ah the memories of the Roxy on the Maryhill Rd, one of us would pay and the others would sneek in the back door there was no gate then we would go down the lane and get in ,we would stop at Birrells tae get oor sweeties, then if we had enough we would go to the chip shop by Mc Falanes tae get chips tae eat on the way hame,thanks Martin
Member No.: 7
Wow Mags U sure you wanna tell us this stuff naughty..........am having lunch tomorrow opposite the old Ascot at Anniesland I will take a pic and tell u what has happened to it since then.
Member No.: 48
living in the south side of Glasgow, there were plenty cinemas, in Shawlands there was the Waverley which I frequented on a Saturday to the "Minors" which was 6d to get in. There were 2 other cinemas in Shawlands too, the names escape me but they were on Kilmarnock Road, one later became the Cameo ballroom, not sure if the other one was the Elephant, maybe someone could put me right on that fact.
Member No.: 59
An whit aboot the State on Shettleston Road and the (in)famous Greens Playhouse? Jeez, that's gaun back!
We often had Canadians on leave staying with us during the war and they all headed to Green Playhouse Dance Hall - ah begged and pleaded to be taken but was too young.
Member No.: 18
Shettleston seemed to have been well served by picture halls. There was the State, of course, at the far end of Shettleston Road, the Odeon in Amulree Street, the Premier on Shettleston Road (now the Barn Social Club) and the Palaceum in Edrom Street. Not too far away there was Green's on Wellshot Road, but that was almost Tollcross, and the Parkhead picture halls which included the Black Cat on Springfield Road and the wonderfully alliterative Picture Palace Parkhead (the three Ps!).
I saw my first film in the Premier (did we pronounce it the "Prime Ear"?) and I took my brother to see his first film in the Palaceum. He was three and I was nine and the film was "Scaramouche".
The Palaceum burned down on a Saturday night after a screening of Jack and the Beanstalk with Bud Abbot and Lou Costello. That was probably around 1953 or 1954.
The amazing thing is that these cinemas were full much of the time and there was almost always a queue on a friday and Saturday.
Trams and cinemas have certainly jogged my memory this evening and while thanks go to GG for starting these threads I think the memory has also been aided by a couple of good measures of Bruichladich!
Regards,
Never give a sword to a man who cannot dance - African Proverb
Member No.: 53
Jannymac, the other picture house on Kilmarnock Road was the Embassy. The Elephant was owned by the Glasgow eccentric A. E. Pickard. If you lived on the south side the following cinema names will be familiar: The Govanhill, Majestic, Calder, Hampden, Crosshill and New Cinerama. You will also remember this café off Kilmarnock Road.
Aw George Leons cafe ,whit memories it does conjure up.You are right the two,picture hooses in Klmarnock Rd were the Embassy and the Elephant,Gosh many a bag a crisps I ate in those two.Aye and I had my first " real" kiss in the Elephant,the older woman syndrome ,She was 13 and I was 12,god I am shaking at the memory.Lol
The Ascot at Anniesland today-luxury apartments costing up to £250,000.It is Grade 2 listed building-Art Deco style so the front had to be retained-I think its really ugly.Other picture halls The Tivoli and Rosevale in PartickThe Grosvenor and Salon on Byres Rd,Rio at Canniesburn Toll and two flea pits one in Whiteinch and one near Partick Cross but I can't remember their names.Oh yes the Vogue at Knightswood now B&Q.
Melody I'll accept the brownie points -do you really like that building-the orange is horrible-I cannot believe anyone would pay all that money to live there.Main road in front of you and a railway station right next door and some gasometers out the back-oh yeh and the Bru is right beside you and a couple of ok chippies.
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.