QUOTE (Lizziesgal @ 20th May 2006, 06:40pm)
ma mammie always telt me tae eat ma crusts an I wid get curly hair......it is a wee bit wavy so mebbie there was some truth in it?
Maybe you can trust your mammy's advice ... but you certainly can't trust your old man's. My da told me if I stood in coo's dung I'd grow. I did ... and I didnae
"Destiny is a good thing to accept when it's going your way. When it isn't, don't call it destiny; call it injustice, treachery, or simple bad luck.” ― Joseph Heller, God Knows
QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 5th Apr 2011, 02:05pm)
Maybe you can trust your mammy's advice ... but you certainly can't trust your old man's. My da told me if I stood in coo's dung I'd grow. I did ... and I didnae
Sounds like he had that one off pat
I was never very good at the home made bread either. I remember years ago there was a bread strike and I had to make it. My husband and son ate it and said it was good but I think they ate more out of kindness to me and not to hurt my feelings.
I love an outsider toasted and while still warm spreading it with lashings of butter.
I always ate my crusts, with ten of us in the family I had no option.
QUOTE (Heather @ 5th Apr 2011, 03:52pm)
I love an outsider toasted and while still warm spreading it with lashings of butter.
Pity was there were only two outsiders; would have saved a lot of fallin' out in our house if there had been 4. (same wi' the chookaloo's drumsticks )
"Destiny is a good thing to accept when it's going your way. When it isn't, don't call it destiny; call it injustice, treachery, or simple bad luck.” ― Joseph Heller, God Knows
Member No.: 4,603
We used to call the end slice heels, in Lancashire they're called crusts
My son hated crusts and wanted them cut off so used to tell him he'd get curly teeth if he ate them all up That didn't really encourage him to eat them
QUOTE (wee davy @ 5th Apr 2011, 06:36pm)
didn't we used tae call them, heels?
If ah wis walkin aboot clutchin an ootsider oan jam, ah used tae get asked "Hiv ye got a sore haun?" The big lumpa white breid wis supposed tae look like a bandage.
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.