18 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 8 > »   
> Castlemilk
post 25th Feb 2009, 01:51pm
Post #76

Member No.: 1,137
my mum worked in the wee chipie in the arcade next to the library for years

Slàinte mhor a h-uile là a chi 's nach fhaic

post 25th Feb 2009, 02:00pm
Post #77

how are you bob, your wee pic is nice you look like bob the builder lol

post 25th Feb 2009, 07:08pm
Post #78

Member No.: 1,055
Marina I loved that wee chippie,used tae go in and get a roll 2 onions and 2 Gherkins fer a whopping 10p...lol it was a smashing treat.
Yes that's me bob the builder...lol.I'm keepin fine it's nice to see ye on here,hope yer keeping well yerself.

If I don't see ye through the week,I'll see ye through the windae

joycewilson
post 25th Feb 2009, 09:08pm
Post #79

Member No.: 6,109
Was a busy wee chippie that one at Arcade nearest to it was at the Roundabout wasnt it/ x tongue.gif

post 26th Feb 2009, 12:07am
Post #80

im fine bob, just getting over glandular fever though, knocked me right off my feet lol, joyce i dont remember a roundabout being there but i could be wrong

Macky
post 26th Feb 2009, 02:47am
Post #81

Member No.: 913
high there been looking at the photos brill i only left castlemilk 20 years ago and i cant believe the changes only moved to east kilbride so will have to drive down and have a wee look i stayed in dougrie street facing woolworths great we street till the oasis opened up,i think the chippy your thinking about was down at the croftfoot roundabout i remember the chippy next to library i think he opened a cafe next to it as well then just down from it the laundrette,casa dela mamas and birrells sweet shop i remember them well also the chineese round the other side of the library woor pings if i remeber brill site is there anyone from dougrie on site i stayed number 3 dougrie street

joycewilson
post 26th Feb 2009, 10:46am
Post #82

Hi Macky, My brothermarried a girl from Dougrie...dont know the number but the post box was at the side of her garden well actually part of her fence...what schools did you go to? We left Castlemilk in the 70s a long tie ago eh ? xx rolleyes.gif

post 26th Feb 2009, 07:23pm
Post #83

Marina I'm glad to hear yer on the road to recovery,I'm sure it was bloody painful.
I think the Roundabout joyce was mentioning was Croftfoot roundabout there's a chippy there,but there is also a chippy on Castlemilk Rd I think it's called "Mario Jnr's.even though the chippy up on the Drive was closer to My close My Mammy always sent me doon tae Mario's at the roundabout for our take oot,She & My Gran had fish & chips and I had the great Deep fried Pizza & chips.
Oh ahm droolin here right noo just thinkin of it yumm yumm smile.gif smile.gif

post 26th Feb 2009, 07:31pm
Post #84

Hi Macky,
Yer gonnae notice a big difference in Dougrie,I used to walk along it going to My Primary school (castleton) I think the Tenement you lived in is gone,there are wee houses at the path that goes down towards Croftfoot.
I was going to take pics of Dougrie but seeing 70% of them all boarded up was quite heartbreaking,I hope you do get down to see your old neighbourhood before it's gone forever.

joycewilson
post 26th Feb 2009, 07:42pm
Post #85

Hi, Yeah the place has changed so much I must have a wander back just for a look, my son did move to Castlemilk for a year and when we got the bus it toured the area to get where he was ...sure was a trip down memory lane to see it all again but if I didnt know where I was....theres a lot of it I wouldnt have known I was in castlemilk...memories Eh?
Think both my old schools are gone now too...Braeside in Machrie and Glenwood on the Drive...x huh.gif

scoob77
post 26th Feb 2009, 07:53pm
Post #86

Member No.: 6,036
i dont know if braeside is still there, but glenwood is long gone, got pulled down about 20 years ago!!

post 26th Feb 2009, 08:06pm
Post #87

Joyce,when i was back in the 'milk i did a wee walk around,''Braeside'' is no longer there it now goes by another name which escapes me.
As Scoob said "Glenwood'' is gone,i think it's a Industrial park now,I had a chance to go onto the old school grounds in '89 when back on vacation but decided not to,then going back in '06 floored me as it was all gone,even the old folks houses across from Glenwood are gone.
I went to Glenwood from '77 - '80 then moved to Canada.

joycewilson
post 26th Feb 2009, 08:59pm
Post #88

Thanks Scoob thought they were both gone. x
Witshisname I just missed you at school then I left in 77, just got in touch with an old friend and neighbour whos in USA found her again on this site within 4 months of being on it. Was on Friends Reunited 4 yrs and never got her AMAZING this site........The place I would really like to go to is the wee wood between Tormusk and Machrie leading to the old Braeside......used to cross the wee burn there on my way to school.... be good to have a nosey might get round to that when the weather gets better x

Did you have any older brothers or sisters at Glenwood?

scoob77
post 26th Feb 2009, 09:44pm
Post #89

Member No.: 6,036
whats there now is loads of small business parks, plus youve got glenwood campus, which is part of langside college, and just in front of that is the castlemilk youth complex, which if i remember rightly, i was told the main gym hall from glenwood school is in there, which is where they do all the drama stuff, which i should know coz i was a member of the board and was also in the drama group! laugh.gif

post 26th Feb 2009, 11:40pm
Post #90

i have very fond memories of the looking glass, my mum would buy me the wee tiny beanie dolls that were in what i can only describe as match boxes

18 Pages V  « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » 

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.