Glasgow Guide Home

Whats On Glasgow Guide
  Glasgow What's On

Glasgow Reviews

Glasgow Gallery

Glasgow Links
Discuss | Guestbook | Postcard | News | Weather | Feedback | Search | About | What's New
Glasgow Guide Discussion Boards

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )                >> View Today's Topics <<

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> J. & S. Sternstein Photographers Glasgow, Is it still there?
Oor Wullie
post 27th Oct 2006, 04:23am
Post #1

City Key Holder
Member No.: 3,469
Could anybody living in the Glasgow Area look up the Yellow Pages and see if there is a listing for a photographic studio called " J.& S. . Sternstein" ?

I can't find one on the net.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
GG
post 27th Oct 2006, 08:20am
Post #2

Administrator
Group Icon
Member No.: 1
Hi Oor Wullie,

I found the following at another website and, given this information, and the fact that a Sternstein is not listed in the Glasgow directories as a photographer, I think that establishment is no longer active.

Mr Sternstein's Photos...

In June 2001, we had a letter from Allen Sternstein, whose father photographed and processed all the class photos from the 1940s to the 1970s, produced by the "J. & S. Sternstein" company in Glasgow. The company was founded by his great-grandfather, Jachiel Sternstein, and his grandfather Sigmund, from Hamburg.

Allen had found our web site while searching the Internet for references to the name "Sternstein". He'd looked at our photo from Stuart Tod in 1969, but we also have Jimmy Brown's photo from 20 years earlier, showing the Sternstein name, and most other class photos we've had from Former Pupils were taken by the company.

"Your students and staff may be interested to know that the photo would have sold for two shillings and six pence (12.5p) in 1969 and was manufactured using the same production and finishing methods that my grandfather used in the early 20th Century.