Now I finally believe you Davy. That's one I can accept. Mornin' lad.
"Destiny is a good thing to accept when it's going your way. When it isn't, don't call it destiny; call it injustice, treachery, or simple bad luck.” ― Joseph Heller, God Knows
doolaly doolaly tap was a very much used phrase in Glasgow to describe a person who was two coupons short of a toaster. My fatyher used in constantly. Later on I found the meaning was derived from the military mental hospital cantonment (Deolali) just outside Calcutta in the days of "British India". A tap was the term used for a chit or movement order and to get the Doolaly Tap meant you were off to the mental hospital. Thought to have its' origins among the Gurkha.
Amazin'. First time I heard Doolaly Tap was in Lincolnshire. Thought it was a local expression ... since most of them were.
"Destiny is a good thing to accept when it's going your way. When it isn't, don't call it destiny; call it injustice, treachery, or simple bad luck.” ― Joseph Heller, God Knows
She spread her wings and flew For days across an empty sea No landing place to find And came back Exhausted
She took to the air again In endless search Returning hungry
Then Noah in survivors Ark And all his family too Sang her praise When twig in beak To them she finally flew
The white winged symbol Of hope and peace Which They barred from the House of God. Because of Doo poo.
Member No.: 8,556
Enjoyed all the wee poems and love the Glasgow wit. When I read THH's it really tickled my sense of humor thinking about all the pigeons at the church.
They didnae seem too concerned about the rats in the crypt.
Member No.: 5,122
Spring Sparrow - fluffs feathers - falters then flies, Starlings sing - sending sound - across blue sky, Blackbird beckons - her young - home to nest, The Glesga Doo, well she's the best.
Watchin' where you place your shoe While steppin' through the Square In case you kick a passin' doo And she drops one in your hair
They're no' too bothered who you are They're just there for the feed And if it wisnae for the statues there They'd be sittin' on your hied.
QUOTE (wee davy @ 8th Jun 2011, 10:12am)
Never barred, THEE -
OK, in my case we only used wire mesh instead of bars.
All material in the site Glasgow Guide is copyright of the Glasgow Guide Organisation. This material is for your own private use only, and no part of the site may be reproduced, amended, modified, copied, or transmitted to third parties, by any means whatsoever without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. All rights reserved.