> A Christmas Prayer, a childs view
CELTCHIC67
post 18th Dec 2007, 05:23pm

Member No.: 5,040
Snowflakes sofly falling,
upon your window play,
your blanket snug around you,
into sleep you drift away.

I bend down to gently kiss you,
when I see that on the floor,
there's a letter,neatly written,
I wonder who it's for.

I quietly unfold it,
making sure your still asleep,
It's a christmas list to santa--
one my heart will always keep.

It started just as always,
with the toys seen on tv,
a new watch for your father,
and a winter coat for me.

but as my eyes read on,
I could see that deep inside
there were many things you wished for
that your loving heart would hide.

you asked if your friend molly
could have another dad,
It seems her father hits her
and it makes you very sad.

then you asked dear santa
if the neighbours down the street
could find a job,that he might have
some food,and clothes and heat.

you saw a family on the news
whose house had blown away
"dear santa,send them just one thing,
a place where they could stay."

"and santa those four cookies
that I left you for a treat,
could you take them to the children
who have nothing else to eat ?"

"do you know that little bear I have--
the one I love so dear ?
I'm leaving it for you to take
to africa this year."

"and as you fly your reindeer
on this night of jesus' birth,
could your magic bring to everyone
good will and peace on earth ?"

"there's just one thing before you go--
so greatful I would be--
If you'd smile at baby jesus
In the manger,bye our tree."

I pulled the letter close to me,
I felt It melt my heart
those tiny hands had written
what no other could impart.

"and a little child shall lead them,"
was whispered in my ear
as I watched you sleep on christmas eve
while sants claus was here.

AUTHOR UNKNOWN

post 18th Dec 2007, 05:41pm

Member No.: 2,519
Aww Celtchic that was beautifull wub.gif

ITS NICE TO BE NICE

CELTCHIC67
post 18th Dec 2007, 05:44pm

Member No.: 5,040
keelie I was nearly greetin when I first read it wub.gif big softy

post 18th Dec 2007, 06:23pm

That was simply beautiful Celtchic. Tugs the heart strings, sure it does? smile.gif

Marion Niven Dou...
post 18th Dec 2007, 07:22pm

Member No.: 4,715
Celtchic, that was lovely, thank you for sharing

post 18th Dec 2007, 07:25pm

phew a lump in my throat or what that was superb chic oh through the eyes of a child wub.gif

Waverley
post 18th Dec 2007, 07:52pm

Member No.: 4,832
Celtchic

Lovely poem, only innocent minds that children believe all is well in the world may we all think about the truthfulness of Christmas.

post 18th Dec 2007, 09:46pm

Wow that is some wee poem. I am going to print it off for my daughter to take into her grade two kids.She was just telling us last weekend how we would die if we saw what the kids were asking from Santa these days.

post 18th Dec 2007, 09:51pm

Sorry could ye repeat that Isobel ah didnae hear ye hen laugh.gif

Lovely poem Celtchic, if we could only bag the innocence forever eh wink.gif

post 18th Dec 2007, 09:52pm

post 18th Dec 2007, 09:53pm

rolleyes.gif celtchic 67 that was beautiful thank you hen unsure.gif

post 18th Dec 2007, 09:58pm

laugh.gif Sorry Anne......Isobel had repeated her words but edited....in between me makin the joke about ah couldnae hear an if she could repeat it fur me....so ma post went in ahint hers but she'd already fixed it.

Jist anither "Lost in Transalation" moment laugh.gif

post 18th Dec 2007, 09:59pm

unsure.gif ah knew that catherine laugh.gif

post 18th Dec 2007, 10:54pm

Lovely Poem Celtchic, very touching. smile.gif

post 19th Dec 2007, 12:41am

Whit was that Catherine you need me to repeat it, ha ha

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.