Still have my accent after thirty years, little softer perhaps. Like most of you here ,I don't want to lose it. The one thing that gives you away when you go back home is certain words and expressions that I have picked up in Canada,but thats about it.I asked my girls ,do you think mom sounds Canadian ,they burst out laughing . God no. Where did that come from the youngest said.
Member No.: 103
I have lived in Melbourne for 34 years and was 14 when I arrived, I still have an accent, as people still ask me were I am from but it has certainly been toned down so much so that people are not quite sure about it.
But the minute I get with other Scots or my family I have been told that I sound as if I just got off the boat.
My daughter tells me that when I lose my temper it is very strong then so much so that they haven't got a clue what I am ranting about just as well it doesn't happen that often.
Member No.: 438
I have lived in Melbourne for 34 years come April, and have not lost my accent nor Stuart his. When I go into a shop people sometimes say are you here on holiday. They think I am kidding when I tell them how long I have been here. I still cannot ask for a Turkey sandwich, They have absolutely no idea what I am saying. So frustrating.
Member No.: 241
ROFL, Jean...my favourite is forgetting and asking patients if they have any pain. I couldnae tell you how many patients have started rumblin aroon in their lockers saying "I've got a pen in here, I'm sure" Mostly now I remember to ask them if they're sore.
My boys used to tease me about saying poyums so now that's a word I use when talking of po-yetry:)
*edit* furgoat tae say...ah've been here since 73 was living in Slough, Bucks before that
This post has been edited by Mary48: 20th Mar 2004, 01:38pm
Member No.: 2,406
great wee topic i been living in the south coast of england for 21 years and i still have my glasgow accent my husband is english and my son tommy was born in glasgow but has been raised in portsmouth but when i take him home the minute hes in glasgow he slips back in to a glasgow accent bless him well after all he has been brought around many glasgow accents i for one will never lose mine nor shall i ever wish too..even if i do have too keep repeating myself sometimes
Member No.: 27
I have been in Canada since 1964 and i still have my accent you have to keep something for yourself and as i say why not the government has everything else
Member No.: 2,417
A good one Cameron, and how true.....I must say, I have lost most of my Scottish accent since being in Canada since 1953. However, my kids say my pronunciation of the word "spoon" is a dead giveaway of my Scottish accent...I too seem to resort to my Glesgae accent whenever I return to my beloved Glasgow...And of course even though the accent is gone, ma heart is aye in Scotland.
Member No.: 1,927
I was 10yrs old when we left Glasgow and I am 45 now and yes I have lost my accent,....some other Scots dont understand and think I'm kidding on and look at my me in disbelief......I used to get mistaken for a kiwi..(Newzealander) because some of my words do still have that twang.....our family lived in Newzealand for four years before moving to Australia and I must admit I did still have some of my accent when we arrived here...... and some where along the years its dissipated......
Good question Martin. I suppose I still have a wee bit of Weegie speak left. Living in England as I do, its still pleasant to see locals expressions as they strain tae unnerstaun whit ah'm oan aboot!. An example of English stupidity - I was recently in a restaurant with my wife and after I had paid my bill and was leaving, she began to laugh. 'Whats funny?' I said. She replied, 'I heard the waitress say to the cashier - "What a charming Welshman"!!!!!!!!.
I left scotland 27years ago and jioned wraf with another glaswegin an within two days she was talking english and a jumped doon her throat and said be proud of your accent and i got a hold of her at the end of our trade training and a glasgow kiss was given as a true glsweigin fashon a bet if a met her againshe would talk scottish fast
Member No.: 897
Ive never left Glasgow but i dont think i have the typical Glaswegian accent, i think i watched too much TV growing up and my accent seems to be some sort of morphed accent, people have asked me where i'm from and they are surprised when i say Glasgow - Its definitely a Scottish Accent though
There are three things everyone should do every day. Number one is laugh. Number two is think -- spend some time in thought. Number three, you should have your emotions move you to tears. If you laugh, think and cry, that's a heck of a day.
Been in Oz 44 years and still have my accent,,though must admit I don't have to repeat myself that often, so maybe I put it on for locals ,but as some on here will tell ye , I am still as broad Glaswegian when among ma ain.
Member No.: 686
I left Glasgow in 65 and I still have my Accent though the Matron in one Hospital I worked in said I had to speak slower other than that no problem Joan
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.