If you were in Glasgow today is there a special place that you would love to visit again? Tranported to a time and place of your choice, jump aboard the time machine, mind and bring yer jumpers it's cauld the day.
ardencraig quad watin on the tablet and candy lollies coolin doon hoddin on ta ma money watin tae buy it the smell was exstatic and a cant remember her name who sold them does anybody else remember her
Member No.: 1,137
we go to ardnamurchan every year, and its breathtaking especially a wee place called acharacal, if i won the lottery i would go there and live permanantly, my heart pines for this wee place, there im all depressed now
Member No.: 15
I would dearly love to be back in Scotland. It will always be "home" but my best memories are of my mother deciding on a Saturday where we would go on the tramcar for our Sunday outing. Or else, we might just go for a long walk out the Lambill Road past the cemeteries and the old coalier's cottages to the road (Blackhill ?) that would take us into Maryhill and the car terminus. The choices were endless.
Member No.: 2,094
Now there's a thing! Where in Glasgow would I like to go. Has to be Glencoe Street in 1955. As for today,'giz a wee mintie tae find a map an A'll tell ye'
Member No.: 206
I'd love to go back to any house I lived in when ma mammy n daddy were living. I had a dream last night that I was back in Easterhouse with my Mum. I was 18, felt great when I woke up, knew something happened then ma dream popped in to mind. Gosh it was soooo real. That was a wee visit wie ma mammy GOD REST HER SOUL I LOVED HER SOOOO MUCH
Member No.: 1,937
It has to be a Thursday night, my granny and me would get the bus into town to meet my uncle , and his pay packet. We would go shopping, ( loved it in the winter as all the shop lights would twinkle in the dark).Then we would make our way to St Enoch , to RS McColl,s , he would taste certain sweets from the pick and mix.To make sure they were good, he,d say winking at me. Then we would take a taxi, to nitshill chippy, fish ,n chips twice ,sausage n chips and 2 big onions for me. The taxi would take us home to Ravenscraig, I felt like a princess and so rich, didnt know till I was older, we were as poor as church mice then. But by god I had the best childhood in the world.
Member No.: 56
For me it would be glesca green at the fair that was oor special treat the carnival there was a magical place for me. And of course another day spent wae ma mammy xxxxxxxx
Member No.: 1,927
Gosh too many to remember,.....The Milton where my grannie lived and I was born. Saltcoats, where my other grannie used to live,...Priesthill Ravenscraig, like Sheena-Hi Sheena, found Linda, Where all my pals were,?.....Butlins, my Grannie worked there for awhile. That big park in Pollock?? with the lake where we used to go on the paddle boats (cant remember its name). Kelvin Hall when the shows were on. Im sure I'll remember more later.
Member No.: 15
Marion, not so strange that your Mammy comes into your dreams. I find that happening to me. When she visits me in my sleep she is not an old woman and its comforting. I have a large family and there's always a need for prayer so I ask my Mammy and Daddy to take care of all my grown-up weans.
Member No.: 1,937
Hi vgourley glad you found her. We were/are so blessed huh? Since I found this site all I do is sit and sigh after reading the messages. I go down stairs , my husband says " been to Glasgow "? I nod and feel all warm and fuzzy lol.
A think I would like to be in Wee shasher's grannys kitchen just waiting for these Empire biscuits to cool.Hey Mation I didnt know you lived in Easterhouse.I had a few good friends from there. No really I would love to visit so many places ,all hold such wonderful memories.Just to sit round the kitchen table with the family ,to smell mum's good old home cooking .All the talking and laughing ,sometimes arguing, just our family in general. Just to have one day back.PRICELESS
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.