> Big Brother In Every Glasgow Taxi?, CCTV systems could film passengers
post 19th Aug 2009, 10:24pm

Hello everyone just a question: how would a visitor to Glasgow find a peivate hire ( as in car rolleyes.gif ) instead of going with Glasgow Taxi.

post 19th Aug 2009, 10:25pm

ooops ( private hire )

elso
post 20th Aug 2009, 12:15am

Member No.: 6,459
QUOTE (glasgow lass @ 19th Aug 2009, 11:34pm) *
ooops ( private hire )

Hi GL,ITS ME, THERE ARE LOADS OF PRIVATE CABS ABOUT NOW, ALL YOU DO IS LOOK AROUND YOU (but not where you live ha ha) AND YOU WILL SEE ALL THEIR NUMBERS PLASTERED EVERYWHERE tongue.gif

post 20th Aug 2009, 12:26am

elso thanks for the help, I'll pass it on to my friends. biggrin.gif

post 20th Aug 2009, 12:58am

Loss of freedom, its been happening a while now.

Withoot going in too deep, as ah cannea be ersed anyway. I wid jist go back and live in the outback / desert away frea it all. I much prefer science and tangable subjucts rather than political fiction involving New Labour <spits> and other assorted non entities and red nosed buffons.

I dont have to look too hard to see that, over the last 10 years or so, that many ninja laws and petty rules have been introduced. Not much individually, but collectively it has evolved the UK into a sickening nanny state, a state that did not exist previously.

How do we know that CCTV prevents violent crime? We don't. A quick trawl around the virtual, or is that real world, should readily reveal plenty of footage that would indicate that in many instances CCTV has little or no effect.

A quick example, take the instance of booze fuelled violence. It would appear that some of the more rowdy elements just love to ham up for the benefit of the cameras. So could it not be argued, that in that instance, CCTV may actually incite anti socail behavior.

I dont particularly care for CCTV, they dont give me a sense of security. In many places, I feel that they are ugly and invasive. They are collecting information, they are not just there for "security". We are being watched, scutinized. Slowly and surely, they are drawing thier plans against us *grins!*

I wid mention, in passing, that not many of us are privy to what this scheming shower of self serving wastrels have planned for us. It is highly likely that they dont even have a clue themselves as to wit the hell is going on. Nothing new there.

Oanwi, ah wid rather get on me treader and get a good sweat up than sit in a taxi. Ah hope they are non smoking and carbon friendly these days. If they got cameras in there to catch smokers, thats fine. Got got get the taxes <revenue> in somehow. Pardon the pun. rolleyes.gif

An they ain't putting a CCTV oan ma bike! Cause I know where I wid park ma bike, an sideyways at that anawe.

tongue.gif

Editted by Rabbie.

Spelling 2/10

Report for retraining!

post 20th Aug 2009, 08:28am

QUOTE (glasgow lass @ 19th Aug 2009, 11:33pm) *
Hello everyone just a question: how would a visitor to Glasgow find a peivate hire ( as in car rolleyes.gif ) instead of going with Glasgow Taxi.

Glasgow Lass, as well as what Elso has said (and they are plastered around) most areas have their own local firms. I have found that most restaurants and pubs will phone their local firm for free (or give you the number) and virtually all supermarkets have a freephone in the store linked to a local company . I try and book in advance and, as most private cars have computerised links, I have never been let down yet (and before you ask, no I don't have any connection to taxi firms so no commission to me biggrin.gif )

Light travels faster than sound which is why some people appear bright until they speak

Patter Merchant
post 20th Aug 2009, 10:13am

Member No.: 6,419
QUOTE (dugald @ 18th Aug 2009, 10:34pm) *
Patter Merchant, I know little if anything about heavy-handed local councilors in Glasgow, but I find it hard to believe they snoop on people going about their daily business. (One might wonder how many people, aside from taxi drivers, go about their daily business in taxis). No, I can't imagine normal people being snooped upon by councilors. I think Mr. Harvie, with the use of his heavy-handed rhetoric quoted above, is bent on whipping up a wee bit of a political storm. Why, I have no idea. The only Glasgow councilor I ever knew was Peter Meldrum, and I don't think he was ever into "snooping". Yes, okay, maybe they've changed, but not that much...

Duglad, I'm afraid things have changed quite considerably since the times that city councillors pro-actively went out into the community and tried to make things better -- on the ground -- for ordinary people. Maybe you should try to get a hold of the following article:

Sunday Herald, 15th June 2008

Spy society; In 2002 Scottish councils were given the power to secretly film and bug citizens in the fight against terrorism. Now a watchdog claims local authorities are abusing the powers to target thousands of ordinary people. By Investigations Editor Neil Mackay

As for putting cameras everywhere, that's just the easy option from politicians who invariably see the easy option as the only option. The difficult thing to do would be to create a city where citizens are educated, encouraged and rewarded for participating in creating friendly, productive communities. That can never of course happen in Glasgow because our politicians seem intent on creating a city of class division, where a large underclass are treated like mindless scum while a small minority profit well from the suffering and deprivation of that underclass. This is a city of huge division -- of an increasing gulf between the rich and the poor -- and no amount of CCTV cameras is going to hide that fact forever.

post 20th Aug 2009, 11:08am

Hi ashfield great, if they meet you there could be a wee bung in it fer'yi. laugh.gif

post 20th Aug 2009, 01:38pm

QUOTE (glasgow lass @ 20th Aug 2009, 12:17pm) *
Hi ashfield great, if they meet you there could be a wee bung in it fer'yi. laugh.gif

GL thanks, it's just what I need to stop the leak laugh.gif

Light travels faster than sound which is why some people appear bright until they speak

dugald
post 20th Aug 2009, 07:13pm

Member No.: 2,553
"Loss of freedom, its been happening a while now."

Aye, ah know Rabbie, bit that's whit ye told me last time too! Anyway, this scheming shower of self serving wastrels (ah like that!) seems to be running Glasgow from most of the comments that have appeared on this thread. Oh, 'n before ah forget, ahm wi' ye aboot the treadmill thingie, ah wid rather get on ma treader and get a good sweat up than sit in a taxi too.

dugald
post 20th Aug 2009, 07:46pm

Member No.: 2,553
Sunday Herald, 15th June 2008

Spy society; In 2002 Scottish councils were given the power to secretly film and bug citizens in the fight against terrorism. Now a watchdog claims local authorities are abusing the powers to target thousands of ordinary people. By Investigations Editor Neil Mackay

Patter Merchant, I think most of the powers who constitute the western industrialised nations have given themselves this power to secretly film and bug citizens in their fight against terrorism. It wouldn't be worth my while to get this article about the "Spy society" as i don't think it would enlighten me about anything I haven't already heard. Comments such as the one you posted about the "Spy society" are not uncommon in North America. I doubt if this authority is abused over here, but this is purely guess work. Ordinary people have nothing to fear and I fail to see what any city council would hope to find in investigating countless items of personal information.

One cannot take exception to the creation of a city where citizens are educated, encouraged and rewarded for participating in creating friendly, productive communities. One would hope this is already one of the chief endeavours of any industrialised city, and if Glasgow lacks this spirit then I have yet to see evidence that it does. Glasgow has its social problems, but so do most densely populated cities. Most people in most cities in industrialised countries are well-behaved, educated, and do make some contribution towards creating friendly, productive communities... I'd guess too, they feel rewarded in some manner or form. I do feel that the installation of cameras in taxi cabs in Glasgow, is a further step towards improving this friendly productive community you speak of.

post 21st Aug 2009, 08:03pm

Member No.: 2,268
QUOTE (glasgow lass @ 19th Aug 2009, 11:33pm) *

Can you tell the difference between a GLASGOW TAXI private hire or my car ?

Think about it GLASGOW TAXI DRIVERS are all police checked before granted a TAXI badge not all drivers of vehicles displaying private hire stickers are even actual private hire drivers.

GLASGOW TAXI DRIVERS must sit topographical test to get badge privates dont GLASGOW TAXI DRIVERS must take a customer care course privates dont GLASGOW TAXI DRIVERS dont always need a sat-nav most privates do.

You have been out for the night maybe spent quite a bit on alcohol but your worried about the cost of fare home!!!!!

IF you have read and understood the differences between GLASGOW TAXI DRIVERS and private hires the choice of who is taking you home is easy A GLASGOW TAXI DRIVER.

Cameras in taxis are for both drivers and passenger's benefit and images are erased within a certain time .

Have you ever used your mobile to film when in a taxi? Did the driver complain?

It may seem like BIG BROTHER but everywhere we go there are cameras do we even notice them?

When a crime is committed a lot of the times culprits are caught because of CCTV.

If you have nothing to hide from the cameras just smile biggrin.gif

post 21st Aug 2009, 08:55pm

Ah'll take all of your great points into consideration>>>>>
and then pass them along haha laugh.gif laugh.gif

post 22nd Aug 2009, 12:38pm

QUOTE (818818 @ 21st Aug 2009, 09:12pm) *
Can you tell the difference between a GLASGOW TAXI private hire or my car ?

Aye 818818, the answer is private hires will cross the Glasgow boundary line and a GLASGOW TAXI won't.

post 24th Aug 2009, 07:09am

Member No.: 2,268
QUOTE (ashfield @ 22nd Aug 2009, 01:47pm) *
Aye 818818, the answer is private hires will cross the Glasgow boundary line and a GLASGOW TAXI won't.

If you inform GLASGOW TAXI DRIVER you are going outwith the city boundary you are informed of the surcharge which is 1/3 rd of the end meter price the decision is then yours to carry on with the journey or not if you phone GLASGOW TAXIS there is a boundary charge after say 8 miles over boundary. If say Dundee a quote is given your choice to travel or not.

But I repeat a GLASGOW TAXI DRIVER is licenced by the council not all saloon car drivers driving private hire cars SAFETY 1ST.

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.