It was just on the telly tonight, mitch.
Liverpool are trying to do the same as teams have been doing for years, throughout Europe - (at least the big clubs) - and that is do they're own TV rights deals, worldwide.
There's also the problem of the amount of schools closures over the years which reduced the playing grounds available to children, most of the land being sold to property developers by councils throughout the land. Doesn't exactly encourage participation does it? This means things will get worse. We should value our sports infrastructure in the same way that the Australians and Americans do. Who knows, the Commonwealth games may just drive this point home next year. Let's hope so!
QUOTE (hubert @ 13th Oct 2011, 12:03am)
Theres no question on my mind wee davy and ashfield did NOT read my post properly, especially by me reading their reply or response!
Sorry Hubert, I'm not sure what you think I missed in your post. My comments about population were made in relation to the figures Wee Davy gave. I was trying to show that in a direct comparison between the Scotland of 40 years ago and the present, there is a serious decline in the number of people playing football. The consequence is an overall reduced pool of talent to choose from.
The development of skills is our potential salvation.
Light travels faster than sound which is why some people appear bright until they speak
Just watching the friendly against Cyprus and Kenny Miller has scored a peach of a goal. Cyprus have hit the woodwork twice but despite that, I think Scotland are worth the lead after half an hour.
On a slightly different tack, there seems to an ongoing campaign to get Steven Fletcher back into the Scotland set up. He famously asked not to be selected because he went in the huff at not getting picked for a previous game. I understand guys like Davie Weir, who quit after getting named by Vogts as one of the players who lost a game, coming back under a different manager. I would never allow Fletcher to wear a Scotland jersey again. prima donnas we can do without.
Light travels faster than sound which is why some people appear bright until they speak
Member No.: 31
Final score Cyprus 1 Scotland 2. Scotland may have been the slightly better team, but goodness gracious it sure wasnt a classic by any stretch of the imagination! Kind of funny about 5 minutes or so before Kenny Miller scored, I was thinking cant any of these Scottish players kill a ball from the air, I had just seen Mackie fail, and Miller himself at the start of the game sort of failed, however Miller did just that on his goal he killed from the air and proceeded to lob it over the goalies heid, brilliant execution. Mackie himself scored a goodyin too! What happened to Darren Fletcher, he has been playing good with Manchester United, but his passing was bloody blase and poor in the Cyprus game. Thought MacGregor should have saved their goal, although he had a couple of verygood saves.
QUOTE (tamhickey @ 13th Oct 2011, 05:07am)
There's also the problem of the amount of schools closures over the years which reduced the playing grounds available to children, most of the land being sold to property developers by councils throughout the land. Doesn't exactly encourage participation does it? This means things will get worse. We should value our sports infrastructure in the same way that the Australians and Americans do. Who knows, the Commonwealth games may just drive this point home next year. Let's hope so!
Tam my grandson can play the following sports at school, Football Rugby Cricket Hockey Swimming Tennis There is also the opportunity to be coached in Golf on the main sports fields.
Granted he goes to a private school but even the most basic goverment school normaly has a rugby or football field within the school grounds, I cant remember seeing any 'public' facilities provided by the goverment or local council anywhere. Most kids who want to keep up their sports after leaving school join private clubs
All opinions are my own, if you dont agree feel free to disagree
QUOTE (tamhickey @ 13th Oct 2011, 04:07am)
We should value our sports infrastructure in the same way that the Australians and Americans do. Who knows, the Commonwealth games may just drive this point home next year. Let's hope so!
Do you mean North Americans in your statement, Canada and USA? Also as the US is not a member of the Commonwealth they will not be taking part in the Glasgow Games.
Read the story in the newspaper this morning were Terry Butcher advocates playing eleven English born players for Scotland if needed, and I have to say I agree with him I would go even further and say that I would change the rules to include the ability to allow anyone with provable Scottish ancestors to play for Scotland.
The days when a family would leave Scotland and never be able to return are long gone and even though somebody may be a second, third or even fourth generation Canadian, Australian or even South African does not make them any less proud of their Scottish roots.
Its sad to say but I expect the only people to disagree with me will be the people still living in Scotland
All opinions are my own, if you dont agree feel free to disagree
Not good!
Scots take tumble in world rankings
7 Mar 2012
SCOTLAND have dropped to 51st place in the Fifa world rankings released today.
That is despite Craig Levein’s side racking up a creditable 1-1 draw in a friendly international in Slovenia last week.
England have slipped one place to sixth following their 3-2 home defeat by Holland.
They are just 15 ranking points ahead of Portugal, while Euro 2012 group rivals France and Sweden have moved up one place to 16th and 17th respectively.
World and European champions Spain remain in pole position, with Holland in second and Germany third.
Wales have dropped six places to 48th, with Northern Ireland 87th. The Republic of Ireland have moved up one to 19th.
Member No.: 4,353
Not good hubert but do you agree with where we are?? I do.... I think we are awful really because gone are the great days when Scotland showed passion and really made you proud even though they might not always get the best results. And the results now speak for themselves as far as qualifying for the big tournies go.
QUOTE (Scotsman @ 8th Mar 2012, 01:26pm)
Not good hubert but do you agree with where we are?? I do.... I think we are awful really because gone are the great days when Scotland showed passion and really made you proud even though they might not always get the best results. And the results now speak for themselves as far as qualifying for the big tournies go.
Yes I do agree, we did get a draw against Slovenia although they have a population of just over 2 million I think, and half of them are women! LoL Levien will give it a good try, and I think we play here in the USA this May, I sure dont fancy our chances here!
USA (red hoops) 5 Scotland 1. It was a training session for the USA, Scotland were not even in the hunt, what a shambles Scottish fitba has become, sad to say. Before the game I think it was 5 Pipers that played Flower of Scotland, not sure who was worse the Scottish fitba team or the rendition given by the 5 Pipers, because they were murder. MacGregor 4 Bardsley 5 Caldwell 5 Webster 5 Mulgrew 5 Bannon 5 Brown 5 Phillips 5 McArthur 5 Miller 5 Maloney 4
QUOTE (hubert @ 27th May 2012, 02:34pm)
Before the game I think it was 5 Pipers that played Flower of Scotland, not sure who was worse the Scottish fitba team or the rendition given by the 5 Pipers, because they were murder. MacGregor 4 Bardsley 5 Caldwell 5 Webster 5 Mulgrew 5 Bannon 5 Brown 5 Phillips 5 McArthur 5 Miller 5 Maloney 4
The football team were by far worse than the pipers, who in turn were better than the female who murdered the Star spangled banner, and you were far too generous with the ratings Hubert.
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.