> Remember ' The Menage' ?, Merged Topic
post 22nd Apr 2011, 11:16am

QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 22nd Apr 2011, 08:17am) *
A more accurate translation would be "household".

I recall, with glee, the shorter version tongue.gif
Ah, such fond memories. biggrin.gif

post 22nd Apr 2011, 11:36am

Member No.: 9,809
QUOTE (lizeeloo @ 1st Aug 2004, 05:51pm) *
Yes, I remember these well.
On leaving school I started working in the the "Counting House" of Dallas's in the Cowcaddens ( is it still there) and part of my job was to write up the menage form and pay out to the customer when her turn came.
Also had to mark off sales on Caledonia and Provident checks (cheques) in the tube room when the bullet came hurtling down the tubes from each department for change.
Sure are changed days what with credit and debit cards.

lizeeloo biggrin.gif

Sadly Dallas is long gone but I remember my Mum taking use there with her Dallas line, especial for school uniforms. She always bought me a navy blue trench coat which I hated at the time but when I see school kids with them on now, they look so smart. I loved watching those bullets being sent through the tubes. laugh.gif laugh.gif Mary

post 22nd Apr 2011, 11:39am

Member No.: 9,809
I bought my parents a lovely picture of "Dallas' Corner". What a reaction its got. I left them arguing about who stayed up which close and who drank in which pub, hilarious to listen to. laugh.gif laugh.gif Mary

post 22nd Apr 2011, 01:47pm

Member No.: 8,349
My Mum used to run them for Tearleys (SPEL) the curtain shop cos we always were getting new curtains and things. Over here a lot of the poorer black people run them but for money. It is like Christmas for them when it is their turn.there is a special name for it but can't think of it right now

Chrissie
post 22nd Apr 2011, 08:50pm

Member No.: 8,556
I loved menages. Used to be in a lot of them. That's how I paid for my shoes in Gordons. Believe it or not they have them here in New York. They call them SuSus. smile.gif

post 23rd Apr 2011, 12:41am

For those purporting to be familiar with all languages, generally proficient in none, the translation from "family" to "house hold" is purely semantic and hardly syntactical. It would appear that those indulging in pedantic and supercilious appraisals of the proficiency, or other wise, of the language acumen of others, would be well advised to remove their digit from the google translation button, or from that refuge of the autodidact, "wikkipaedia", and attempt to obtain a meaningful education at a recognized institute.

post 23rd Apr 2011, 12:42am

QUOTE (beth @ 22nd Apr 2011, 11:56pm) *
My Mum used to run them for Tearleys (SPEL) the curtain shop cos we always were getting new curtains and things. Over here a lot of the poorer black people run them but for money. It is like Christmas for them when it is their turn.there is a special name for it but can't think of it right now

I seem to mind o' it being a CO-OP thing, any ideas on it????

post 23rd Apr 2011, 01:37am

QUOTE (Dunvegan @ 23rd Apr 2011, 12:50am) *
For those purporting to be familiar with all languages, generally proficient in none, the translation from "family" to "house hold" is purely semantic and hardly syntactical. It would appear that those indulging in pedantic and supercilious appraisals of the proficiency, or other wise, of the language acumen of others, would be well advised to remove their digit from the google translation button, or from that refuge of the autodidact, "wikkipaedia", and attempt to obtain a meaningful education at a recognized institute.

Can you say that in English please. laugh.gif

post 23rd Apr 2011, 08:39am

QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 23rd Apr 2011, 03:46am) *
Can you say that in English please. laugh.gif

Well, be fair Tomi - he did manage to get the spelling right for a change. laugh.gif

Besides , ah'm no auld enough yet fur an institute. ( ah think) . See some folk, ye jist cannae help them ! rolleyes.gif

BTW , otherwise is aw wan word !

post 23rd Apr 2011, 09:35am

QUOTE (bilbo.s @ 23rd Apr 2011, 08:48am) *
BTW , otherwise is aw wan word !

Unless you're talkin' aboot Casper - an' the other wise men; too. tongue.gif laugh.gif

post 23rd Apr 2011, 09:40am

Pedantic pedantic ...is there a life gone missing here????
or has it soured in old age, or is it just good old schadenfreude?

post 23rd Apr 2011, 10:17am

QUOTE (Dunvegan @ 23rd Apr 2011, 11:49am) *
Pedantic pedantic ...is there a life gone missing here????
or has it soured in old age, or is it just good old schadenfreude?

Could be. rolleyes.gif

post 23rd Apr 2011, 10:59am

QUOTE (Dunvegan @ 23rd Apr 2011, 01:50am) *

Ooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!! Dunvegans been at his Brontosaurus again. smile.gif

post 23rd Apr 2011, 11:05am

QUOTE (Rab @ 23rd Apr 2011, 01:08pm) *
Ooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!! Dunvegans been at his Brontosaurus again. smile.gif

Do they still have them in NSW ? Do they have an Australian SPCA ? unsure.gif

post 25th Apr 2011, 04:24am

Ye and we get to watch Benin laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif bloody dorim as well

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th Jun 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.