QUOTE (taurus @ 5th May 2015, 05:31am)

I have said all this before on another forum and got shot down in flames,but I know for a fact,that while we were living in abject poverty,in my case,a lot of the time my mum wondering where the next meal was coming from,a visit to the pawn always helped,I still say the English,even in their worst of conditions,were better off than us in the East End. I visited my auntie in Manchester,in what eventually was considered such a blight on the horizon ,the houses were all demolished,yet,in her 2 up and 2 down,with front and back door,into their own wee yard and out to a wee lane,,that still made me yearn for something better.They seemed to me,a wee girl at the time,as "well off".My point being,it seemed to be ingrained and taken for granted that the English would have a better standard of living than the poorest areas of Glasgow. We could see it when we emigrated to Australia,the people we met,who were as working class as us,so many of them had houses to sell before leaving,we didn`t come across any in the hostel from Glasgow who did. The government kept the people of Scotland down,in my opinion.
I live in a large 5 room , 3 complete bathroom,3 car garage and basement work shop on the banks of the coral sea.I am a $millionaire and graduated from 2 different Universities in Australia with a triple major in oriental languages and American literature; my mentor in this being a Havard professor who allowed me to complete a 3 year degree course in two years.
I have just returned from 3 week in Asia where I was at the last stop in an executive suite in a 5 star hotel in Hanoi. I have more than I want but still carry the bitterness of the poverty of the back streets of Govan around on my back to this day. In Scotland I had not enough education to lift me out of the slaughter house labourer or the mill hand and packer of maggot ridden fleeces I had become used to. I still had to suffer from "what school did you go to" every job I went to except the ones no body would take. (funny I was never asked that question in England or Australia).
I was in Melbourne for six months when I started training as a Telecom linesman eventually reaching supervisor after about four years. During that time I went to university at night, graduated to teaching, where due to my experience with telecommunications, I was involved in distance and satellite driven teaching. I also had work published by the Australian Broadcasting Corporation to assist with their Chinese language learning courses. I have been mentioned in the AGE newspaper in Australia on account of the Japanese vice consul visiting my class room to see Japanese being taught in Australian schools.
I am not in any way here asking you to gasp at any "Wunderkind" I am merely contrasting what an individual, seen as worthless and going no where but down can achieve, bearing in mind I became a lazy b,.##@tard in latter years and did not go on to finish a masters I started.
So if you hear any idiot extolling the poverty and slums of Glasgow, and how happy they were there, kindly whisper in their ear "Hey whit huv youse been drinkin Jimmy!!!!!
And by the wei A' wus in Sydney Airport yesterday Taurus, just passin throo, but I need to go back again jist fur fun. After three weeks in Asia I need a holiday in a place wi' pavements and road rules.