Glasgow Guide Home

Whats On Glasgow Guide
  Glasgow What's On

Glasgow Reviews

Glasgow Gallery

Glasgow Links
Discuss | Guestbook | Postcard | News | Weather | Feedback | Search | About | What's New
Glasgow Guide Discussion Boards

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )                >> View Today's Topics <<

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> George Outram Press - Buchanan St., The atmosphere in press building
strathspey
post 10th Jan 2007, 06:02pm
Post #1

Unpacking
Member No.: 4,321
I worked as a copy-boy on the 'Evening Times' during the 1950s.
The whole building smelt of fresh newsprint and I recall the entire building vibrating when the giant presses in the basement were running. Opposite us, in Buchanan St.,an old chap with an accordion used to sing 'O Sole Mio' on Saturdays. He'd position himself so that the surrounding buildings improved the acoustics.
He was almost drowned out by the flocks of starlings which lived in the eaves of the buildings all along Buchanan St.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
George Muir
post 10th Jan 2007, 09:04pm
Post #2

Mega City Key Holder
Member No.: 53
In the 50s I worked every Saturday on the afternoon shift at the "Sunday Post" (which was then in Dobbie's Loan) setting headlines, doing corrections, etc. There was quite a distinct atmosphere in the newspapers back then, at least in the composing room. The click-clacking of the linotype machines, the smell of the fumes from the melting pots, how things have changed now - computerized typesetting, automated page makeup, etc. all done by fewer bodies.

+Quote Post
sumac
post 14th Jan 2007, 03:55pm
Post #3

Super Lord Provost
Member No.: 3,359
I come from a newspaper family.