Member No.: 1,484
Aye, as they say Valros, "The boay done guid" It was taken from the book Glasgow pubs Definitely should be on your shelf. As far as I am aware it is still in print, and even second hand, I have never seen it sell for under £6 The boozer was called the Cot. Don't mind it myself, but it was, as you so rightly pointed oot, at 69 Castle Street and 4 Glebe street and closed around 1980 to make way for the motorway.
Member No.: 2,069
Davie, What I've been looking for is a book with photos of the old Garngad and Townhead. I probably would not recognise the places because everything is all changed now. I would like to see photos of the places though. If you ever come across such a book, will you get the title for me please? Thank you.
Thanks for that Davie, I would be interested in the Townhead one too. I didn't see anything in their list about the Garngad but I have sent an e-mail and asked if they could help
Thanks again Davie, I have just spent ages reading through it. Couldn't help smiling when James Friel mentioned the fact that his Italian father in law was known as Joe the barber and indeed he was, he was the first barber to cut my very long hair when I was about to start school!!
I'm hoping to be able to get the books, "The good and the Bad" and the Townhead one. Appreciate your information
Davie,
Got an answer to my e-mail from the book place, they told me to search on Amazon but I can't see it on that site. Will ask my son to have a look in the book shops.
Member No.: 3,590
Davie, that is a smashing photo of the wee glen. Where did you get it? I am currently trying to build up a wee website dedicated to Germiston, trying to pull all the information to one place - I remember that spot, sometime in the 1970s. At that time it was the pub and the bookies. I can't remember if the dairy was there, between the pub and the bookies, or if the dairy was now the bookies?? Can anyone clarify. As I remember that corner, it was much like the brickwork, shown previously, i.e, the surrounding tenements (which I am assuming ran up Forge Street) had been demolished, leaving a 'gable end' by the bookies. Unlike the brickwork, the flats above had been demolished. I remember, as a child, when my granny would go into the bookies, I would play in the backcourt, which can be seen in the photos. I am also curious about the wall on the left. Did this contain Germiston Piggery, or was that further up, where Coll Place Multis are?
Google this - blogger germiston - to read about Glasgow's East end
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.