QUOTE (Negotiate Now @ 26th Sep 2011, 10:10am)
No, the man is an entertainer, no more than that. I am always wary of celebrities being drawn into politics.
Irene.
Yeah, Look at Ronald Reagan.
"Destiny is a good thing to accept when it's going your way. When it isn't, don't call it destiny; call it injustice, treachery, or simple bad luck.” ― Joseph Heller, God Knows
Billy speaking in 1998, prior to the opening of the Scottish Parliament:
"I think they should delay the Scottish Parliament by 10 years and let us all just live in the mood. The feeling of euphoria happens in every country about to go through such a change.
Yeah, it's going to be great. Yeah, we're going to be in charge. Tra- la-la. Then they go and spoil it all by doing it.
I wasn't in favour of it anyway. I was a 'no'. I wouldn't be terribly against independence, but I see that place in Edinburgh as a wee Stormont.
Member No.: 8,207
In his heyday, which was quite some time ago now, Billy Connolly was the funniest guy I had ever seen and heard. I think we should leave it at that. For any side to seek to use him in their campaign reeks of desperation on their behalf and a confirmation that society is indeed dumbing down when we need a past-his-sell-by-date comedian to help us decide how to vote.
QUOTE (buntygal @ 26th Sep 2011, 03:05am)
No not really, much as I love Billy Connolly,I'm not sure he is the voice of Scotland, apart from that great Glasgow accent . . .
Glesga accent? Whitver kinda accent it is, it certainly didnae originate in Glesga, and bears nae relation tae any genuine Scottish accent ah've ever come across. Brigadoon, mebbe? Or mebbe Billy served on the Starship "Enterprise" under Scotty?
As a nationalist ..... I think the GG has put the question around the wrong way .I.E . Billy Connolly is a vote loser ... Not many people like him ....what about his statement about the poor guy ' Bigley ' ......urging the terrorists to chop off his head ..... Billy is a liability ..... Soar Alba
Member No.: 128
the last thing Scotland needs is independance, come to that the last thing the UK needs is for all the member countries to have independance because we'll al loose out
QUOTE (benny @ 26th Sep 2011, 02:43pm)
Glesga accent? Whitver kinda accent it is, it certainly didnae originate in Glesga, and bears nae relation tae any genuine Scottish accent ah've ever come across. Brigadoon, mebbe? Or mebbe Billy served on the Starship "Enterprise" under Scotty?
Brigadoon, eh ? We´ll have to ask Ashfield about that, but I think he´s still in Blackpool .
In my opinion if you dont reside in Scotland full time you have no right to be a politician in this country, in fact you should also be born and bred in Scotland before you are allowed a vote on independence.
Member No.: 8,134
he would do just tickity boo, he would fit in very well with the rest of the lying two face gits,his pommy missis would tell him what to say she is good at that just read his books,his poor upbringing.my god billy yur no poor when your wearing a suit and tie
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.