Hi Guest
> Who Is This?
post 10th May 2009, 09:30pm

Hey Rab, am waitin' tae get tae ma bed, come on noo, hurry up! laugh.gif

post 10th May 2009, 09:33pm

hope your listening Rab the woman is tired laugh.gif

post 10th May 2009, 09:58pm

George Sands .É

post 10th May 2009, 11:34pm

QUOTE (stratson @ 10th May 2009, 09:43pm) *
Is it Robert Lou rolleyes.gif is Stevenson?

Now, whatever made you think of him? Quite correct though. wink.gif
This is him on the right in Samoa not long before he died. I think there was something a bit peculiar about him!! He wrote some great stuff though.

Come on you lot - off to bed now or else Rab will torment you with some other fascinating conundrum!

post 10th May 2009, 11:39pm

choochoo

post 10th May 2009, 11:40pm

QUOTE (stuarty @ 11th May 2009, 12:00am) *
choochoo

Eh?

post 10th May 2009, 11:53pm

post 11th May 2009, 10:36am

QUOTE (Rab @ 11th May 2009, 12:55am) *
Now, whatever made you think of him? Quite correct though. wink.gif
This is him on the right in Samoa not long before he died. I think there was something a bit peculiar about him!! He wrote some great stuff though.

Come on you lot - off to bed now or else Rab will torment you with some other fascinating conundrum!

Rab, is it no any wonder the guy wiz strange, a mean, dressin' him up like a wee lassie, commoan noo! laugh.gif

post 11th May 2009, 11:03am

QUOTE (stratson @ 10th May 2009, 09:43pm) *
Is it Robert Lou rolleyes.gif is Stevenson?

RAB the choochoo was the train he invented laugh.gif oops ROBERT STEPHENSON wright name wrang person ooopsadaisy duhhhhhhh

post 11th May 2009, 11:03am

I believe RLS was much esteemed in Western Samoa so much so that, when he died, locals eagerly carried his beir to the top of a small mountain overlooking his beloved Vailima estate for burial.

In those days Samoa, like many of its South Pacific neighbours, was believed to be an area of extreme freedom !

I've been there twice and it is also the most beautiful country I have ever visited.

Tombro rolleyes.gif

post 11th May 2009, 01:04pm

Here is his grave. Inscribed on it is written his famous self-written epitaph -

''Under the wide and starry sky,
Dig the grave and let me lie.
Glad did I live and gladly die,
And I laid me down with a will.

This be the verse you grave for me:
Here he lies where he longed to be;
Home is the sailor, home from sea,
And the hunter home from the hill.'

post 18th May 2009, 08:08pm

Ok Mr Clooney who is the wee fella ? huh.gif Bet you three shots you willny get it biggrin.gif

post 18th May 2009, 09:01pm

QUOTE (Lennox @ 18th May 2009, 08:29pm) *
Ok Mr Clooney who is the wee fella ? huh.gif Bet you three shots you willny get it biggrin.gif

I think you could be right lassie, but to have a wild guess, how about Douglas Macarthur? That leaves me about three hundred billion guesses!

post 18th May 2009, 09:04pm

Naw Rab it's no McArthur,

post 18th May 2009, 09:20pm

Is it his wee brother Arthur?

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.