Hi Guest
> Roadside Litter
Lanarklad
post 25th Oct 2010, 07:50pm

Member No.: 7,273
Now that Glasgow's chest is quite rightly bursting with pride about the approach of the next Commonwealth Games is there any chance that the council might arrange for all the trash spewed across the motorway verges in and out of the place to be cleaned up?
On a recent trip home the first thing that hit me was how much rubbish is strewn along the M8 and M74. The place look's like a midden and when the Commonwealth nations fly in, all those first time visitors are not going to be impressed.
Of course it doesn't say much for the drivers who clearly think that flinging fish and chip wrappers etc out of the car window is acceptable.
mad.gif

post 25th Oct 2010, 08:45pm

interesting take on this forum, lanarklad.

1st impressions ARE pretty crucial.

The last time I was up visiting, the general cleanliness wasn't a particular issue (this was just after smoking got banned btw). It's sad to hear the standard appears to have fallen - especially as the city itself has improved so immensely over the last 20 years.

I'm sure folks will make every effort 'cometh the hour'.l
We'll just import child labour from India! lol

post 25th Oct 2010, 09:13pm

I found the following on the web from Keep Scotland Beautiful, in 2008:

"A total of 52 tonnes of litter pile up every month on the M8, M73, M74, M77 and M80, enough to pack 88 family cars each year."

The scale of the problem is obviously enormous. A national disgrace ... and an entirely preventable one at that!

post 25th Oct 2010, 09:22pm

I was round at the Spar shop today and it looks like when the Newspapers were delivered, a couple of them blew away and the pages were scatterd all over the road and grass verges.

The place looked a complete mess and I'm surprised that the home owners next to the shop have not complained as this happens quite often.
Surely it the duty of the people who run the shop to pick up those papers.

When the grass cutters come around here cutting the grass on the green areas there is nothing on the machines to pick up the grass. The result is the grass blows all over the Avenue and the place is a mess.
I tried to phone the Council last week to complain about it but could not get through.
I thought that it could be arranged that the machines that picks up the litter, which come around here quite often, should follow on and lift up all the grass.
I have quite often had to go out and sweep the grass on the pavement outside my house incase someone slips on the grass, falls and hurts themselves.

post 25th Oct 2010, 09:29pm

While sitting at a red light; Bremen, 70's, I threw an apple core out onto the road. The driver on my right got out of his car and retuned the core to me. "You're not in England now!"
One of the few times I didn't correct a German on my nationality.
He did shame me though and my lesson was learned. wub.gif

post 25th Oct 2010, 09:30pm

When ah had the dug, ah used tae be doon at the park every morning aboot 8 o'clock. That wis the time when the guys went roon picking up the litter. Mebbe half an hour later, the grasscutters wid come roon. Wan mornin ah went doon an the grasscutters were already at work, even while the litter was still strewn over the grass. The inevitable result wis that whit had been a few crisp pokes and polybags became a sea of confetti. Joined up thinkin disnae seem tae be known tae Glasgow City Council.

post 25th Oct 2010, 09:34pm

Benny, did you pick up your dog' s..t?? mad.gif

post 26th Oct 2010, 01:06am

I always notice that when people come over here from Scotland or the likes,they always remark on how clean the roads are in California...the littering fine here is $1,000..about the same as Glasgow I believe........do they enforce the litter law in Glasgow

post 26th Oct 2010, 09:48am

QUOTE (Heather @ 25th Oct 2010, 11:13pm) *
Benny, did you pick up your dog' s..t?? mad.gif

Of course, ah picked it up, Heather -in fact ah saved it up. How else could ah get back at people ah didnae like? biggrin.gif

post 26th Oct 2010, 10:14am

laugh.gif laugh.gif Aye right.

Lanarklad
post 26th Oct 2010, 06:54pm

Member No.: 7,273
I'm glad to see so many others feel the same about this subject but what to do...perhaps a Facebook campaign with lots of photos of the rubbish sent to the council or maybe even the press? Whaddya think?

auchenshuggle
post 26th Oct 2010, 07:28pm

Member No.: 5,409
they might jist leave it ti the games start an bring it in as a new sport,
READY, SET, GO CLEAN UP GLASGOW. mibbe the winner gets a golden midgie. biggrin.gif

i saw a coo upon a hill its no there noo it mustve vanished.

post 26th Oct 2010, 10:49pm

Glasgow could do with more litter bins and notice's warning people about being Fined for dropping their litter.

post 27th Oct 2010, 07:56am

If you look at the old photographs of Glasgow streets there is little or no rubbish on them. I suppose folk had nothing to throw away in those days. Everything would be burnt in the coal fires and no carry out food places except for the chippy. Not many folk were overweight either.

post 27th Oct 2010, 09:50am

Do you think Glaswegians could take the initiative as seen on this clip?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A5GryIDl0qY

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.