> Woohoo... Is This Creepy Or What
lizeeloo
post 12th Aug 2007, 05:33pm

Member No.: 1,209
I know there was a thread for this subject but I cannae find it so here goes..

My daughter and I were having a discussion on Friday about old TV shows etc and we were trying to recall the name of a British TV talk show host. We could each see him in our minds perched on a high stool with a drink in his hand and he had a bit of finger missing in one . Well to cut a long story short she remembered the last name - Allan - and believe it or not I fell asleep that night and dreamed of him and his first name was Dave. Some of you may remember him.
Okay the stage is set for the weird part.
She went to a wedding the day after this ( yesterday - Saturday ) and here is an email I got from her this morning

Hey Mum,

Want to hear something really weird. At the dinner last night the tables were set up for 6 and 8 people. Our table was 6 - John and me, Chris and Cindy and, this is the weird part, DAVE ALLEN (same spelling) and Maureen.

Creepy!

lizeeloo ..... a.k.a. MAUREEN unsure.gif

p.s. Dave Allan died in 2005

lizee

post 12th Aug 2007, 05:49pm

wooooooo ...that is creepy.... unsure.gif

post 12th Aug 2007, 09:33pm

Member No.: 4,923
i remember some of the repeated dave allen shows,was not allowed to watch it when i was younger.i dont think a lot of his material would be accepted nowadays,although i have to admit he was hilarious.you sometimes missed the start of a new joke ,as you were so busy laughing at the last one.

post 13th Aug 2007, 01:25am

Cripes took me a minute tae get that Lizzee....ahm thinkin wis that his wifes name......then realised it's YOUR name laugh.gif Oh kinda Twilighty zonish for me pet, weird right enuf huh.gif

post 13th Aug 2007, 02:23am

Dave Allen was a brilliant comedian, bought his dvd it came out just after he died I think , a lot of the stuff is dated , but a lot of it is still hilarious

post 13th Aug 2007, 04:34pm

Member No.: 1,713
Oh Lizee spooky right enough, a mind watching him with my dad when i was a wee lassie biggrin.gif

Goodnight and may your god go with you biggrin.gif

Tell it like it is

post 13th Aug 2007, 08:01pm

Member No.: 56
Ah thought he wis funny biggrin.gif watched his show regular

post 14th Aug 2007, 04:06am

laugh.gif Aye Pennydainty I did catch up earlier this year with a wee show of his oan Foxtel back in April ,he is brilliantly funny,My Dad could hardly ever breath when that fella was oan cos we were gaurenteed a giggle or plenty. must borow it from you eh?biggrin.gif

post 14th Aug 2007, 06:35pm

David Tynan O'Mahoney - 'May your God go with you'

post 14th Aug 2007, 11:39pm

Member No.: 4,923
thought i would write about something that happened a couple of years ago which we thought was a bit spooky.i took my youngest daughter who was 9 at the time shopping to our local centre.we went into the post office first,there on the shelf was an extra large teddy bear and dog the size of a large alsation.they were being raffled,and proceeds were going to glasgows yorkhill hospital for children.my daughters eyes lit up.i bought a couple of tickets ,but told my daughter that a lot of people would be buying tickets,i was trying to let her down gently ,as we just dont win anything .put the tickets in the back of my purse and forgot all about them.a couple of weeks later,a week before xmas,got a phone call that i had won the large dog and when could i collect it.got ready and went straight down.when i got home my hubby and i read the label on the dog,it said DOUG by MELISSA,ithink it is an american make.so whats weird about that?my daughter regularly attends yorkhills cardiology unit,and her name is Melissa. bye

post 15th Aug 2007, 01:29am

unsure.gif unsure.gif strange eh petalpeeps strange

post 15th Aug 2007, 04:16am

biggrin.gif Aye Rab thanks for the piccy he is just as I mind of him drunk looking & full o patter & stories .weird that I went shopping yesterday & saw a dvd on display for 12 bucks mibees al get it seeings wurr awe talking aboot Dave Allen. :lol:quirky creepy eh?

post 16th Aug 2007, 06:15am

Loved watching Dave Allen, did he not get his start on the Val Doonican show, or was that someone else?

Can you imagine someone smoking on a show now, I remember he used to keep brushing the ash off his knee as he spoke.

----- Go CANUCKS Go -----

Kaneman
post 16th Aug 2007, 06:22am

Member No.: 4,894
This is REALLY SCARY mah auld man wis Kane, an mah maw wis Brown...over tae Betty an Anne!..an wheres mah rock ya big ogret yeh Java tongue.gif I remember Dave Allen tae wurnae allowed tae watch it most o the time cos it wis smutty....Can ye believe it

People who say: "they slept like a baby" probably have never had one!

post 16th Aug 2007, 03:14pm

laugh.gif your coming fae good stock kaneman [aye javas got your rock but will deny it]

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.