Think I would have a nice wee hoose say 4 bedrooms in probably Auchanairn Bishopbriggs area so a cin have ma mammy move in beside me & I could take care of her.I actualy truly feel thats where I would be & what I would want to be doing.
Member No.: 167
Hi Alex, born in Crichton St, moved to Balornock at 13 later got married and moved back to Adamswell St. then moved to Sauchie near Stirling, if we had not come to Canada think we would probably have still been living in the Stirling area??
Hi Alex, absolutely no idea
I DO know I wouldnae have met Geoff or had our two precious boys {they're in bed noo so they're precious }
Sometimes I wonder, especially when I'm in my own Family company from home and never feel any sense of explanation when retelling stories etc of what's been in my life since leaving.....they jist get it. That's not always the case when you're in a similar but not the same Culture....what exactly do ye mean....cripes if ahv heard that wance ahv heard it a thoosand times!
I'd probably have travelled more by now for sure, Canada's brilliant for having the four Seasons so you don't have the same Oh where will we go for the sun in summer kind of thing.
I think I made the right decision though coming here, albeit it was jist for a year, twenty year ago.
Member No.: 1,800
Don't really know where I would be or what I would be doing but I do know one thing....I have enjoyed life as it is and really don't need to say "what if".
Member No.: 2,890
Intersting replies! The reason I put this here is my cousin from Beeton, Ontario, was over last year staying with Allison and I in Springburn. We took her and her Canadian hubby around all the places she used to know. She left Maryhill when she was 10 and has spent over 40 yrs in Canada. She used to wonder where she would have been if she had stayed here and what her life would have been like. Alex
If I hadn't gone to the Locarno, I wouldn't have met my lovely husband. If we hadn't moved down to the south of England, our kids would never have met their lovely spouses and I wouldn't have my beautiful wee granddaughter with another grandchild on the way. Even better if my cousin hadn't moved to London and met & married a Spaniard then settled in Surrey, my son wouldn't have met my cousin's husband's gorgeous Spanish niece, who is now his wife and my daughter-in-law! Who knows what route our life would have followed if we had stayed in Glasgow. We have worked hard and played hard and I'm happy with life although, now that I'm a grandmother, I do look back and wish that I had lived nearer to my mum, it must have been terrible for her being so far from her grandchildren.
BOOKS..What's For Ye, Won't Go By Ye/Chasin' that Carrot/Mammograms Save Lives/Time Makes Changes....TV DRAMA..Broken Promises ...website www.avrilsaunders.co.uk
Who knows!!! all I can say this is the bottom line , I would be living on a pension and trying to exist , exactly like I am now hahaha Mind you I have had a wonderful ride to get to where I am at now ,made it lost it ,made it lost it , made it lost it , too late to recover this time . I really don't think I would have had the opportunities I have had if I had remained in Glasgow . You have to know what it was like for a guy with Irish name ,and Catholic schooling way back then in Glasgow. Thank god it is not the case now ( or is it? ).
Member No.: 3,922
If i had not taken the King's Shilling and served her Majesty in many foreign lands,i probably would have become a "wee nerd" as it is i would not have spent all these years being married to an Angel from Heaven,with wonderful kids and grandkids,I still yearn for the Burns and Braes of my Homeland. Although i am a SCOT and ferocious in my patriotism for my country and kin,I could not return without my tremendous wife and family.
My advice and/or opinions: are frequently wrong and may be hazardous to health and/or property; are my own, and in no way represent my employer, friends or family; and may be illegal and/or immoral in some countries!
QUOTE (Isobel @ 22nd Mar 2007, 08:34 PM)
As my mom used to say "whats for you wont go by you "I am where the good lord meant me to be ,and I am very happy to be here.Not one regret.
Ha! Ha! Well said Isobel!!!! As you probably know by now I have very good reason to love that wee phrase!
BOOKS..What's For Ye, Won't Go By Ye/Chasin' that Carrot/Mammograms Save Lives/Time Makes Changes....TV DRAMA..Broken Promises ...website www.avrilsaunders.co.uk
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.