Member No.: 3,984
(Continued from 'Will Fyffe' topic)
Dear GG,
My apologies for getting a wee bit irate, but some folk drive you round the bend. Sikorski states quite clearly the simple pronunciation rules in post 3. If people choose to ignore them, that’s their problem – go and post elsewhere. There’s plenty of interesting topics elsewhere in the forum.
The language is used to write in the various dialects of the British language. Notice, I say ‘British’ and not ‘English’. There’s no such language as English – it’s just another dialect of the British language. DNA testing and cultural analysis have shown that British has been spoken here since the end of the last ice age (12,000 years ago) when Northern Europeans started populating these islands.
Now ‘English history’ claims that the English started coming to Britain about 1400 years ago (600AD, just after the Romans left) and they brought the English language with them – this has now been shown to be absolute crap. The language was here long before the English came. (DNA testing has proved useful in solving age old crimes; now it’s proving useful in weeding out historical liars). The anglo-saxons, far from being some great culture, were in fact just a bunch of Danish pirates. You’ve got to laugh at the BNP complaining about the immigrants, when the anglos-saxons were themselves the first immigrants to Britain.
The following New York Times article states the facts quite succinctly :
Glaswegian, far from being ‘slang’ English, is probably the oldest and purest British dialect spoken in these islands. Glaswegians should be proud of the age-old dialect. All we need is some consistent way to write it down on paper.
Member No.: 2,656
Kentzo, your original post concluded " Ah wid reelae liyk tae noe whit Glezga foek thingk o Will. "
Well, fine, but if you want opinions, why pose the question in phonetics with which very few seem to be familiar ? As I said, the purpose of writing is to commnicate and you have evidently failed to do so. What did you get in response to your question ? One fact - Fyffe is buried in the Western Necropolis.
The medium here is not the message - it obscures it.
Kentzo, it seems that some people just don't get it, which is a shame since the same people probably loved Stanley Baxter's Parliamo Glasgow stuff. I know I did. Isn't it amazing that people who try to keep say for instance the Doric language of Aberdeenshire alive are lauded yet us Glaswegians seem to be castigated for trying to do the same? Seems pretty bizarre to me. All the best mate, or should that be awwrabestmate! You keep doing what you are doing and hell mend the rest, or maybe they should just lighten up.
Had a guy in the other week from Aberdeen , he is a carpenter and I was aking him if he used Doric much .Well , wrong thing to say , he assumed I understood it and proceeded to launch into the dialect.Oh dear I was glad when he left let me tell you.
Heather, I don’t want you to think that your comments aren’t appreciated, because they are – very much so. I can see how you would find the Glezga dialect difficult and confusing, especially when you are having difficulty coping with the grammar and punctuation of the English dialect. So it’s probably best if you concentrate on English for the moment and, then when you’ve mastered that dialect , you could move onto other dialects. But remember you really should read the rules for the other dialects before you comment on them, otherwise your comments might make you look foolish, “which I’m sure you’re not”, he said lying through his teeth. As David Brent says, “every time you open your mouth, you have this wonderful ability to continually confirm what I think”.
Kentzo, I have no problems with grammar or punctuation.
Look to your own grammar and puntuation before you criticise those who know more about it than yourself.
It is obvious from your badly structured Posts, you don't know the difference between a 'sentence' and a 'paragraph'.
As for the Glesga dialect/slang, I born and bred in Glasgow and still living here.
You have just confirmed that you really do live in a wee world of your own and not worth the time it takes to reply to you. You really do have a highly inflated opinion of your own importance.
Byeeeeeeeeeeeeee
Member No.: 2,656
This is a sterile discussion anyway. There is no such thing as a "Glasgow" dialect or accent. People from Kelvinside or Bearsden speak very differently to those from Govan or Maryhill and who's to say that one or other is the more authentic ?
aw hawd that punishment yoo fer a wee minit , since when did Maryhill'yins speak different fae others roon'aboot. the people fae Bearsden jist spoke posh ,,, when they felt like it .Usually they spoke as I did,,, not so posh lol. And the wans fae Kelvinside were my wee aunty lived spoke jist like me,,, fae Maryhill.
Well I'll hev you know , eh am from Cethcert and apparently eh em a snob cause it was once a posh place to live. Weel onybuddy that kens me , kens better
A new Will Fyffe video has just surfaced on Youtube. It shows footage of Will preparing to go on stage and then excellent earlier footage of Will performing “I’m 94 Today”. Where do these clips come from? Some people must have them stashed in their attic or some big movie corporations have got them stored in their vaults. I’m still waiting for footage to surface of Will singing “I Belong To Glasgow”. It must be out there somewhere. If you want to see the video, it’s on spekkyguy’s channel at :
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.