmosphere. I think stores like Primark and T.J'S put paid to the hawker's living.
Sounds like we are becoming a very upmarket city. ohmy.gif

post 15th Mar 2008, 03:37am

Everybody that had a foxfur wrap normally got them from the paddy's market very sad. fairwell paddy;s marketand a suppose the fish shops will go anaw sad.gif

post 15th Mar 2008, 12:10pm

stuarty, the fishmarket has been closed for years. It was turned in to a Shopping Area named "The Briggait", it didn't last long. smile.gif Obviously did not pay.

Glaswegian
post 15th Mar 2008, 04:14pm

Member No.: 5,139
This is not exactly a surprise as Glasgow City Council has been running a year-long propaganda campaign using their media mouthpiece, the Evening Times, to try to convince the people of Glasgow that Paddy's Market exists only to facilitate crime in the city centre. Of course the council and the low-rate rag comprehensively failed to convince the people, but they've decided to carry on regardless in their inimitable incompetent manner.

A lot of people will be sorry to see this valuable part of Glasgow's history go. mad.gif

Proud Glaswegian
Telling it like it is!

Beebs
post 15th Mar 2008, 06:54pm

Member No.: 5,470
I'm really saddened by this news.

My Grandmother on my fathers side was a 'Hawker' in the market in the 20's and 30's, many a story my Dad told of standing watch when they had to pitch in the street as the best, covered, spots further in the lane had already been taken, and of how the shout of 'POLIS!' would send people tearing to pick up the four corners of the blankets they laid their wares on before they felt the hand of the law on their collars!

I'm amazed that rather than close the market the Council haven't seen it for the amazing part of the city's culture and history.

The Market, as far as I'm told, has its origins as the saddest of places, where a man would sell his shirt off his back to feed his family after escaping to a 'better' life outside of Ireland at the turn of the 1900. (Thus the name Paddy's Market)

I remember trawling the stalls looking for something amazing and deco to wear to my first night at the 'Dancing', the Roseland Disco! I thought I was the bees knees in my 1950's dress my Mum had taken in..... She'd have been letting it out now! smile.gif

Happy days, and such a lose to Glasgow.

Beebs

*Guest les quinn **
post 15th Mar 2008, 07:12pm

Sorry, but i'm glad to see the back of it. Try venturing through with a camera nowdays- chances are you'll be spat upon and asked whit the f*** ye daein' wi that? The contraband and burnt Cd mob are responsible for the market's closure; second hand shops provide shirts for a quid- there exists no social need for the market nowadays... However, my sentiments are shared, regarding the Glasgow council and their organ of offal- the evening tymes- it's just a sad fact that modernity has dictated yet again that things must change ; albeit any change the council has imposed upon the city usually turns out to be negative.

I'm not too sure if i'm in agreement with a camden market...(what's this issue with identity- glasgow doesn't know if it's european or scottish- now it's wanting to rub not so working class shoulders with london)! let's go the quarter mile- revamp the riverfront- let's give paris something to compete with...(yes dearie dear).

All i ask is for a beer outside after ten o clock at night- or a coffee at the same hour, and not be told that due to licensing laws we stop being european stock at ten in the evening, or that the coffee machine's been 'cleaned for the night'.

different strokes for different folks i s'pose.

jak suchet

billie
post 15th Mar 2008, 07:43pm

Member No.: 5,380
Didnt know Paddy's market was still there..surprise to me..

lUsed to go round there when young with my wee mammy ..she just loved looking through all the stuff ..the clothes and she loved nice hats.....we didnt have much...like most people....I was always embarrassed though...in case seen someone from school.. :wub: B)
later on when older would go now and again.. yes some great bargains could be found.. at auld paddy's :D

billie
post 15th Mar 2008, 07:45pm

Member No.: 5,380
Didnt know Paddy's market was still there..surprise to me..

lUsed to go round there when young with my wee mammy ..she just loved looking through all the stuff ..the clothes and she loved nice hats.....we didnt have much...like most people....I was always embarrassed though...in case seen someone from school.. wub.gif
later on when older would go now and again.. yes some great bargains could be found.. at auld paddy's smile.gif

*Guest glesgakeely **
post 15th Mar 2008, 09:44pm

It's a wee shame that the City Fathers are closing down yet another Glasgow institution in what is ''Paddy's Market''. I'm sure most of us have had a hoot prowling through the market , I for one have had a bargain or two from the folk in Paddy's , and it's the first place I head for when I need dressing up gear .. ye know fur the auld 70's parties and the likes ..
Ocht kin they no jist leave it alane mad.gif

Fae a disgruntled glesgapunter ..

post 15th Mar 2008, 10:15pm

What do they mean,giving it to people of different ethnic culture. The people that have been there for the past 200 years were of a different ethnic culture,SCOTS--IRISH--VIKINGS,and others of our background!

post 15th Mar 2008, 10:21pm

laugh.gif Wellfield, who knows mibbe they've made up new ones. I did wonder about that myself.

post 15th Mar 2008, 10:25pm

Ahm' just thinking,we can add Paddy's Market to the list of Scottish inventions"The First Swapmeet known tae Mankind"

jeanbev
post 15th Mar 2008, 11:26pm

Member No.: 5,458
I used to go to Paddy's market regularly in the late 60's early 70's. I had 5 children and a husband who was more out of work than in it,so I couldn't afford new clothes.I told the kids it was the C & A ,because sure as fate someone would say "where did you get that nice jumper?".They always said we got it at C & A,and my youngest son would rebel and say I dont want to go to that C & A place today,as the inside tunnels were dark and damp smelling . Many a bargain I got,mainly for myself. Coats and dresses that I couldnt have afforded otherwise. Outside in the lane everything was 10p and you rummaged through a pile of rubbish till you found something you thought was wearable. Nowadays they call it e-bay.

*Jerry Wells*
post 15th Mar 2008, 11:52pm

I can't believe one of your icons is being destroyed.
Hasn't the coucil better things to do, I rather enjoyed Paddy's market every visit to Glasgow, what's next? Your council must have learned destruction from the Yank, who also disdains its Historic Southern culture by razing it.

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 3rd Sep 2010

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.

Glasgow Hotels: book cheap hotels in Glasgow online now