as I recall ,Galbraiths took the corner of Kay st ,next door to Galbraiths was a fishmonger and later in 70s changed to a chippy. there was woolworths too the left of Culeys and maceys as if you were looking across the road whilst stood at galbraiths as well as a butcher shop Munros facing the park the fruiterer was at the other side of woolies next to the city Bakeries .
I remember the bus stop to get a 45 was at front of Galbraithes and across next to curleys was Maceys was a hoeyes and a hoserie shop side by side as I always got confused as they were simularly named.Heading up & turning right towards Sellyns clothes shop was where there was a McKays and Pars bakery moved up further in later 70s but originally was beside the 45 busstop as I ate many a pineapple bun waiting furr the bus haha.
Opposite there & heading up the Balgrayhill was a pub after the record shop past Munros & woolies, when one took a right and diagonly crossed the road one met up with a bus stop outside that Italian Cafe/icecream parlour ? Lidos? not sure but a mind being in it.I also remember waiting many times for a bus with mum outside that cafe .
walking past that was a bookmakers and I remember the pawn shop and then the grain store,further along was a set of lights where nearby to it was a school of dancing to learn ballet and tap,then a fishmongers when one crossed the traffic lights to other side there was that pub the boundary Bar taking up the corner......then there were 2 hard ware shops owned by same family but seperated by 1 or 2 shops in between they had simular names also ??? think it was camerons or something & oddly there was a william Donnellys funeral parlour.
As one walked along that side towards springburn park there was a shop that was named Mcqueens where I got my teachers roll and my sweets for playtime it also sold papers milk etc. Mcfarlanes was another wee shop thereabouts too Facing that shop was an opticians next to grain store & pawn shop, called Forbes as I attended it for my spectacles..
There was another Bookies on that same side of Shevalanes side too the bookies were mainly williamhills am thinking maybe wrong? then ye end up at the corner to cross over too the park where there was a hairdressers shop next to park and Ross' carpet shop was on opposite corner of Galbraiths facing Munros Butcher (which was featured in an episode of Taggart By the way).thinking back now and ..I remember the 2 hardware shops further back and near the funeral place were bright yellow in colour they stood out a mile and the grain store facing it was Black and a wee guide dog ootside it.
way doon at McNees chemist a mind of greenlees and Greenhaughs shoe shops one on either side as well as a pub called Bauldybaines too right as ye came out of mcnees and the coop faced that pub then further up from coop was a funeral home which is still there as I went to it 18mths ago to attend my brothers funeral it was Donnellys,there was another William Donnellys funeral parlour beside Mcqueens and hardware shop and there was a chippy next to shevalanes pub all this was in the 70s when I atended elmvale school and did awe mammys shopping furr her oh aye Maceys was next door tae curleys if memory serves me well.Hope ave helped somewhere amidst awe that