Been in Canada for years now but most of my family is still in Glasgow....
We'd love to hear from anyone.....getting late in Canada but hubby is thinking of home. Don't let him down or I'll be hearing William Wallace stories all night
Scottie there are many of us from maryhill. We have it coverred from maryhill park to st georges cross. I was born in springbank st and lived there till i was nineteen. where you from? .....andy-
Hi...Dave was born in Paisley and lived on Stirrat Street. He's been in Canada since the 70's but most of his Mother's family still lives in Maryhill. Thanks for your reply. What a great place
Hello, I Claim Maryhill Like Andy said lots of us on here, so jump in get your feet wet, my granny ame from Strritt St.
Hello, I'm Alex.
From 1947 till about 56 I lived in a prefab at 8 Collina St. I now live in Springburn. Howzit gaun?
Alex.
Hi bornscottie,I only live down south and miss home so much,Iam from ruchil,then moved to maryhill when i was 20 but remember going to my granny's in maryhill at wk-end's as she lived there,Know alot of people from there and would like to know what they are doing now,It would be nice to know what everyone is doing now.take care.maggie.xxx
hi scottie i was brought up in maryhill stayed there most of my life but now living other side of city..i was born in willock street in a tenement then moved to maryhill barracks now the wyndford,,maryhil has changed alot over the years.
Hi lived on Stirrat street too number 41... Most of my family lived there at one point of their lives. It is no longer there most of the valley has been knocked down now...
I was born in Guthrie St 26 left in 1958
i was born an bred in maryhill i was born in the valley 1938 now stay in the milton happy belated anniversary mags
my mum lived in whitelaw street maryhill from 1950 with her brother and sister they are margaret, john and marina agnew then when her mum died they moved into there aunt mamie hannahs a few closes down in 1957 where she had me in 1970
i was born in maryhill in firhill road moved to the butney 1961
worked in the mill with baggy,marina
hi aaron, its a small world isnt it? did you know him well? my mum was a single parent when she had me and he did a lot for us, it was my mums wedding yesterday but he and his wife margaret couldnt make it as there kids had arranged a surprise holiday for them, did you know my mum?
Hi there - I lived in Duncruin Street for a number of years after I was born before moving to Drumchapel ithen to parts all over .....
My uncle, Willie Cooper (now dead), lived in Clouston Street, which I suppose is Hillhead but then moved to Cumlodden Drive and latterly to Caldercuilt Road where my mother lived a few doors away for a few years too.
I seem to remember a minister in Cumlodden Drive called Thomas Revel, who had only one arm but used to take the family on holiday in a motor-cycle with sidecar.
I do remember Maryhill Barracks with the full-length mirror outside the guardhouse so the HLI soldiers could check their appearance before going out.
Mr Revel was the minister at Gairbraid Church for some time - he rode a motor bike with the one arm - great character
Clouston Street has a G20 postcode and it comes under North Kelvinside.
I was born in the 'Barracks' but it was of course the Wyndford Estate by the time that I was born there.
The old Guard Room is now offices for the CUBE Housing Association. It's hard to believe how the place has changed in the 20 years that I have been away from it. I still smile to myself when I drive through it from time to time and see the 'Saltire Award' the Wyndford received for its innovative design. Guess that was progress then....
Hi Macbeast,
Here is the Reverend T. Revel after tying the knot for Jane and I at the Church of Scotland in Edwin Street, off Paisley Rd. West, 5th April, 1960.
Small world, eh ?
Hi George i see that you got married on the 5 of April 1960 i got married on the 4 of April 1960 i guess the both of us were trying to beat the tax guys , if i remember right if you got married before April the 6th you saved on your taxes
Right on Cameron, here's tae us, and here's me thinking a was the only fly wan
April 5, 1960 fell on a Tuesday. I only posted the above picture as the Rev. Revel was mentioned earlier in this thread, but yours is the only feedback I have seen. By the way I always lived on the south side, only time I was in Maryhill was to visit a friend in the HLI hospital - he had bad feet caused by the tackety boots. Cheers!
George.
Maryhill residents and ex-residents may be interested in this.
Last year, on a return visit to Glasgow, I bought a book that had been highly recommended to me. It was "Night Song of the Last Tram" by Robert Douglas. What I didn't know until I bought the book was that Robert grew up very close to where I lived with my family. He lived at No.14 Doncaster Street and I was at No.43 Hinshaw Street, round the corner. We went to the same schools (Springbank Primary and North Kelvinside Sec.) but we didn't know each other then, probably because of the few years difference in our ages.
This is a heartwarming story of Robert's upbringing by his mother mostly, living in a single-end. It is funny but sad in places and it brought back so many memories of Cocozza's cafe, Bundoni's fish and chip shop, the Blythswood picture house, Kelvingrove Park and so much more. Several of my friends and family have read the book now and enjoyed it too. I am sure there would be thousands of children who would have had a similar upbringing as Robert and his friends. The difference is Robert was able to put it into words and write a wonderful book.
To anyone who grew up in the tenements in this area, you will just love the book, but for all those who lived in tenements anywhere in Glasgow, you will also thoroughly enjoy it. Robert's second book is about due for release and takes over where the first one finished, from when he was aged 16. I think the title is "Somewhere to lay my Head". I am looking forward to it.
George what a lovely photo, Jane was a beautiful bride, an yer awfy handsome therr yersel
Ahv heard of that book Ballindalloch, must ask wee mags if she's read it cos ah no she'd love it too.
Catherine tell wee mags HI!. Ahll be very surprised if she husnae already read the book and knows all the places mentioned in Ballindalloch's post. I did when I read the book..............You should try readin it....He disnae use any big wurds
Jist read this ya bandit Jock.....you've had it noo!!
supercallifragulousitgetsmealitocious.....beat that wan! {bet ahv goat it wrang} guffawguffawguffaw
wit a boot Supercallygoballistic....aw a furget the rest
Oh aaron, a fellow comrade, you go buy it an we'll read it the gither awright.....ah'll wait here, hurry up an oan ye go afore the shoap shuts....better pick up a pint a milk annaw, might as well
Niet Comrade
S'only the efternoon here aaron....but niet yersel pal
jist goat that wan
Gled wan of us did, ahm still tryin tae work oot whit niet means .....no that we'll be tellin Jock that wan.....keep it tae wursels annaw that
it means NAW in the bolshovics region hen
Funnily enuf aaron ma ear's been bouncin......great big clue aw alang
Catherine, YOU ARE RIGHT, you did get it wrang! But you did ok with "bandit" and were close to "nyet", so we see much improvement. Just keep doin yer hamewurk.
and sing..........supercalifragilisticexpialidocious...!!!!!
hi ...i was born in maryhill...160 gairbraid ave...right at the very end.... there was a laundy called brand and mollisons thats where we used to live ...1955 to 1965...the wallaces
any relation to the wallaces that were related to the McKim's
hi oorwullie... sorry it has taken me a while to get back to you...any way i dont know if the McKims are any relaitions to me as i have not heard from any of my family in over 41 years ...so you never know they could be ...i am going home next year so i am going to try and find some of them ,fingers xxxxxxxxxxx....ok bye for now....Janice
Its the Sept weekend and am up and dressed and its only like 4.30am...a miracle for me but am going to St Andrews to play golf this morning..man I hope it is better than yesterday...it was teaming rain yesterday....
while waiting for my m8's dad to pick me up I was surfing the net and came across this site again...A know a lot of people on here have connections to Maryhill and I remember reading this a long time ago...its by a guy who does stories about old Glasgow and I think but am not sure my Dad might have posted this a long time ago.....I went back to read it again cos its an amazing story and found millions of posts from people all over the world who grew up in Maryhill and am reading and laughing at them and then I get back to the oldest post and guess who it is from...wee mags I think..........see what you started Mags....what a character!
Its from August 2004......
http://www.glasgowwestend.co.uk/people/umaryhill.php
Hi ya Ross Ihave not been on for some time ,ma wee pc went Kapoot so Iam waiting and waiting tae get a new wan thanks for thinking of me and to the two new members who have e mailed me this is the reason I have not got in touch ,my youger brother Tom woked for Brand and Mollisons did you know the Wards who lived on Giarbraid ave near the laundry?I have to go as Iam at my daughters house and using her computer see ya all Mags
Nice to hear from you Mags. Hope you and the family are well. Take care.
this is for my cousin Anne, who just joined this is the page I was talking about Anne, I hope you enjoy the site
Thanks for bringing this page to our attention wee mags!! My dad's family and my husband's family are all from Maryhill. My dad was born in Agnes Street, the family moved to Bilsland Drive, Ruchill in 1929. He went to NKS and as a boy worked in Cochrane's in Maryhill Road as a message boy. My grandpa worked in Ruchill Hospital for almost all his working life.
When my mum and dad got married in 1942 they had a room & kitchen in Amisfield Street.
My husband was born up the same close in Fernie Street as his mother (families didn't move far in those days!). They moved briefly to Pollok around 1951 but my mother-in-law said that it was too far away so they got a transfer to Drumchapel in 1953 and she was much happier! My husband is a joiner, he served his apprenticeship with his cousin's joinery business in Raeberrry Street and carried on working there up until 1970. We used to visit his auntie and cousins in Raeberry Street.
I still have an aunt and uncle who live in Maryhill Road, we visited them when we were up in Glasgow last month.
Another one of my aunts was a nurse in Eastpark Home for years.
My mum and dad used to tell me how they went for walks through Ruchill Park then to Jaconnelli's Cafe for a MacAllum when they were courting at the beginning of WWII. I decided to include this storyline for the fiction couple in my novel that went on sale earlier this year.
My mum was from Possilpark, we moved to Milton in 1952, then to Knightswood in 1963.
Georgia, I was born and raised in Simpson St (since torn down) very close to Raeberry St. What's the name of your book and where is it available?
Hi Jock, the title of my novel is What's For Ye, Won 't Go By Ye.
I see that you are in Los Angeles. You can purchase my book on www.amazon.com. I had an email from Peter Noone (remember Herman from Hermin's Hermits), he lives in Santa Barbara and he wrote to say that he had bought my book from Amazon because it had a picture on the front cover of a Herman's Hermits ticket for a concert at The Odeon in Renfield Street in 1964 (I still have that 8/6d ticket in my possession). His email meant more than anything to me because I was a big Herman fan (as well as the Beatles) in the 1960's. No' bad fur a wee lassie fae Milton...eh!!!
Gaun yersel Georgia
I think that's great pet, now can ye buy your book over the counter at home too?
Aye Catherine, Waterstones, Borders and Ottakars in Glasgow and surrounding districts all have it on their shelves...Borders in Buchanan Street have it alongside Ian Rankin novels...ah wiz fer chuffed by that!!!
how about here in the states Georgia? where in the eastern states ?
Wee mags you can get it from www.amazon.com www.borders.com www.barnesandnoble.com and most book web sites world wide
yer a wummin a many talents georgia
No' really marina, ah still cannae work oot how tae post ah' photo oan GGBB. I've converted ma photies tae Jpeg, downsized them, but still nae luck...ah well ye'll jist huv tae a' miss oot oan ma wonderful collection o' pikchures!
Is always good to hear o wan o yer ain daein' good.
Borders in Buchanan ST, is a fave haunt of mine,
Will look out for your book.
When did you have it published?
WELL DONE GEORGIA,
POWER TAE YER ELBOW.
Hi stratson, It was published in March and on the shelves in Glasgow bookshops by June this year
Hello Georgia,
I saw a Book being advertised on the Glesga Pals, Board,
Is that the same Book as your's ????????????? ![]()
I was just reading the write up to-night and was thinking of sending for it as you can purchase it through the Glesga Pals Board,
Did not want to mention the author's Name just in'case you Know!
Got Georgias book in Borders yesterday.
I don't go on Glesga pals sight so obviously would not see it there.
Very attractive cover, curious , is that your parents?.
The author is a Bonnie Lass.
(a back-handed cmpliment if ever there was one)
Hope u make "The Best Seller's List."
Hi Annie L, Yes that's my book, it only went on the Glesga Pals site late last night but I noticed that they have put the wrong price in for the UK. I have asked them to change it.
Stratson, It was a lovely lady in Boston called Pam Marin-Kingsley who designed the cover for my publisher. She's excellent and very professional, I was delighted with the end result. I liaised with her and at first we looked at old street scenes of Maryhill/Possilpark but they didn't seem right to me because I wanted to get the feel of the two generations from the 40's through to the 60's so I suggested emailing some old photos on to her to get the era right. She worked on the photos and put 'new faces' into them' (we're all much better looking than that Ha! Ha!). The original photos were my mum & dad and my husband & I but the characters in the book are all fiction and nothing at all like us so I didn't want our real faces used. Lots of people who have read the book have said that they could relate to it (and not only Scots). I remembered these type of characters as I was growing up and condensed them into one family (just like they do in soaps!)
Thanks Georgia,............For letting me know I will wait till they change the price then i will order a copy O>K>
Stratson, If you order through Glesga Pals, you get a signed Copy,
Pays to read other boards sometimes,
Sounds very Good Georgia cant wait to read it, another Book for my collection, I enjoy reading very much, at the moment I have two books on the Go
Diana Gabaldon,
Martina Cole,
Congratulations Georgia Well done I am sure you will make the Bestsellers >>>>>>>>>>cheers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!oxo
Thanks AnnieL for your positive responses, I hope your right!!
Stratson if you wanted it signed, I can meet up with you the next time I'm in Glasgow.
we awe know sumday famous nanannana
Stoap it Marina, yer giein' me a riddy!!!
my mums aunt and uncle and her cousin still live in maryhill they are annie and jimmy agnew and cousin mary agnew who has a son jason, marys brother jim died last year i think on his 60th birthday
Like the others on here that I have posted I was alos born and lived in Maryhill and miss it. It will always be home, no matter where I live.
Anne if you read this was it Fingal street you lived in before you went to Skirsa St? I know it was just roon fae Granny and Grandas
When we were visiting Maryhill recently, I was amazed to see that the church in Raeberry Street has been converted into flats!...Still looks like a church though!!!....If ah lived there, ah'd feel awfu' guilty gettin' legless at' Hogmanay in an auld church!!!
....On a good point, there wid be plenty o' spirits aroon' ...but mibee no' the wans we really want tae be mixin' wi' Ha! Ha! ![]()
This is a photo of my Uncle (Dougald Lochhead) with his RAF squadron beside their Lancaster bomber in 1944. My uncle is 2nd from the right on the back row. He was from Agnes Street, Maryhill. He died in 1980.
it didnae work
Hi been looking on site along time,scared 2 add reply's but done it 2nite.Iam fae ruchill ,and maryhill,lived in fermore rd, and gilhill st, hubby lived in cotter st,,Ruchill i lived in Ruchill st,Wer i was broght up,so both mean alot 2 me.xxx
Hi Maggie Hen, nice to meet you, am originally from Maryhill,Duncrun St, Then to Lambhill Skirsa St you will meet a lot of people frpm Maryhill
Hi Maggie hen, I already replied to you on the 'When (and why) did you move away from Glasgow' post. Well her ah um again!!
Not only am I near you in Aldershot, but my dad's side of the family and my husband's family all originally came from Ruchill and Maryhill
lived in digs on the Hopehill rd inthe late 50s
Lived in Shannon St Ruchill before that up at Lyndale Rd, worked in Maryhill in Bryant & Mays
hi everybody I was born in oakbank hospital a few year ago now: brought up in kelvinside ave.close to H.L.I. pub none of which are still there. moved up to springburn with my parents in the early 60s got married in mid 70s moved back doon the rd ( sandbank st ) then doon to queens cross ( dalmally st ) enjoyed a few shandies in the braemar and munns good auld days.
hi was brought up in cambell street top of sandbank street maryhill late forties till 1959 moved to cadder vaila street then down south where i still live i just wondered is cambell street still there or has that gone the way of everything else when i think of the times we had as kids growing up things we could do places we used to go never a care in the world all that is now denied to later generations well all the best b.a.
hi william i wasnt to familiar with the top of sandbank st i lived in the tennaments next to the orange hall but if it is like most of maryhill it will be gone. cheers mate.
one of my uncles lived in those tenements wih his family the family name was henry my auntie was always making fudge you would eat it hot straight out of the oven funny how you remember things that you have long forgotten last time i was up cambell street was still there that i should have realised though the bus i was on was heading in the right direction but all the landmarks i had known were no longer there
i didnae know any of the neighbours. not that i was anti social or anything i was just married so if i wasnt at work the rest of my energy was used up indoors if you know what i mean.
hi annie was vaila street round the corner from vaila street
sorry i meant vaila street was skirsa street round the corner from vaila street
Vaila Street runs off Skirsa Street, where the buses run down. I lived at No.3 Vaila Street (top floor) until 1963. All the windows were to the front - lounge and kitchen looked into Skirsa Street, and the two bedroom windows and bathroom looked on to Vaila Street. I went up to Cadder by bus in 2005 (July) to have a look. The weather was atrocious and as I was getting soaked, I just had a quick look before catching another bus into the city. It seemed strange seeing different buses as when I left Glasgow the buses were green and yellow. Will be visiting again this year (in late September) so I hope to see a bit more of Cadder then.
Cheers,
am still getting used to this way of talking lived at 45 vaila street top flat from 1959 till 1964 had great times there the guys i knew where don don eddie brogan eddie croak tam mclauglin ann mckenzie loads more there names escape me
I lived in a room and kitchen at 57 Balfour St Maryhill for a while in the late 60s, and my husband had to pay key money for it but he didn't tell me till a long time after, I also used to go to the Steamie just round the corner and if I remember right you had to buy you'r ticket either the day before or in the morning for the afternoon
PS also have family living in Skirsa St
Agnesb
Hi William 2468, sorry didnt reply quicker was away for weekend. s previous reply stated skirsa st was the main st vaila st cut of there had friends who stayed at 46 vaila st[russell] I go there quite often to go to cemetary.
We stayed at corner house [corner tresta rd] 181 skirsa st right at bus stop,last stop going towards lambhill. Cadder was a beautiful place when my mum & dad got it in 1953 there used to be the wee 24 bus which ran from Gairbraid Ave to Cadder many a night had to run like hammers o hell to catch it or face my dad.
My sister Betty (Finlay) lives in Wyndford Road where the the barracks used to be . I myself come from Garscube Road ,but nearer the Cowcaddens .In Crossburn Street No 78 .
I used to goout with Cathy White from Farnell street .her brother was a boxer .
Tommy
My elder brother Tommy used to live in Sandbank Terrace used to love going to visit him there just to see the view of the city at night from his living room window it was a marvellous sight.
does anybody my daddy used to sweep chimmneys when it was his day aff when he was working on the trambreakfitter and also all the way through to the late sixties willie or bill stuart used to live in abbington st also 8ceader place with my mammy and 3sons this is NOT my dad
hi annie1 some of the best times of my life were in cadder i also remember it as a great clean scheme used to catch the same little bus down to the valley the best memories of that bus were one time the local bobby who to cover the scheme used to ride one of the old fashioned bikes as the bus pulled away the five of us on the bus are all making gestures at him from the back of the bus he does no more than turn arround and starts peddling after us but you know the hills we had in cadder his legs are going ten to the dozen but the bus is going further and further away till we are out of sight . not like today when it is all radios and panda cars my mates where eddie brogan eddie croke don don tam mcglaulin pogie mcdonald one of the girls was anne mckenzie have been down south now for a long time prefer to remember it as it was then wouldent know it now well all the best williama2468 B.A.
this is where I lived in Maryhill I lived in the bottom flat on the left hand side
Tommy, there was a girl in my class in St. Joseph's Primary School and her name was Catherine White and her brother was a boxer. Probably the same girl.
Sometimes when we were all playing together, Catherine's brother would give her money to buy sweets for us all.
How did that happen??? Ah didnae post twice an' ah've no' goet hiccups
Hi Georgia..Wee Mags will be able to tell you as she is a Maryhill Lass Cheers Flim
hi georgia stirrat st was not in the butney it was across the canal bank of gairbraid avenue near guthrie st
i knew of two familys who lived in 52 Stirrat St the Clarks and the Butlers i was born in Gairbraid Place the day after my mother and father moved in their then new house in 1938
georgia Stirrit St was off Guthrie St, up the hill from the part of Guthrie St where I lived,
Hi mags a was waiting for you to tell me ahad put stirrat st in he wrong place, than god a didnae make a mistake
Hello, all Maryhill folk.
I have posted on here before some place else about Maryhill, and I am just stunned that with the way the boards are growing no one remembers my relations
. feel like the red headed stepchild"
My granny was born and lived at 47 Stirrat Street. Her dad lived there untill he died in the mid 60's By the way he was hit by a bus on the zebra crossing either at the barracks, or just up the road a wee bit near Gairbraid Ave, as I was only about 8/9 at the time I don't remember, but I do remember, it was a big thing. Lots of people etc....
The family name was Mc Killop. I know some of you remember mygreat Uncle, ( granny's brother)
I hope somebody has a light bulb minit
Hi Lennox, As you've probably read, my husband's dad (John Saunders) was brought up at 46 Stirrat Street. He moved to Fernie Stret when he got married in 1939 but his Mother (my husband's granny) lived there until she died in 1968
Lennox , i knew a moira ckark she was closer to my sisrers age , did she have a brother named tommy and mothers name vera such a nice family my mum still speaks about vera as they used to be good friends in those days, cheers lennox.
hi lennox, last news i had about them was that vera was very ill, very sad.
sorry to hear that, but she must be getting on now.
Lennox your uncle davie lived up the close fae me he lived across from the Mc Kays ,he lived on the left hand side as you went up the stairs, by the way after the McKays, left the Mc clogans lived there as a matter of fact I thought one of the Mc Colgans[ Frankie] went o Austraila to play football no too sure
wee mags,
do you remember my uncle davie wearing his wee flat bunnett, every time he went out the door? why did the men call them bunnetts? ![]()
Any biddy know the name Lillian Hannah or Lillian Sword ?
Lennox the news about vera being ill was almost 9 yrs ago but she was still in maryhill at that time, first in a long time for me but i should be in maryhill sometime in september, please keep in touch id love to know the other story, at this point this is all i can say - i hope you know what im saying here Lennox, cheers.
maryhill for ever.
didnt go into the melrose cafe too often. I do remember the daughters Lola and Sandra. Used to chum around with them. They stayed up the same close as the jaconnelis at queens cross. Mrs melrose was jaconnelis sister. I believe Lola opened a beauty salon just across from the barracks.........Andra
Trust you tae know Lola
LOL on Lola.......
i remember the Melrose cafe next to harrys the fruiters i also remember a girl who went with the owner jackie her name was clara guy. The ryans you talk of did they have a brother called Terry . I go and visit one of the Clark brothers his name is John[81] he is in a nursing home he is older than Tommy[R I P],I am sorry but i never mentioned the Melrose cafe in any of my posts although i remember it
Was just thinking VB that the Butlers you speak of may well have moved into our house when we left in 1948 (third floor). you were only 10 years old, and I was 20.
How those years have gone by.
hey valleyboy,wasnt Clara Guy the Glamour girl of the Valley? she had some style
wee mags,clara guy wasnt the glamour of the valley - my mother was
nice one Glasgow Lass
your a quick lot on here !
: lennox, quick and true
hi valleyboy38, just been speaking to my mother shed like to know if clara is still alive
and some other people she knew are -scott halfpenny, and this person called beefs - funny name i know but thats what she gave me
ill mention a few old timers for yer mum/jim rolland /tosh magregor /harry meechan/ pat connolly/jimmy traynor/geordie feely/ andy wheelen/to name a few i think wee mags is a relation of the halfpennysyou can pm me if you want i might know of your mum
the beefs might be a beefs macfarlane and the last time i saw scott halfpenny he was setting of to lisbone to see celtic 1967
thanks VB for the info,she knew tham all, do u know anything about clara as they were good friends back then.
glasgow lass Scot Halfpenny was my cousin, his mother and sisters lived in Gairbraid Ave,and when Scott got married he lived doon Gairbraid ave near Sibalds my sister was married to a Tom Sweeney from Stirret St
And Valley boy am laffin here at Geordie Feely noo thats some name, you forgot James Carney ,Benny Cairns, whit about the O, Haras and the Dunns,and what was the name of the old guy who had a billiard table and would let you play if you paid,he lived acroos from the Wards away at the end of Gairbraid Ave
wee mags, thanks for this news ill pass it on to her, i myself dont remember these people only remember some of the names mentioned, one person i do kind of remember was a man called big dennis obrian and i think he had a very red face and white hair thats why i still remember him and a very nice guy to boot.
GL scotthalfpenny is my cousin as well
yes i thought so anne , u did mention about being related to wee mags, i dont forget yi know
every body knew goerdie feely and his sister helen that wis ma burd lol big dennis wis a good friend of mine always time to talk to me even though a wis alot younger than him a big gentleman
Would it have been Joe Saunders Elle?
Having problems logging in, Georgia. Logged in, password came up and I was in. Came to this topic, and I have to fillin numbers to get in here (?).
Don't remember the first names of the boys, but isn't it a small world, here you are, married to a Saunders related to the Saunders family who lived beside me.
Hello
I'm wondering if any folk here know of an Alderman Road. Also if any of you grew up in the time frame of 1930-1955. Another thing is if the surname Lennox has any connection to you in the Appleby St, Rockvilla School area.
All the best:)
Biglad, Welcome to the boards,
Can't help you I sorry to say, My name is not Lennox, it is just a name I picked for the boards
Alderman Road is in Knightswood. Welcome to the boards biglad, have fun on here, we're all a bit daft but I'm sure you'll fit in.
Thanks for the welcome. I don't suppose the building where I made my entrance into the world is still about, 445 Alderman Road.
you were an awfy clever wean then to get around like that anyway welcome to the boars pal
boards
biglad, maybe you were born in Redlands Nursing home in Great Western Road, I had my youngest daughter in that hospital,I am not sure what the number in Great Western Rd. was.
I also stayed in Knightswood at that time.
Not really a Maryhill Question Biglad but no matter....I so remember Alderman Rd as a kid.....my dentist was there and I hated it.Redlands was never Great Western Rd ,we live almost next door to the old hospital...tomorrow...only if its dry ...we have a new dog...a sloppy lab called Kaiser and he and I love a morning run...my kids think early morning is 10 am...Kaiser and I will do an early morning run...GWR,Anniesland,Alderman Rd and back via the canal and I will stuff a camera into my shorts for a few pictures
Hi scotslad nice to see you posting I guess your home for the weekend ,thanks for the info I will use it ,my son finaly got his passport but would you believe it he has a bussiness meeting on June the 2nd so we have to put our visit off till after then ,am telling you its killing me as I have my bags packed a ready to go ,who knows maybe when I am in glasgow we might just walk passed one another and not even know it !!!!maybe as you are on your bike runs up the canal I will be showing it to Michael you never can tell
Iam soory you could not oren the site I sent
Printer Friendly Version
Records of Redlands Hospital for Women, Glasgow, Scotland
I can assure you the above hospital was in Great Western Road Glasgow. I had my daughter in that hospital on the 15 th November 1965. I am quite sure their will be others on this board who also had children there. I don't know the address, it may have been some distance form where you stay.
Had an amazing Morning Biglad……the weather was crappy,really heavy showers but I went for a run anyway….am feeling so unfit these days and I hate it.My lifestyle is not so good …..when I was in Glasgow I always made time to work out…would take the kids to the pool at Scotstoun and use the gym while they were swimming…these days I hardly ever have time to use the gym.
Got soaked twice this morning but it was still good..so enjoyed the run,was like re living some of my past……ran along the canal to Drumchapel then hit Alderman Rd…..man I had forgotten about this area……I remember St Mathews…all gone now and playing football at St Brendans in a Saturday league…still there! Took a few pictures that might trigger a few memories….I was amazed all the sports fields I remember…like Hillhead and the Uni were all gone….modern,flash houses now.
We came back through Anniesland and I was trying to figure out where 1014 GWR was and man it surprised me as well……opposite Gartnavel…the original house is long gone….its flats now and I still remember them getting built back in the 80’s,my wife and I looked at them when they were being built…I sort of remember the old house that was here…was pretty run down in my time but I thought it belonged to the eccentric millionaire Pickard….but am not sure
Hello Scotslad, I'm a Hillhead F.P. from long ago. Was that the Garscadden fields that are away now and houses built on them? I know the Hiughenden grounds are still there, at least according to the Hillhead web site although they are so different from when I was there playing hockey and tennis and watching the boys on the rugby field. Times change I guess in 50 years!!
Hi Maggs...am home this weekend and next weekend,long weekend here,after that its Spain for the summer.Are you looking forward to your trip.All three boys are in exam mode this month,I feel for both Mark and Ross because these are vital but they have both worked,Ross in particular thought he would skim them and he had a rude awakening ..we are just hoping he is going to be ok.HoweverI hope your holiday goes well,am sure it will,just be prepared for a few changes.
Rosie check out Redlands,was never ,ever on GWR.Its on Lancaster Terrace at the corner of Julian Avenue,have attached 2 pictures,1870 and like 20 min ago...I have lived here for almost 20 yrs now....was never a hospital in that time but I remember it as a maternity hospital back in the 60's when we lived just a few streets away.
Elma.I was amazed this morning,I remember the old Hillhead grounds in Garscadden and the Uni playing fields off Dyke Rd...all gone..next time I Rrun down there I will take a few pictures.
Hi Elma,postings have been a bit crossed.I am Iain,Ross's dad.I remember the old Hillhead Grounds at Garscadden...remember going there to watch an Uncle play shinty...am pretty sure that one is built over...this morning I came down Dyke Rd and the old Uni fields were all class houses ,felt so weird...Kaiser was looking at me as though I was an idiot.I was stopping at every block with my jaw open...as you can probably guess its been a long time since I was down this way.
I am home next weekend but we are going up to Balmashie and playing golf at St Andrews but first weekend I have free I will do the run again along the canal and take some pictures at the old HHS grounds...I have fond memories of the grounds,my first ever g/f was an HH girl....used to go down on a Saturday morning.....young love!
Hi Scotslad
So the site of my entry onto the world stage has become a potential excavation dig for future archaeologists?
Many thanks for the pics:)
This page gives an http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/hospitalrecords/details.asp?id=851&page=48 for Redlands Hospital For Women
Thanks Biglad.its always been Lancaster Terrace......the funny thing is the street adjacent to it is Redlands Crescent...but the old hospital building was never GWR....The Lawrence family....house builders and Rangers bought the ground back behind the hospital back in the 70's and built luxury flats there in the 80's...and kept the penthouse for themselves...all my kids went to nursery in the lane behind Redlands.....when the flats were built in the 80's the older women in these flats would come down and talk to the kids everyday........ my 3 still remember them...a constant supply of sweeties.
great morning run,the dog and I ended up in the Botanics after picking up some black rolls and the papers....had forgotten how great the city is in May.....the colour is so tremendous with all the azealea and roddies in bloom..the perfume was overpowering....so so beautiful
is there two rossmckenzies on the boards thought ross had just turned 18 last week this ones gt 3 kids or am a seeing things[ave got glesses on tae
Anne1 there is Ross then there is his dad Scotslad who has been very good at posting photos of Maryhill for all us ex,s ,and now Ross tells us all the new and exciting things that are going on in Glasgow ,they are a couple of gems ,
thanks mags just thought a wis seeing things aged 18 wan week next week 3 weans java exlained to me
Oh Anne, did ye say Java explained tae ye? That's jist slightly better than Catherine explainin' tae ye.
the mind boggles melody
Only kiddin' Anne
Ah think!
I was also confused, I thought it was the young Ross that had posted, he was talking about his dogs and going for a run,I was thinking he was calling them his kids, I always look at young Ross's Posts as he has a great knowledge of Glasgow and has put some really good photos on the site. I didn't know his Dad also posted, I am easily confused, anyway pleased to meet you Ross Senior.
Thanks to all who answered my post.
Here Melody ah heard that
Ah think whit's happent guys is that Iain {Ross's dad} has posted with Ross's log in....hence it looks like Ross posted....capeesh?
Iain lovely to see you, it's been a long time, Germany's obviously being good to you.
You guys have a great summer in Spain and good luck Ross in your exams.
Incidentally, my sister an hubby used to have a Doberman called Kaiser, gorgeous dog so he wis.
catherine how did the dug get in this conversation or did a miss something
It's really quite amazin how oor conversations end up aw ower the joint Anne intit
oh a thought rossmackenzie was the young lad a thought he was overly highly intelligent too the extreme mensa extreme as my head was spinnin ho and ave been here a wee while now oh a know its the wrang topic has anybody seen marina
My son Jim was born in Redlands hospital Feb. 26, 1965. I walked from HATHAWAY ST. in Maryhill for my ante natal visits, oh an they bliddy iron shots in ma BUM
WALKED THERR, LIMPED HAME
hathaway street is still there just behind maryhill road as that is where my wee granny died and my cousin lived next door to look after her as the family did not want my granny to go into a nursing home and that was only about 18years oh naw it was scarraway st aww noo am all confused noo a will ask my big brother william he has just got a pooter so watch oot ggers hes a maryhiller threw and threw and born in 1947 so he has almost every bit of knowlage on maryhill as he was books mad and still is about the city of glasgow and particularly maryhill archives
Stuart, me tae ma Jim wiz boarn in 1966
Marion did you one time ask if anyone knew your father-in -law,well Valleyboy38 dis he told me once when we were talking aboout going for hot rolls up by Ruchill St and he said he was a boxer ,was that your Father-in-law?
wee mags that may have been me , my grandad & Mr. Dougan , knew each other.
oops ,jist say its ma age !!!!!!!! I an hivin a hard time remebering anything efter takin care of ma two Granweans the day ,am Jiggered
Lennox I did not know your Grandad knew my father in law. Or did you mention it and I forget????
oh it was hathaway lane marion next to shakspeare st my big bro told me in an e mail
I think we did talk about my granddad & Mr Dougan, some time ago . I can't remember how they knew each other, but I do remember him( Mr Dougan) always being in my grandparents house. I think they knew each other from childhood.
Stuarty, I went to Shakespear Street School.. I loved it, I could have told you were Hathaway street was
Was Shakespeare Street School a primary because I'm think my cousin went there before she went on to NKS?
Shakespear was a primary, I loved it , if you look in "our teenage years " topic there's a photo of the oldest school teacher ever . post 42
I've searched but all that comes up is 'Our Teenage Pics'...where is the topic 'Our Teenage Years' please?
that may be the topic, I am at work and hard to jump back & forth , I know it was the Topic started by Jimmyd
2 more places me mom remembers us living at were on Hopehill Road & also the Ruchill Park area ( have a pic but its like REALLY old )
I live in this area. There are some photos online from some guy's website which show bits of Hopehill Road (an area that's been demolished and rebuilt several times as it's the site of an underground river and causes dampness, and later was a key factor in the explosion that happened at the factory in the area a few years back)
http://www.petermanson.com/glasgow.htm
As for Ruchill Park, it's a bit of a mess now because of construction work to build a new school there...
thats me I lived in the bottom flat on the left hand side as you came in the close ,I dont know much of your uncle, as they were a very quiet family and they kept to them selves
thank you for that, my granny made up for the rest of the family. dae you remember the other brother I was named after him?
no just Davie as he always had a smile and a wee wink when he saw me ,
Maryhill-related news story here:
http://discuss.glasgowguide.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=8641
Mags do you know of a family by the name of Kane, they live in the next close up from you in Guthrie St, middle right (if memory serves me right, a was only wee at the time), she was my great gran, I only knew her as "maw Kane"...................fur years a actually thought that was her name tae, "maw".........
does anybody remember ronnie augustine lived up cedar court flats he would be about 48/50 noo,,,,,and deg rennie.
Hi:) Anyone familiar with a 77u Wyndford Rd. in Maryhill? If so, I'd like to hear from you.
All the best. biglad
77 U must have been the hoose number biglad, my pal lived at 77 d,
welcome to GG
I've got kin that live there:)
Wyndford road is still there , so I am sure your family will be ,
I was born in Fingal Street, moved away at a young age, still have an Aunty at Glenavon Road
My uncle Norrie and Aunt Agnes and My Aunt Peggy all lived at the Wynford but sadly all have passed away.
I have relatives and friends in the Wynford, been in the same house for yrs and yrs and are very happy living there,, s'great some things never change.
Managed to find my uncle's # in the BT phonebook and we had a good blether:)
My grandmother lived on Gairbraid Street in the early to mid-1900's. My mother lived on this street with her parents until 1919 before immigrating to Canada after the death of her mother in 1919.
My family's names are Jackson, White, Stirling, Milne
I would love to hear from anyone who knows of these family names from Gairbraid Street, Alexander Parade, Maryhill.
Thanks you
KATE you may have got the streets mixed up their are only 2 streets in Maryhill GAIRBRAID AVE and PLACE [ Alexader Parade is in Denniston ]
I'm in Australia, migrated as a 10 yr old 1949 from Palm Street Maryhill. Had distant relatives
in 28 Willock street at that time..trying find out what happened to them construct family
tree for grandchilden their name was Patterson he was Charlie and looked after his invalided mum
I don't know her first name...can anyone help please... best wishes Irene
Maybe Marina or Martin_Glasgow can help
sorry irene i dont know them i really only know my own family although i when i was born i lived with my mum on whitelaw st, i only know the agnews, mackays, hannahs and the neely's but im sure there in possil
Hello:)
This is a genealogy question; are/ were the surnames Dean & Judge well-known in the area?
All the best. biglad
Valleyboy Maryhill Rd was previously Gairbraid St cheers Kmacc
Hi all I was born In Rolland St, now live in Texas USA
Hi Tutu, this is Marion Dougan from the Glesca message board. Please send me the link I have lost it. Hope you are well
in the fifties I used to hang about Rolland St, with Joe Kane and Ian Dunne
tutu a canny mind yer email addies. I am mariondougan2@yahoo.com
Hi Tutu,
My husband came from 127 Rolland Street. What number did you live in?
my ma da and 3 brothers lived in 8ceader place and the wrights and the mckormicks the was my granny my granda was blind and had a heros funeral at the same place so am the only non maryhiller
Christine, did you go to NKS and if so when?
How many other members are from Maryhill, I went to North Kelvin Side and I am still living to tell the tale.
Aye me tae Wormy, went tae St Columba's ,I avoided the duckin doon the toilet furst day there
only because a had lots of family and rellies in the same school so that kind of welcome didn't apply
, but if you were aw by yirsel >>>>>>> look out!!!
Glad I only Visited my aunties and uncles in Maryhill when I was a Schoolboy. Stayed there when I was married tho`. I thought they only done that Cludgie Dunkin in Barlinnie. Aye ye were a Lucky Lassie GL.
Aye Tennscot how lucky kin wan guy get
Not only living in Maryhill, but >>>>>>>>>>> having such a nice neibor.
awch carrection >>>>>>> neighbour.
Hi Wormy, welcome to GG. I came from Stratford Street in Maryhill and also went to NKS from 1954-1958.
I went to Shakespeare Primary School.
Aye spelling was never my forte
and you have all been incredibly nice about
Were in Maryhill are you from Wormy, I lived above the Viking, my aunty still lives near there got family in the Wyndford, and in Summerston, (I think that is still called Maryhill? not sure)
I remember Mr Revel at Pollok Parish Church for a while , this was after the Reverend Curry had been there . Don't remember the years exactly . Was brought up in Maryhill till i was 12 , went to Dunard primary from 9161 to around 67 , then Garrioch secondary . Moved to Pollok while i was still 12 , then went to Crookston Castle secondary , which is no longer there , missed Maryhill terribly .
Sorry folks , meant 1961 in that last post .
thre was a Mc Kay Family who lived up on the top flat,there was a son Joe McKay who was the same age as me ,he was pals with Billy Caroll who lived in 15 Guthrie St,Billy moved to Austrailia
Mags did you get your Maryhill picture framed yet
davieboy did Mrs McKay no live next door/close to wee Sarah Beard? she lived @145 Gairbraid for years, I canny remember her sons by name but there was three of them .
I know both those names, Mrs Beard was friends of my Grandparents. in fact she was the best maid at their wedding .
sorry wellfield I did not know your family
No problem wee mags,just wondered.
Wee Mags i was friendly with Billy Caroll and his wife Cath for many years here in australia. they moved back to Glasgow some years ago. I'm also in touch with one of the mcormacks from Guthrie st.Some of them live in Canada and some in Germany.
Glasgow Lass,
I went to Springbank Primary School- I lived in the Doncaster Street Youth Club- my dad was caretaker there.
I went to Hillhead High School after moving to " The Drum " in 1956. I married Jim Rooney from Fernie Street in 1968 and in 1974 we emigrated to the US and have been here ever since.
He has a brother John Rooney and various auld pals- Desi O'Donnell, Rab McKellar, John Roddy, Davey Hamilton, Tam Findlay.
Anybody remember the Dunns from DOncaster Street- Andra drove a taxi and daughter Jeannette was a hairdresser- they are mentioned in the book " Night Song of the Last Tram "
To Avril, my Wife was born in Fernie St. No 42 and lived there until we got married on 1952 I was in the Royal Navy stationed at Faslane, we moved to London as I was drafted back to Chatham Barracks, after I got demobbed in 1955 we moved back to Glasgow, eventually we got a house at 54 Fernie St. I'll always remember that house and Fernie St. and te friendliness of the Glasgow people, ALWAYS A GLASWEGIAN
Hi Wee Mags my name is Robert Mackay my Aunt & uncle lived on Guthrie St. back in the 30s & 40. then they moved to Auckland St. Hamiltonhill My Uncle Alex was a professional gardener and went south to become a gardener for lord and lady Docker
To Wee Mags, my Auntie & Uncle lived on Guthrie St. back in the 30s & 40s they left there in the late 40s or early 50s their name is Peggy & Alex Mackay my cousin Alex went to Australia in the early 50s my cousins names were Billy,Alex,Bobby and Isa my Uncle Alex and my Cousins all played the bagpipes everybody on Bilsland Drive used to hear them just before the Bells they would march up Bilsland Dr. and arrive at our house just after the Bells
Hi Lennox, I remember when the Viking first opened at the corner of Ruchill St.and Maryhill Rd. I was working in Shaw's Foundry in those days in fact my workmate & I used to always step in for a pint on our way home from work. I also remember them building the Wynford Flats that was back in 1957, the last time my Wife & I were there I couldn't believe my eyes ,a big shopping centre no railway station, still I guess you have to move on sad to say always a Glaswegian from Maryhill, any where that I have travelled I have never found a place as friendly as Maryhill
To Tutu53 I worked beside a big John from Rolland St. I forget his last name,we worked with Paterson & Hughes on Lochburn Rd. 1960-1963 I took a photo of The Strathmore (McLauchlins) It's the only building standing ,Rolland St. Arden,Vernon, Fernie St. all gone.
Agnes and robert I did not know you family ,but my older brother Jim worked in Shaws foundry
here is aphoto of my wee nieces ,they are now grown women with children of their own,
the photo was taken in front of our window ,note the nice white blanket on the ground just too send a photo to Aunty Margaret ,oh I forgot it at 26 Guthrie St can you belive there are no cars in the street, and up in Niven st and Stiritt St dont look so bad
I live in Australlia and looking for a man who worked with my father in Singers factory in the late 1950,s His name is george Meechan and was living in Maryhill. I would appreciate any help to get in touch with him, thanks Caroline
Dear Heather
Yes indeed it was the same girl . We went together for over 2 years .
She actually joined the WAAF when i was called up .she said she didnt want to be alone when I wasnt there .Such is young love.
We were really serious about each other and thought we would last forever . We even talked about marriage .
But when I was so badly injured in the Army , things changed . Such is fate.
Cathy went AWOL on three occasions to be with me and each time extra time was added to her length of service .
It seemed she would never get out to be with me .
The only way to get out ,was she said to get pregnant .So we went down that route ,but it just never happened .
Cathy got so frustrated ,she actully went with an Airman and he in turn managed to impregnate her . So that was us finished .
At least she sent me a 'Dear John ' letter which broke my heart . For a while.
Strange irony was that Cathy was to die giving birth to her 5th child .
We remained good friends right up to her death and I felt no resentment towards her .
She actully lived in Bishopbriggs near me .
By this time I had met my Jean and fully realised she was to be the love of my life .
Jean and I went together for 3 years before we married in 1954. . We were blessed with 2 children and were married for 49 years, 7 months and 8 days when Jean died very suddenly on 30th December 2003 . Again I was devastated and broken hearted . I still am . I miss her so much .
But thank you very much for a wonderful memory .I really was very lucky in knowing both of them . I wouldnt have had it any other way . Except i would want my Jean still here with me.
Big Tommy
My young cousin lived in Vernon Street . his name is Michael Mc Sorley .
He is married to an italian girl named Josephina Regina who used to work in the City Bakeries factory ,i cant remember the name of the street .
Big Tommy
Hi scotgal, nice to see you>>>>>>>the dates that you have mentioned were not the yrs that I attended the school, but the yrs that I did go there were very rough times for some. Think the girls were more dangerous than the boys haha, Im at work at the minit, when I get home I'll send you a pm and we can have a wee chat about dates and names, so see you later then .Lass.
Well it seems like a long time ago since anyone from Maryhill replied so I'll throw my name in as a new start!! Born in Nanson St. 1939 went to Springbank School, then NKS (for a short time) as we had moved to Eastwood so atteded Shawlands.(around early 50s). When in Nanson St joined the Boys Brigade (Ancroft St.) continued with the B.B. at Eastwood but left and joined the Scouts when I found out that the B.B. were starting a Band but only New members joining the B.B could join the Band (i.e. existing members excluded!!) - "frustated Drummer". When in Eastwood I got my first job with A & W. Smith Co. and started as the Office Boy, then apprentice Draughtsman which also included working in the workshops (Fitter), on completing my apprenticeship I joined the Merchant Navy (B.I.S.N.), as the only other option was National Sevice which was a definate NO-NO!! as you had existed on apprentice wages for the last 5 years - The Standard Joke about Nat. Svce. in those days was that you had to buy your own Ammunition. I sailed with the B.I.S.N. for about 6 years then came ashore in Fremantle W.A. at the end of my contract (1966) and have stayed here ever since. I have made 3 return trips to the U.K. including Glasgow and was last there in 2008 where I met up with some of my Old Sea Mates (the Keg was cracked around 11.00 just like the Good Ole Days!![ Well that will do for now Good Luck and Happy Boarding
Garbeta,
Like you I attended Springbank then NK in the 50s/60s.Didnt join the BB but loved to see and hear them on a Sunday morning on their church parade up Garscube Road to Queens Cross Church.If my memory is correct then it was the two six and it had many boys in the company.Unlike you I didnt join the navy but my son did and is currently working on Survey ships as a DP officer.Much like you I am very fond of Freo and am happy to say Ive visited my daughter there many times,latest being last Christmas when we had a great time.Hogmanay was superb in the Esplanade Hotel,a great mix of people many Scots included.
I look forward to my next visit and particular swimming at the beach near the yacht club.My daughter lives just across the road so it is very handy.The Davilak hotel is another of my favourite spots.
All the best for now and maybe we will hear some more of your history.
Venus
QUOTE (big tommy @ 3rd Apr 2009, 09:00pm)
My young cousin lived in Vernon Street . his name is Michael Mc Sorley .
He is married to an italian girl named Josephina Regina who used to work in the City Bakeries factory ,i cant remember the name of the street .
Big Tommy
CLAREDON STREET
Scotgal, when did you live in Oakbank Terrace? What number? I've added a photo of the City Bakeries building in Clarendon St, now flats.
Le durachd,
Eddy
[font="Arial Black"][/font]
Sorry Karen, wrong Peggy, my Aunt Peggy's married name was Stuart and then Thompson (second husband). Her daughters were Margaret, Helen and Jean.
I still live in Maryhill, in whats left of the valley just off Gairbraid, still some good people up this end
Tam Mc
Welcome to GG, Audrey, when & where in Ruchill did you stay ? Me I lived in Shuna Street til 1973,
The Bells lived at # 38, top flat on the left , the Penders did live at # 10 and that was the first close next to the wee wall , Mc Leands was across the road , I aslo can remember going into the Canteen to have a lunch, my Uncle Robert worked there and he often took us kids in there. I think the Buchanan's lived in my Grannys close #32, My Family was the Hannah's do you know them ?
BTW, My Cousin was married to Hugh Bells Brother
ARE YOU INGUTHRIE ST ? OR IS IT GONE ?oops sorry for large print
Wee Mags the last time I was home , it was still there, but it might no be now
The last time that my Wife & I were there was 2005, Gairbraid Ave. was still there, the Maryhill Burgh is being renovated, Its really good to hear from Maryhill People
Hi Charlotte,
Ah went tae St Columba's to but then it had become St Columba Of Iona Sec school, Anne why are you hidin, an kin see your here noo hello???
Ah youst tae 'live' in the Gimlet LOL We stayed in Curzon st, the 'cottages" actually we did not own the house it was Army Pensioners houses. I wonder if they are still there
Hi Kaneman So it wis somebody you knew who stole my ball, I want there name and address ,as I had to give up golf ,it was at the Miley (5th hole ) Cheers Flim
Huge update, ah got the new google earth, chrome, and its no there anymore, infact some bugger stole Guthrie street too, its those wee thievin gits that steal balls af the golf course??? aye ah taut them well
Dunno if this has been mentioned in this thread yet... it's a tad large.
Maryhill residents form wall of protest to protect Wyndford Barracks
http://www.theglaswegian.co.uk/glasgow-news/news/2009/10/29/maryhill-residents-form-wall-of-protest-to-protect-wyndford-barracks-102692-21781846/
I always thought that the Wall Around the Baracks was on the listed list.
I don't remember it ever being vandalised much when I was growing up, unless that Kaneman was hiding next to it to scare the lassies on the way hame from the swimming
I have fond memories of the Maryhill Barracks and the wall. Like you said Lennox, it was never vandalised in those days, too much respect. It would be a sad loss for the community if it were to be demolished. Lots of memories live inside these walls for the people who's family members were in the regiment.
fronswa, what you say is true Hess landed in Eaglesham and was captured and taken to Maryhill Barracks, from there he was taken to London Tower, then there was the Nuremberg trials, and eventually to Spandau Prison, with other nazis, they were guarded by the British,Americans and the Russians, that piece of ground on the Maryhill Rd. next to the wall I've heard it called No Man's Land it was something to do with the Council and the Army, I believe a Sentry used to parade up and down the No Man's Land, I guess claiming it for the Army I can remember the Guard House at the Gate also the Soldiers Home across the Street
there was also a gatehouse on Kelvindale Rd, right across from Gairbraid School
the wall was a part of Maryhill and the barracks lets keep it
petalpeeps: Mr. Revel married Jane and I in Cessnock Parish Church April 5, 1960
Mah maw used tae walk from Ruchill tae Cader to visit mah Gran 'Grannie Broon', we passed the gaurd hoose in Maryhill road ah wis probably Five or so, Ah remember lookin at the Guys doin Guard duty on that gate, left a huge impression, and ah dont know whit Regiment they were, ah was to wee at the time. That would have been early Sixties?
Its said that my aunty Betty met her future hubby there as he was a guard at the gate, what a sweet wee couple they were, those two gave me lots of great big cousins. My first memorie of being in the barracks is when they were building the flats, they became our play ground at night when the construction workers had gone home, there was a man who looked after the place during the night, he'd light these big fires on the spare grun and we'd all gather roon and get a nice wee heat from the fire, of course my mother alway told us to keep out of the barracks, but well kids will be kids, Lass were yoo near that fire oor there, no mun>>>>>>well whits aw that black stuff on'yir face then
on the wall at Kelvindale Rd was a large insignia of the HLI