Member No.: 2,069
Surnom Vert,
When I was at school I palled about with a girl from Forge Street, she lived in the now demolished tenements. Although it's practically "a lifetime" since I was there, I remember it pretty well. The piggery you spoke about was where Royston Road met Garnkirk Street.
Member No.: 2,069
I should have said that the piggery was was not in use at that time so it obviously closed many years before. People still referred to it though. I hope I have the street name right but it was either Garnkirk St. or Darnick St.
Not 100% sure where Tommy lived Valros, but he went to Onslow Drive school. Ages wey masel. If memory serves me, he lived across the molendiner burn, near Gallagher's fag factory. Worked at the Barras. Tommy made these wee pieces to order. he used to trawl the building sites looking for suitable material. These are all made from ordinary building bricks Here is another one, bit more recogniseable. Well, it might be, if ah kid take a decent photie.
THIS ONE IS THE SARRY HEID PUB IN THE GALLOWGATE AM SURE YOU CAN JUST MAKE OUT THE SARACAN NAME AND THE HOUSES ABOVE IT
Now I hope someone recognises this wee boozers I would appreciate any help, as I don't have a clue. I bet not many of you knew that! .
MY ANNTIE WORKED IN THESE PUBVS FOR AMNY YRS THEY CAME FAE THE GARNGADE AND SHE WORKED IN THE BIG GLEN FOR ALOT LONGER THEN I REMEMBER USED TO GO DOWN WITH MY MUM TO SEE HER AT WORK AND STOOD OUT SIDE HER NAME WAS HELEN EVANS
Got an answer to my e-mail from the book place, they told me to search on Amazon but I can't see it on that site. Will ask my son to have a look in the book shops.
Valros
YOU CAN FIND THE AULD GLESGA BOOK IN A FEW OF THE CHARITY SHOPS SHOULD HAVE A GOOD RUMAMGE
Member No.: 4,815
QUOTE (valros @ 21st Feb 2006, 02:21pm)
Davie, What I've been looking for is a book with photos of the old Garngad and Townhead. I probably would not recognise the places because everything is all changed now. I would like to see photos of the places though. If you ever come across such a book, will you get the title for me please? Thank you.
Valros
If it's any good tae ye I've got a collection of over 60 photos of Toonheid and Parliamentary road scraped up from the internet over the years-some of them REALLY hard to find-send me a PM and I'll mail whatever your looking for back to ye
I hate two faced people-I don't know what face to punch first!
hi can you tell me where you got the book on the old garngad as i was brought up in coll street and my dad drunk in the wee glen, he would love one of the books thanks can you email it tio me at aidan2511@hotmail.co.uk
i lived across the road from the piggery and loved it i used to go adventuring around it all day. i hated the blind tunnel though i couldnt get to sleep at night with people beeping their horn to get through!!
Member No.: 2,811
Hi Norrie, Yes its Valar.She posted a lot on the Garngad thread on here.We grew up there so knew a lot of the same people.I still miss her we spoke on the phone a lot and had some good laughs,she was so nice. It was great meeting you and Claire last year at the GPs"hoose party" won't be able to make it this year, too much going on over here. Please say hi to Claire from me. See you on GPs.
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.