Hi Guest
> Gairbraid Avenue, Sinclair Family 145
JimL
post 14th Jan 2010, 03:14pm

Member No.: 7,979
I wonder if anyone remembers my granny's family, the Sinclairs?
They lived at 145 Gairbraid Avenue, top floor left. They moved up there from the Quarry in Partick when the old tenements were demolished, probably around 1938. My granny was Maggie Sinclair, she died at 145 in 1960. She was married twice, my grandfather died in WWI and she married Jimmy Sinclair in 1922. The had 4 weans, Wullie, Rose, Bobby and James. James is the only one left, he is about 76 and lives in Hardgate. Him and Bobby looked like George Cole.

Bobby never married and left Gairbraid a couple of years after his mother died. He had a daughter by a woman who lived, I think, in Balfour St, I forget her name, she had 3 weans to 3 different men. Bobby drank in the Kelvin Dock and also in a club about Burnbank Terrace somewhere - RAF Club? I have a picture of him with the snooker team he played for, it was taken in the Isle of Man, all Maryhill men in it I think.

My aunty Rose married Johnny Cusick, they were the nicest couple. Johnny worked in the Gas Works at Dawsholm, he had a few brothers, one of them (Phil I think) had only the wan leg and he could play fitba' with the best of them, hitting the ba with his crutch. The Cusicks were all good singers, and 2 of Johnny's aunties had the stall at the back of the Chapel.

I have a great picture of my granny at a boarding house in Blackpool, taken about 1956 I think. She is sitting right in front with a striped cardigan and black skirt and wee bowlly legs and her slippers on. She has her arm around a woman all in black, I think she was her neighbour. The name Meechan rings a bell. My uncle James is in the back row, 2nd from the right with his bowtie on and his arm around a young woman. I think all these folk were from Maryhill.
I will add pictures if possible, perhaps in 2 lots.
Bobby Sinclair is in front with the pullover on.

JimL
post 14th Jan 2010, 03:15pm

Here is the Blackpool picture.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Sinclair001.pdf ( 38.05K )

post 14th Jan 2010, 03:25pm

welcome to the board Jim.
I remember a Mrs Meechan who was a schoolteacher I think. Might be way off the mark.

JimL
post 14th Jan 2010, 03:30pm

Thanks Davy,
I don't think she would have been a schoolteacher. I have an idea she may have been a sister-in-law to my granny, I'm sure the Sinclairs had a cousin called Rose Meechan, but it was so long ago now.
Here is the snooker picture again, in a larger version.

post 14th Jan 2010, 03:32pm

great blackpool pic Jim - keep up the posts!

post 17th Jan 2010, 07:24pm

in your photo is Aggie Watson ,Mrs McCallum ,Mrs Carneythey all lived near me and I was pals with the McCallum girls ,and George Ward is in it to ,George lived away at the end of Garbraid Ave ,
I hav the same photo Aggies son sent it to me

ceader bhoy
post 17th Jan 2010, 07:57pm

Member No.: 6,576
QUOTE (JimL @ 14th Jan 2010, 03:20pm) *
Thanks Davy,
I don't think she would have been a schoolteacher. I have an idea she may have been a sister-in-law to my granny, I'm sure the Sinclairs had a cousin called Rose Meechan, but it was so long ago now.
Here is the snooker picture again, in a larger version.

davy/ frankie mcdougal football player on the left did you know him,cheers cb.

**JimL**
post 18th Jan 2010, 01:38am

Thanks Wee Mags, you've jogged ma memory, it wis Mrs Ward who wis ma granny's pal.

DavieBoy
post 18th Jan 2010, 07:33pm

Member No.: 5,273
She has her arm around a woman all in black, I think she was her neighbour.

The wee woman in black is my great gran, I only knew her as "Maw Kane", but I can tell you that her name was Mary Kane and that she lived in Guthrie St. I printed a copy of your photo (hope you don't mind unsure.gif ) and passed it to my da, who remembers that both of them were the best of friends.

post 18th Jan 2010, 07:44pm

QUOTE (DavieBoy @ 18th Jan 2010, 08:23pm) *
The wee woman in black is my great gran, I only knew her as "Maw Kane",

Are you related to Kaneman, ? his granny lived up that way , great photo, even if I don't know anyof the faces biggrin.gif

QUOTE (DavieBoy @ 18th Jan 2010, 08:23pm) *
The wee woman in black is my great gran, I only knew her as "Maw Kane",

Are you related to Kaneman, ? his granny lived up that way , great photo, even if I don't know anyof the faces biggrin.gif

DavieBoy
post 18th Jan 2010, 08:00pm

Member No.: 5,273
Is that a stutter you've got there lennox huh.gif

In answer tae your question, a couldnae tell you if I'm related to Kaneman or no, cause a don't know who he is, but a wid doubt it, ave no heard ma da speak of any relatives that are still in the Maryhill area.

PatriciaP
post 28th Jan 2010, 03:57am

Member No.: 5,880
QUOTE (JimL @ 14th Jan 2010, 10:04am) *
They lived at 145 Gairbraid Avenue, top floor left. They moved up there from the Quarry in Partick when the old tenements were demolished, probably around 1938. My granny was Maggie Sinclair, she died at 145 in 1960. She was married twice, my grandfather died in WWI and she married Jimmy Sinclair in 1922. The had 4 weans, Wullie, Rose, Bobby and James. James is the only one left, he is about 76 and lives in Hardgate. Him and Bobby looked like George Cole.

Bobby never married and left Gairbraid a couple of years after his mother died. He had a daughter by a woman who lived, I think, in Balfour St, I forget her name, she had 3 weans to 3 different men. Bobby drank in the Kelvin Dock and also in a club about Burnbank Terrace somewhere - RAF Club? I have a picture of him with the snooker team he played for, it was taken in the Isle of Man, all Maryhill men in it I think.

My aunty Rose married Johnny Cusick, they were the nicest couple. Johnny worked in the Gas Works at Dawsholm, he had a few brothers, one of them (Phil I think) had only the wan leg and he could play fitba' with the best of them, hitting the ba with his crutch. The Cusicks were all good singers, and 2 of Johnny's aunties had the stall at the back of the Chapel.

I have a great picture of my granny at a boarding house in Blackpool, taken about 1956 I think. She is sitting right in front with a striped cardigan and black skirt and wee bowlly legs and her slippers on. She has her arm around a woman all in black, I think she was her neighbour. The name Meechan rings a bell. My uncle James is in the back row, 2nd from the right with his bowtie on and his arm around a young woman. I think all these folk were from Maryhill.

PatriciaP
post 28th Jan 2010, 04:01am

Member No.: 5,880
QUOTE (JimL @ 14th Jan 2010, 10:04am) *

I lived at 145 Gairbraid Avenue till November 1961 with my Granny McKay. She knew your Gran Sinclair.

JimL
post 28th Jan 2010, 10:52pm

QUOTE (PatriciaP @ 28th Jan 2010, 03:51am) *
I lived at 145 Gairbraid Avenue till November 1961 with my Granny McKay. She knew your Gran Sinclair.

Hi Patricia, my grannie died on Good Friday 1960, so you must have lived there at that time.
All "us weans" had to go up to the Immaculate Conception Chapel in the tramcar while the grown-ups went in the hired cars. After the meal everyone adjourned to the Lochburn pub and all the cousins (about 10 of us) had to stand about all night waiting on them. No even a packet o' crisps was handed oot! somebody should've sent for the Cruelty Man sad.gif

post 28th Jan 2010, 11:09pm

Isn't that awful JimL and what a heart break, I have a friend who was not allowed into the cemetery to see her granny buirid,she had to stand at the cemetery gates, she was ten yrs old and still hurts today over it all.

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.