Hi Guest
> Respect, Do unto others
post 29th Oct 2007, 08:06pm

Member No.: 1,815
When I first came on these boards it seemed to me that there was a lot more respect for each others feelings .Perhaps that is what the problems now arising are all about .
We didn't all agree on all matters and had some heated discussions but bottom line was always to respect peoples opinions ,likes and dislikes .There are some members on the boards now and I won't call names, as that would drag me down to their level .THEY know who they are without me saying who they are and for some of the nasties they have pulled they should hang their heads in shame .
There seems to a faction of very unhappy bitter people passing comments now .What happened to the laughter and make believe we used to have .Now if we try and do it we get insulted and called names .I enjoy listening to people sing and I enjoy imaginary cups of tea and washing imaginary stairs .Someone said they found that boring .Well TUFF .You don't have to come on these boards if so much displeases you .Go vent your spleen somewhere else .
We keep asking for new members to contribute more .Well maybe they are reluctant to do so because one of the doom and gloomers might put them down .
I say lets get some respect for each other back .To get respect you have to earn it and there's a few on here who don't even try .

Auld but Still Game.

post 29th Oct 2007, 08:10pm

Here Here ,I will second that Jakka wink.gif

post 29th Oct 2007, 08:18pm

I agree wholeheartedly Jakka. It's so sad. We used to be able to post anywhere in any topic and be assured of a respectful and mannerly response. A laugh, good spirited fun. Most of all the title of your topic 'respect.' We are not always going to agree of course, but we can always show decency and respect for one another.

post 29th Oct 2007, 08:26pm

Member No.: 1,713
Well said Jakka thank god for the voices of reason on here like yourself biggrin.gif

Thank god for bettys room only place where you get some peace and harmony and respect. biggrin.gif

Tell it like it is

post 29th Oct 2007, 08:32pm

I just know I'm going to get some pelters but frankly I don't give a( lets say hoot ).I'm not asking everyone to become Stepford wives and be all sweet and frilly .I just want to be able to have a laugh again without snickers behind my back .

Auld but Still Game.

post 29th Oct 2007, 08:38pm

Jakka whit's a snicker? smile.gif Ah know it's wan oh they Canadian fancy words, that ah don't know. biggrin.gif

post 29th Oct 2007, 08:48pm

It's like when somebody laughs up their sleeve at you . laugh.gif

Auld but Still Game.

post 29th Oct 2007, 10:51pm

Member No.: 4,960
Well said Jakka13. It's about time somebody spoke out. I am sure we can all agree to disagree at times without nastiness creeping in. It would be a funny old world if everyone had the same viewpoint. Respect is something that is in very short supply today [I am talking in general, not about the Boards].

post 29th Oct 2007, 11:14pm

Member No.: 18
Melody,

The Scottish equivalent of "snicker" is "snigger" - to laugh unpleasantly and disrespectfully.

Never give a sword to a man who cannot dance - African Proverb

post 29th Oct 2007, 11:48pm

Well said Jakka ,everyone is entitled to their opinion we cant always agree, but hey thats what makes it so interesting . So lets get back to respecting each others opiinion.

post 30th Oct 2007, 12:18am

laugh.gif Melody,,, ahm surprised that yi dont know whit snickers is ,,,, bit mind you aha might have used the word snigger in the past when aha lived in Glasgow smile.gif

post 30th Oct 2007, 12:21am

Aye Luceo ,,, Ive jist seen you post ,,, so ahm not alone then,, smile.gif

post 30th Oct 2007, 12:23am

Member No.: 4,960
And here's me thinking Snickers is a chocolate bar!! biggrin.gif

post 30th Oct 2007, 12:26am

Aye its that to ,,,, and one of my favourite ,,, respectfully so now wub.gif

post 30th Oct 2007, 12:35am

They shoulda jist left it an kept it a Marathon, ah think Snickers a stupit name masel.
Could go wan right noo mind you laugh.gif

Respects like an open fire, the mare ye sit around it the warmer ye feel all over.
Good reminder post Jakka biggrin.gif

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.