|
|
|
15th Feb 2004, 10:31pm
|

Member No.: 897
|
I'm far too shy to tell you that I love you. You're a star far from my plain earth. I gaze and see no man who's above you: To me you are the cynosure of worth. Yet with all your beauty you're a person Like me in need of sympathy and love. Your thoughts of me would not, I dare hope, worsen If I in some way tried your heart to move. There's pleasure, surely, drawn from the reflection That someone, somewhere, worships your sweet face, Thinks you are the summit of perfection, Wants nothing more of life than your embrace. The danger is you'll think it couldn't be; So I suggest you see yourself through me.
There are three things everyone should do every day. Number one is laugh. Number two is think -- spend some time in thought. Number three, you should have your emotions move you to tears. If you laugh, think and cry, that's a heck of a day.
|
|
|
|
|
15th Feb 2004, 10:34pm
|

|
The road ahead is like the road behind. The dreams achieved revise the dreams to come. Mind shapes world, and new-shaped world shapes mind, As what you are steps back from what you've done.
The deeper you resides in its own space, Sheltered like a yolk from wind and tide, Filled with unimaginable grace To wander through the paradise inside.
Ambitious girl! Become what dream you will, And sail across each dark, forbidding sea. Within, the fawn will graze sweet meadows still, Untouched by all the phantoms you will be.
There are three things everyone should do every day. Number one is laugh. Number two is think -- spend some time in thought. Number three, you should have your emotions move you to tears. If you laugh, think and cry, that's a heck of a day.
|
|
|
|
|
15th Feb 2004, 10:44pm
|

|
Here's a classic from Mr Burns:
To A Mouse. Wee sleekit, cow'rin, tim'rous beastie, O, what a panic's in thy breastie! Thou need na start awa sae hasty, Wi bickering brattle! I wad be laith to rin an chase thee, Wi murdering pattle!
I'm truly sorry man's dominion Has broken Nature's social union, An justifies that ill opinion, Which makes thee startle At me, thy poor, earth-born companion. An fellow mortal!
I doubt na, whyles, but thou may thieve: What then? poor beastie, thou maun live! A daimen icker in a thrave 'S a sma request; I'll get a blessin wi the lave, An never miss't!
Thy wee-bit housie, too, in ruin! Its silly wa's the win's are strewin! An naething, now, to big a new ane, O foggage green! An bleak December's win's ensuin. Baith snell an keen!
Thou saw the fields laid bare an waste, An weary winter comin fast. An cozie here, beneath the blast, Thou thought to dwell, Till crash! the cruel coulter past Out thro thy cell.
That wee bit heap o leaves an stibble, Has cost thee monie a weary nibble! Now thou's turn'd out, for a' thy trouble. But house or hald, To thole the winter's sleety dribble, An cranreuch cauld!
But Mousie, thou art no thy lane, In proving foresight may be vain: The best-laid schemes o mice an men Gang aft agley, An lea'e us nought but grief an pain, For promis'd joy!
Still thou art blest, compar'd wi me! The present only toucheth thee: But och! I backward cast my e'e, On prospects drear! An forward, tho I canna see, I guess an fear!
|
|
|
|
|
16th Feb 2004, 05:54pm
|

|
Here's one that will bring a smile to your face (i hope!) - i wrote this down as i was in work "working" I'm a kiddie oan poet I bet ye dinnae know it If ma faimily ever fund oot my butt would connect tae their fit but i enjoy it, i hope ye dae too And as i finish this poem... haud oan i need the loo sorry, i was in a daft mood!!
This post has been edited by ElaineMcFarlane: 19th Feb 2004, 10:30pm
|
|
|
|
|
19th Feb 2004, 10:09pm
|

Member No.: 686
|
Hi Elaine Marg I was given a Bookmark a few years ago by a Patient Its called a Nurses Prayer thought I would share it with you As I care for my Patients Today Be there with me oh Lord I pray Make my words kind it means so much And in my Hands place your Healing Touch Let your Light shine through all that I do So those in need can hear and feel you Joan Chester
|
|
|
|
|
23rd Feb 2004, 11:33am
|

|
And when the bedpan I do remove., please Lord don't make me trip because it may be fu!!! sorry Joan could not resist it ur wi still China's
|
|
|
|
|
  |
|
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.
|