3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
> Animal Abuse., Not for the faint hearted.
post 16th Apr 2011, 11:15pm

Member No.: 4,097
THH - I couldn't agree with you more. It's barbaric and while the jockeys have a choice in horse racing, these magnificent animals have no choice. It makes me sick to hear people say that the horses love racing and they are bred for it. I hadn't heard about this Grand National so I don't know the outcome but guess it ended in tragedy for some horses. I refuse to watch the video clips and could hardly bear to look at the photos.

This so called 'sport' needs to be banned, likewise bullfighting.

Kia mau ki to Maoritanga
.............. Hold fast to your culture

post 17th Apr 2011, 12:38am

SKL, Hi again. Horses are so called "Flight Animals", that is, they take to their heels when faced by danger like deer or rabbits etc. They do not run into the attack like cats; big or small, bears, wolves etc.
My experience with horses is that they do enjoy a good race where they can show what they're made of; I've ridden enough horses to know this. What they don't particularly enjoy is jumping blind and as we often see they will refuse at the last second unseating the rider in a most ungainly fashion if - and this is important - they have no confidence in the rider.
That may sound strange but it's true that a rider can build a trust and confidence into a horse where sometimes it almost seems like the horse is thinking OK, but I hope (he) she knows what she's doing.
My oldest daughter had this with horses and her daughter Fern has it too.
The horse and rider have so much trust and confidence in each other that they become a single unit because they spend lots of time together training and just riding out. (in Fern and Kelly's case they share the same accommodation as the horse when they're on tour rolleyes.gif )
With these national jockeys it's all about speed. The jumps are generally blind; definitely dangerous and the jockeys are so seated that they have no control over the horse. The control over a horse is exerted by the lower thigh just above the knee. A racing jockey is perched like a monkey over the horse's shoulders on short stirrups so all he's good for is pushing the horse on; with the whip if necessary.
Last year at the Horse of the Year Show, Fern had a win and a good few qualifications but decided by the Wednesday to call it a day because the going was getting heavy and she saw no need to spoil the rest of the week for Romany Jane. She could have competed on the Saturday among the best placed and among the best of the best; getting herself more rosettes etc. but she knew with heavy going it would be hard work and no enjoyment for Jane so she quit.
That told me the measure of the lass.
And that's what competing is about - horse and rider enjoying competition, not a horse being forced and terrified into running or jumping. Racing jockeys can never have the same relationship as show jumpers with their mounts. They can never build that trust which is needed between horse and rider.
But money is the deciding factor here; big win = big stud fees; the purse is generally secondary.
The Grand National cost on average three horses lives each time it's run.
As for bullfighting ... don't get me started mad.gif

post 19th Apr 2011, 12:37pm

Member No.: 4,097
Thanks, THH for all your information on horse racing. I've learned a lot. I fully understand now the fear race horses must feel when approaching those awful high hedges and I can't believe the Grand National is still being run. Is it Beecher's Brook that is a notoriously dangerous jump?

We have a harness racing trace (Addington) 10 minutes walk from where I live. Some years ago I attended regular race meeting and always enjoyed them. Sure, there were occasional accidents when wheels clashed together but it is nearly always the drivers who come off worst. I don't recall any horses being seriously injured at harness racing here.

As you say, show jumping is quite another matter entirely and I can appreciate the rapport and special trust between horse and rider. Every summer, at some place around the New Zealand, there are A & P (agricultural and pastoral) shows and in the past I regularly attended these, taking my two children along. We spent many happy hours sitting at the show ring, watching the events there. At that time, I lived with my family in a small farming community, where half of the children at the local school had their own horses. I always felt a bit of an outsider as none of my family were involved at all with horses. It didn't stop me admiring the lovely animals that were paraded around our school on Pets Day, though to this day I am a bit scared to get too close!

Kia mau ki to Maoritanga
.............. Hold fast to your culture

post 19th Apr 2011, 01:04pm

I used to break horses to the saddle when I was in the RAF.
I invited a mate to come with me for a Saturday afternoon ride.
He said, "Count me out. Horses? They bite at one end and kick at the other!"
He was right rolleyes.gif
You just have to be one step ahead with them. biggrin.gif

weeshuggie
post 19th Apr 2011, 01:51pm

Member No.: 9,392
So you bite and kick them furst, no sure that's in yer medical books doc.

Kin see yer knighthood jist fell at beecher's

post 19th Apr 2011, 03:18pm

I think my knighthood was a non-starter. rolleyes.gif

post 19th Apr 2011, 03:19pm

QUOTE (weeshuggie @ 19th Apr 2011, 02:00pm) *
So you bite and kick them furst, no sure that's in yer medical books doc.

That's truer than you might think. wink.gif

post 19th Apr 2011, 03:28pm

QUOTE (TeeHeeHee @ 19th Apr 2011, 02:13pm) *
I used to break horses to the saddle when I was in the RAF.

It jist shows ye whit ye learn oan this board. Ah never knew the RAF had horse powered erraplanes. Wis it some kinda treadmill in the fuselage or whit? biggrin.gif

weeshuggie
post 19th Apr 2011, 05:05pm

Member No.: 9,392
That takes horsepowered engines tae a new height, ah hope yer no gonnae blame the tories fur this. Are you sure your no swallying the pills yer supposed to be giein me.

post 19th Apr 2011, 05:42pm

laugh.gif Bomber Command. Could kick like a mule. laugh.gif

post 20th Apr 2011, 07:20am

Member No.: 612
Some good news from SA. Two Mozambiquan poachers shot dead yesterday in the Kruger Park while hacking off the horns of two rhinos one of the rhino was only a calf. Way to go if the bast**** kill innocent animals for profit shoot them.

post 20th Apr 2011, 09:56am

I read an article about Education being the best way to stop poaching Rhino.
That's like saying it would take education to stop the drug cartels. rolleyes.gif

This is what they're up against. Of all the poachers brought before court 3% were convicted with over 80% of black rhino wiped out since 2006 (last years figures)

Rhino Horn for Chinese Weapons?

http://www.cites.org/

post 20th Apr 2011, 02:18pm

SCOTTISH GRAND NATIONAL DEATHS SPARK FRESH DEBATE

TWO horses died during yesterday’s (Saturday 16th April '11) Scottish Grand National, sparking the second debate about the future of racing in a week.

Minella Four Star and Regal Heights were both reported to have suffered internal bleeding during the event at Ayr, in front of a crowd of around 14,000.

Neither horse fell at one of the track’s fences, with Minella Four Star pulling up on the flat and Regal Heights collapsing after the race.

The tragedy happened a week after the deaths of two horses at the Grand National at Aintree, when Ornais and Dooneys Gate were fatally injured in falls.

A spokesman for the BHA accused the charity of “using” the tragedy to campaign against horseracing. He said: “As far as we are aware neither of the horses was fatally injured as a result of a fall or a fall-related injury and therefore this could have happened anywhere and at any time.

Read more: http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/241289...e#ixzz1K4LFuJBy

post 20th Apr 2011, 03:33pm

QUOTE (benny @ 19th Apr 2011, 04:37pm) *
It jist shows ye whit ye learn oan this board. Ah never knew the RAF had horse powered erraplanes. Wis it some kinda treadmill in the fuselage or whit? biggrin.gif

Naa, jist a loat o' hoat air in "Bomber <backs tae the wa' > Command." They are nice lads, really. huh.gif

I was thinking maybe it is time to consider banishing Boakers Retch and the hedge hopping element out of hoss racing.

When them wee gee-gees run up to that I always look away, as you can nearly be assured that some poor sowel will be dumped on thurr erse or worse an ah cuddie or twa will be aff to the glue yaird.

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3

RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th Jun 2013

All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.